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Environment and Transportation

Vehicle Laws - Protective Headgear Requirement for Motorcycle Riders -
Exception

This bill exempts an individual age 21 or older who (1) has been licensed to operate a
motorcycle for at least two years; (2) has completed an approved motorcycle rider safety
course; or (3) is a passenger on a motorcycle operated by a rider who meets these criteria
from the requirement to wear specified protective headgear while operating or riding on a
motorcycle.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2016.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures increase by approximately
$14,600 in FY 2016 for the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to contract with an
outside vendor for programming changes. General fund revenues from traffic citations
decrease minimally beginning in FY 2016. Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds,
50% federal funds) may increase beginning in FY 2016 to the extent the bill results in a
reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries not otherwise covered
by insurance.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Potential minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: An individual may not operate or ride on a motorcycle unless the individual
IS wearing protective headgear that meets the standards established by the MVA
administrator. The administrator is authorized to approve or disapprove of the protective
headgear required for motorcycle operators and may adopt and enforce regulations that
establish protective headgear standards. An individual who is riding in an enclosed cab is



exempt from the protective headgear requirement. An individual may not operate a
motorcycle unless the individual is wearing an eye-protective device approved by the
administrator or the motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen.

“Protective helmet or headgear” means a device primarily intended to protect the upper
part of the wearer’s head against a blow or impact. The Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard 218, Motorcycle Helmets, 49 CFR 8 571.218 (1991), which is incorporated by
reference in the Code of Maryland Regulations, is adopted as the minimum standard for
helmets required to be worn by operators and passengers on motorcycles. The protective
headgear must be worn on the head with the chin strap properly fastened and in contact
with the chin or jaw by both operator and passenger at all times that the motorcycle is in
motion.

A violation of the protective headgear or eye-protective device/windscreen requirement is
a misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty assessed by
the District Court is $110.

The failure of an individual to wear required protective headgear may not be considered
evidence of negligence or contributory negligence; limit liability of a party or an insurer;
or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or operation
of a motorcycle. For motorcycles, an insurer may either exclude economic loss benefits or
offer the economic loss benefits with deductibles, options, or specific exclusions.

Background: As of February 2016, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway
Safety, 19 states and the District of Columbia require all motorcyclists to wear a helmet,
while 28 states require only some motorcyclists to wear a helmet (typically riders age 17
and younger). Two of these states (Florida and Michigan) exempt individuals age 21 and
older from the helmet requirement if they obtain specified health insurance coverage (and
in some instances meet other criteria). In Florida, individuals must show proof that they
are covered by a medical insurance policy. In Michigan, individuals must have additional
insurance and have either held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or have
passed an approved motorcycle safety course. In Texas, individuals age 21 and older are
exempt from the helmet requirement if they can either show proof of successfully
completing a motorcycle operator training and safety course or proof of having a medical
insurance policy. Three states (lllinois, lowa, and New Hampshire) have no motorcycle
helmet laws.

The Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems reports that Maryland’s
trauma centers treated 1,027 patients involved in motorcycle crashes during fiscal 2015.
Of these patients, 341 (33.2%) sustained a head injury, of whom 25 subsequently died. Of
the 341 riders who sustained head injuries, 260 (76.2%) were wearing a helmet, 71 (20.8%)
were not, and it was unknown whether the other 10 patients wore a helmet or not. All
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341 required treatment, and 195 were admitted. Twenty-three (11.8%) of the admitted
patients stayed in the hospital for one day. Eleven of the admitted patients required
hospitalization for more than 28 days.

State Revenues: General fund fine revenues decrease minimally beginning in fiscal 2016
due to a reduction in the number of citations issued for failure to wear a helmet while riding
on or operating a motorcycle. In fiscal 2015, 235 citations were issued statewide.
The citation carries a prepayment penalty of $110, including court costs. The actual
decrease in general fund fine revenues cannot be reliably estimated at this time and depends
on the number of individuals who qualify for the exemptions under the bill.

State Expenditures: TTF expenditures increase by an estimated $14,600 in fiscal 2016,
which reflects the bill’s June 1, 2016 effective date. This estimate reflects the cost for
MVA to contract with an outside vendor for one-time-only programming costs to allow
MVA’s computer system to notify law enforcement agencies which drivers have taken an
approved motorcycle rider safety course. Additional internal computer programming is
also required but can be handled within existing budgeted resources.

Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds, 50% federal funds) may increase beginning in
fiscal 2016 to the extent that the exemption from the protective headgear requirement
results in a reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries to
crash-involved motorcyclists not otherwise covered by insurance.

Additional Comments: The District Court advises that, despite the bill’s effective date
of June 1, 2016, the Schedule of Pre-Set Fines and/or Penalty Deposits used by law
enforcement will not be revised until the annual printing and distribution for
October 1, 2016. The District Court would notify law enforcement by teletype about the
change to this traffic charge.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: Related legislation, SB 612 of 2015, SB 173 of 2014, SB 246 of
2013, and SB 488 of 2012 each received a hearing in the Senate Judicial Proceedings
Committee, but no further action was taken on any of these bills. HB 477 of 2014 received
an unfavorable report from the House Environmental Matters Committee.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Maryland Institute for
Emergency Medical Services Systems, Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts),

HB 559/ Page 3



Department of State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of
Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 17, 2016
kb/ljm

Analysis by: Jennifer B. Chasse Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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