SENATE BILL 457

D27 lr 1925**CF HB 574** By: Carroll County Senators Introduced and read first time: January 30, 2017 Assigned to: Judicial Proceedings Committee Report: Favorable Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 1, 2017 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Carroll County - Sheriff's Salary FOR the purpose of altering the salary of the Sheriff of Carroll County; providing for the application of this Act; and generally relating to the Sheriff of Carroll County. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 2-309(h)(1)Annotated Code of Maryland (2013 Replacement Volume and 2016 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article - Courts and Judicial Proceedings 2-309.The Sheriff of Carroll County shall receive an annual salary [of] AS (h) (1) **FOLLOWS:** (I)\$90,000 beginning on December 1, 2014; \$100,000 BEGINNING DECEMBER 4, 2018; AND (II)

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10 11

12

13

14

15

16

17

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



1 (III) \$110,000 BEGINNING DECEMBER 3, 2019, and thereafter.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That, pursuant to Article III, § 35 of the Maryland Constitution, this Act may not be construed to extend or apply to the salary or compensation of the Sheriff of Carroll County while serving in a term of office beginning before the effective date of this Act, but the provisions of this Act concerning the salary or compensation of the Sheriff of Carroll County shall take effect at the beginning of the next following term of office. This limitation does not apply to an individual appointed or elected after the effective date of this Act to fill out an unexpired term.

9 SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 10 October 1, 2017.

Approved:	
	Governor.
	President of the Senate.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.