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Environment and Transportation

Vehicle Laws - Protective Headgear Requirement for Motorcycle Riders -
Exception

This bill exempts an individual age 21 or older who (1) has been licensed to operate a
motorcycle for at least two years; (2) has completed an approved motorcycle rider safety
course; or (3) is a passenger on a motorcycle operated by a rider who meets either of these
criteria from the requirement to wear specified protective headgear while operating or
riding on a motorcycle.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2017.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures increase by approximately
$21,900 in FY 2017 for the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to contract with an
outside vendor for programming changes. General fund revenues from traffic citations
decrease minimally beginning in FY 2017. Medicaid expenditures (60% federal funds,
40% general funds) may increase beginning in FY 2017 to the extent the bill results in a
reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries not otherwise covered
by insurance.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Potential minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: An individual may not operate or ride on a motorcycle unless the individual
IS wearing protective headgear that meets the standards established by the MVA
administrator. The administrator is authorized to approve or disapprove of the protective



headgear required for motorcycle operators and may adopt and enforce regulations that
establish protective headgear standards. An individual who is riding in an enclosed cab is
exempt from the protective headgear requirement. An individual may not operate a
motorcycle unless the individual is wearing an eye-protective device approved by the
administrator or the motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen.

“Protective helmet or headgear” means a device primarily intended to protect the upper
part of the wearer’s head against a blow or impact. The Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard 218, Motorcycle Helmets, 49 CFR § 571.218 (1991), which is incorporated by
reference in the Code of Maryland Regulations, is adopted as the minimum standard for
helmets required to be worn by operators and passengers on motorcycles. The protective
headgear must be worn on the head with the chin strap properly fastened and in contact
with the chin or jaw by both operator and passenger at all times that the motorcycle is in
motion.

A violation of the protective headgear or eye-protective device/windscreen requirement is
a misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty assessed by
the District Court is $110.

The failure of an individual to wear required protective headgear may not be considered
evidence of negligence or contributory negligence; limit liability of a party or an insurer;
or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or operation
of a motorcycle. For motorcycles, an insurer may either exclude economic loss benefits or
offer the economic loss benefits with deductibles, options, or specific exclusions.

Background: As of February 2017, according to the Insurance Institute for Highway
Safety, 19 states and the District of Columbia require all motorcyclists to wear a helmet,
while 28 states require only some motorcyclists to wear a helmet (typically riders
age 17 and younger). Two of these states (Florida and Michigan) exempt individuals
age 21 and older from the helmet requirement if they obtain specified health insurance
coverage (and in some instances meet other criteria). In Florida, individuals must show
proof that they are covered by health insurance. In Michigan, individuals must have
additional insurance and have either held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years
or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course. In Texas, individuals age 21 and
older are exempt from the helmet requirement if they can either show proof of successfully
completing a motorcycle operator training and safety course or proof of having health
insurance. Three states (lllinois, lowa, and New Hampshire) have no motorcycle helmet
laws.

The Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems reports that Maryland’s
trauma centers treated 1,037 patients involved in motorcycle crashes during fiscal 2016.
Of these patients, 343 sustained a head injury, of whom 29 subsequently died. Of the
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343 riders who sustained head injuries, 243 (70.8%) were wearing a helmet, 93 (27.1%)
were not, and it was unknown whether 7 of the patients wore a helmet or not. All
343 required treatment, and 233 were admitted. Thirty-three (14.2%) of the admitted
patients stayed in the hospital for one day. Twelve of the admitted patients required
hospitalization for more than 28 days.

State Revenues: General fund fine revenues decrease minimally beginning in fiscal 2017
due to a reduction in the number of citations issued for failure to wear a helmet while riding
on or operating a motorcycle. In fiscal 2016, approximately 197 citations were issued
statewide. The citation carries a prepayment penalty of $110, including court costs. The
actual decrease in general fund fine revenues cannot be reliably estimated at this time and
depends on the number of individuals who qualify for the exemptions under the bill.

State Expenditures: TTF expenditures increase by an estimated $21,900 in fiscal 2017,
which reflects the bill’s June 1, 2017 effective date. This estimate reflects the cost for
MVA to contract with an outside vendor for one-time-only programming costs to allow
MVA’s computer system to notify law enforcement agencies which drivers have taken an
approved motorcycle rider safety course. Additional internal computer programming is
also required but can be handled within existing budgeted resources.

Medicaid expenditures (60% federal funds, 40% general funds) may increase beginning in
fiscal 2017 to the extent that the exemption from the protective headgear requirement
results in a reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries to
crash-involved motorcyclists not otherwise covered by insurance.

Additional Comments: The District Court advises that, despite the bill’s effective date
of June 1, 2017, the Schedule of Pre-Set Fines and/or Penalty Deposits used by law
enforcement will not be revised until the annual printing and distribution for
October 1, 2017. The District Court would notify law enforcement by teletype about the
change to this traffic charge.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: HB 559 of 2016 received an unfavorable report from the House
Environment and Transportation Committee. Related legislation, SB 612 of 2015, SB 173
of 2014, SB 246 of 2013, and SB 488 of 2012, each received a hearing in the Senate Judicial
Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken on any of these bills. HB 477 of
2014 received an unfavorable report from the House Environmental Matters Committee.

Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Insurance Institute for Highway Safety; Maryland Institute for
Emergency Medical Services Systems; Department of State Police; Maryland Department
of Transportation; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Court); Department of

Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2017
mm/ljm

Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510

Analysis by: Jennifer B. Chasse
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