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Health Care Entities - Notice 
 

 

This bill requires a hospital – at least 30 day before acquiring a physician office, a group 

practice, or an outpatient health care entity – to provide written notice of the acquisition to 

each patient who received health care services at the physician office, group practice, or 

outpatient health care entity within the last 12 months.  The notice, which must be 

substantially similar to a notice included in the bill, must alert patients that the cost of 

services may increase following the acquisition and that the same services may be available 

at a lower cost from entities that are not hospital owned.  It must also offer to provide 

specified information on other providers of health care services.  A person who violates 

the bill’s requirements is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of 

up to $500. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect State operations or finances.  

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to affect local government operations or finances. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Hospitals are not required to notify patients of a physician office, a group 

practice, or an outpatient health care entity of the hospital’s intent to acquire the physician 

office, group practice, or outpatient health care entity, or to alert patients that costs may 

increase as a result.  
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Background:  When a physician office, group practice, or outpatient health care entity is 

acquired by a hospital, costs may increase as a result of the physician office, group practice, 

or outpatient health care entity charging a new “facility fee.”  Generally, facility fees allow 

a hospital to bill patients a service charge for the use of hospital facilities and equipment.  

Hospitals can charge patients facility fees if they see physicians who work in an office that 

is owned by the hospital.  In some cases, a patient may be responsible for the fee if the 

patient’s insurance declines to pay or if the patient has a high-deductible health plan.   

 

In 2016, Vermont enacted legislation that, among other things, requires hospitals to provide 

written notice about the acquisition or transfer of health care providers to each patient 

served by an acquired or transferred health care provider.  The law requires hospitals to 

take several actions, including (1) notifying the patient that the health care provider is now 

affiliated with the hospital; (2) providing the hospital’s name and contact information; 

(3) notifying the patient that the change in affiliation may affect his or her out-of-pocket 

costs, depending on the patient’s health insurance plan and the services provided; and 

(4) recommending that the patient contact his or her insurance company with specific 

questions or to determine his or her actual financial liability. 

 

In Connecticut, similar legislation passed in 2015 requiring all hospitals and health systems 

that acquire a physician group and plan to implement a facility fee to notify all of the 

practice’s patients from the previous three years.  The legislation also requires that all 

billing statements that include a facility fee plainly identify the fee, ensure it is apparent 

the fee covers operational expenses, and include a written notice of patients’ right to request 

the facility fee, or any other item on the bill, be reduced. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 732 (Senators Feldman and Klausmeier) - Finance. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2017 
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