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Vehicle Laws - Left Lane - Use for Passing 

 

This bill restricts the use of the far left lane of a roadway by a driver to only the overtaking 

and passing of another vehicle if (1) the roadway has a posted speed limit of at least 

55 miles per hour and (2) the roadway has three or more lanes of traffic moving in the same 

direction.  After overtaking and passing the other vehicle, the driver must return to the right 

lane as soon as it is reasonably safe to do so.  The restriction on use of the far left lane does 

not apply to a vehicle (1) in the far left lane preparing for a left turn or left exit; (2) in a 

single high occupancy vehicle lane moving in one direction during the high occupancy 

vehicle restricted time period; or (3) in traffic conditions that require the use of all roadway 

lanes.  A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine of (1) $75 for a 

first offense; (2) $150 for a second offense; and (3) $250 for a third or subsequent offense. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund revenues to the extent additional drivers 

receive citations under the bill’s provisions.  Enforcement can be handled with existing 

resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues are not 

affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Vehicle Law requires that, when overtaking another vehicle 

that is going in the same direction, the driver must pass to the left of the overtaken vehicle 

at a safe distance.  A driver who wants to overtake another vehicle going in the same 
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direction must wait until safely clear of the overtaken vehicle before driving in front of that 

vehicle.  Except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of an 

overtaken vehicle, upon audible signal, must give way to the right in favor of an overtaking 

vehicle.  Also, except when overtaking and passing on the right is permitted, the driver of 

an overtaken vehicle may not increase speed until completely passed by the overtaking 

vehicle.        

 

A violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $500.  The 

prepayment penalty for these violations is $90 and, upon conviction, one point assessed 

against the driver’s license.  If the violation contributes to an accident, the prepayment 

penalty is $130 and three points assessed against the license. 

 

Background:  Exhibit 1 shows the frequency of charges for unlawfully overtaking another 

vehicle. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Citations – Overtaking Vehicles 

Fiscal 2016 

 

Overtaking Vehicles Open Prepaid Trial Total 

Failure to Overtake at Safe Distance 89 111 182 382 

Driving in Front of Overtaken Vehicle – Not Safely Clear 9 9 24 42 

Failure to Yield to Overtaking Vehicle on Audible Signal 1 2 1 4 

Overtaken Vehicle Increasing Speed 17 8 24 49 
 

Source:  District Court of Maryland 

 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  General fund revenues increase minimally for the Judiciary due to 

additional citations from enforcement of the restriction on the use of the far left lane as 

specified in the bill.  The magnitude of the revenue increase cannot be reliably estimated 

but is anticipated to be minimal. 

 

The Judiciary advises that, since the District Court citation reporting system is case based, 

it will be up to law enforcement agencies to identify subsequent offenders and designate 

the appropriate penalty.  However, any additional citations that the District Court receives 

as a result of the bill can be handled with existing resources.   
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 8, 2017 

Third Reader - March 28, 2017 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 28, 2017 

 

mm/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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