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Physicians - Professional Liability Insurance Coverage - Notification and Posting 

Requirements 
 

 

This bill requires each licensed physician practicing medicine in the State to notify a patient 

in writing, and on each visit, if the physician does not carry professional liability insurance 

coverage or if the physician’s coverage has lapsed for any period of time and has not been 

renewed.  Notification must be signed by the patient at the time of the patient’s visit and 

kept in the patient’s records.  Each licensed physician who does not carry professional 

liability insurance must conspicuously post such information where the licensee practices.  

The State Board of Physicians (MBP) must develop language regarding the notification 

requirements.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  MBP can handle the bill’s requirements with existing budgeted resources.  

Revenues are not affected.   

  
Local Effect:  None.   

 

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.   

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:   
 

Medical Professional Liability Insurance and Malpractice Actions 

 

Medical professional liability insurance (also known as medical malpractice insurance), 

covers doctors and other professionals in the medical field for liability claims relating to 
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patient treatment.  According to the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA), the 

availability and affordability of medical professional liability insurance affects the 

accessibility of high-quality health care to Maryland residents.  Premium rates in Maryland 

increased significantly between 2002 and 2005 but have remained relatively stable since 

2006. 

 

In health care malpractice actions, there are two primary kinds of damages.  Noneconomic 

damages include payment for pain, suffering, physical impairment, disfigurement, loss of 

consortium, or other nonpecuniary injury; economic damages, in contrast, include payment 

for loss of earnings and medical expenses and are not limited to a maximum amount.   

 

Under the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, for health care malpractice causes of 

action arising in 2017, the cap for noneconomic damages is $785,000.  The cap applies in 

the aggregate to all claims for personal injury and wrongful death arising from the same 

medical injury, regardless of the number of claims, claimants, plaintiffs, beneficiaries, or 

defendants.  However, if there is a wrongful death action in which there are two or more 

claimants or beneficiaries, the total amount awarded may not exceed 125% of the cap, or 

$981,250 in 2017.   
 

Medical Professional Liability Insurance Requirements for Physicians 

 

Maryland does not require physicians to carry medical professional liability insurance.  

However, according to the Medical Mutual Liability Insurance Society of Maryland 

(MMLIS), the largest medical professional liability insurance carrier in the State, 

physicians are required to carry medical professional liability insurance limits of $1 million 

per occurrence or claim and $3 million per annual aggregate in order to obtain hospital 

credentialing and to participate in health plans.  The vast majority of physicians insured by 

MMLIS carry these limits (fewer than 12 physicians insured by MMLIS carry limits below 

these amounts).  MMLIS further advises that, while it is possible that some of its insured 

physicians do not practice in hospitals or participate in health plans, it does not track this 

information – nor is it possible to estimate how many licensed physicians in Maryland do 

not currently carry medical professional liability insurance.  MIA and MBP are similarly 

unable to estimate this number, as neither entity collects this information. 
 

According to the American Medical Association, at least seven states (Colorado, 

Connecticut, Kansas, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin) require 

physicians to carry minimum levels of medical professional liability insurance, ranging 

from $100,000 to $1 million per occurrence and $300,000 to $3 million per annual 

aggregate.  At least another seven states (Indiana, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Mexico, 

New York, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming) require physicians to carry minimum levels of 

coverage to qualify for state liability reforms, including caps on damages or patient 

compensation funds.   
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In addition, at least five states (Alaska, Florida, Montana, Ohio, and Oregon) require 

physicians or similar providers to notify a patient if they do not have medical professional 

liability insurance. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 5 of 2011, a similar bill, passed the Senate and received a hearing 

in the House Health and Government Operations Committee, but no further action was 

taken on the bill.  SB 402 of 2010, an identical bill as introduced, passed the Senate but 

received an unfavorable report from the House Health and Government Operations 

Committee.  Similar bills were also introduced in the 2009 session. 
 

Cross File:  None. 
 

Information Source(s):  Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; Maryland Insurance 

Administration; American Medical Association; Medical Mutual Liability Insurance 

Society of Maryland; Department of Legislative Services 
 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 30, 2017 

fn/jc 

 

Analysis by:  Sasika Subramaniam  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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