## **Department of Legislative Services**

Maryland General Assembly 2017 Session

### FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE First Reader

House Bill 157 Economic Matters (Delegate Knotts, et al.)

#### **Public Service Commission - Membership**

This bill requires that each commissioner of the Public Service Commission (PSC) reside in and represent a specified group of counties. The bill also requires the Governor to appoint a chairman from among the existing commissioners and conforms related provisions so that the chairman's term ends concurrently with the existing term of the commissioner appointed as chairman. The bill applies only prospectively and may not be applied or interpreted to have any effect on or application to the term of the current PSC chairman or any other commissioner serving prior to the bill's effective date.

The bill takes effect June 1, 2017.

## **Fiscal Summary**

State Effect: The bill does not materially affect State finances or operations.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

#### Analysis

**Current Law:** All five PSC commissioners, including the chairman, are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Appointments are for five years and expire on a staggered basis. PSC must be broadly representative of the geographic and demographic diversity of the State and the public and composed of individuals with diverse training and experience. Each commissioner must devote full time to the duties of office. The Governor may remove a commissioner for incompetence or misconduct.

**Background:** The populations of each of the areas described in the bill are shown in **Exhibit 1**. Under the bill, one commissioner must reside in and represent each area.

# Exhibit 1 Populations of PSC Commissioner Areas July 2015 Estimate

<u>Area</u>	<b>Individuals</b>	<u>% of Total</u>
1	664,522	11%
2	2,580,876	43%
3	1,949,651	32%
4	358,126	6%
5	453,226	8%
Total	6,006,401	100%

Area 1: Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, and Washington counties

Area 2: Baltimore City and Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Harford, and Howard counties

Area 3: Montgomery and Prince George's counties

Area 4: Calvert, Charles, and St. Mary's counties

Area 5: Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester counties

PSC = Public Service Commission

Source: Maryland Department of Planning; Department of Legislative Services

## **Additional Information**

#### Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None.

**Information Source(s):** Public Service Commission; Maryland Department of Planning; Department of Legislative Services

**Fiscal Note History:** First Reader - January 27, 2017 mm/lgc

Analysis by: Stephen M. Ross

Direct Inquiries to: (410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510