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Natural Resources - Hunter Safety Instructors - State Park Entrance Fee 
 

 

This bill requires a person who has been authorized to give a course of instruction in 

conservation, competency, and safety in the handling of firearms by the Department of 

Natural Resources (DNR) to be admitted to any State park without having to pay an 

entrance fee.    

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal decrease in special fund revenues from State park entrance fees 

beginning in FY 2019.  Expenditures are not affected.   

  

Local Effect:  None.     

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal or none.       

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  
 

Maryland Hunter Education Course and Certificate of Competency  

 

DNR is responsible for prescribing the course of instruction in competency and safety in 

the handling of firearms and for designating authorized instructors.  With specified 

exceptions, a person must obtain a Certificate of Competency in Firearms and Hunter 

Safety prior to obtaining a hunting license by successfully completing the Maryland Hunter 

Education Course.   
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The Maryland Hunter Education Course is administered by volunteers, and DNR reports 

that there are 950 volunteer instructors.  DNR advises that after five years of service (in 

which an instructor teaches at least two classes per year), an instructor receives a free 

hunting license.  DNR also advises that volunteers are reimbursed for mileage to conduct 

courses, attend training, and attend other relevant meetings.   

 

State Park Entrance Fees 

 

According to DNR, some, but not all, State parks charge day-use fees, which vary by park 

and by season.  For example, there are no day-use fees at Martinak and Tuckahoe State 

parks.  However, from the Friday before Memorial Day to Labor Day Monday, Assateague 

State park charges $4 per person for residents and $6 per person for nonresidents.  The rest 

of the year, Assateague charges $3 per vehicle for residents and $5 per vehicle for 

nonresidents.  Overnight camping fees also vary by park and by the amenities offered.  For 

example, at Elk Neck State Park, a standard campsite is $21.49 per night plus service 

charges, a campsite with electric is $27.49 per night plus service charges, and a campsite 

with electric, water, and sewer is $36.49 per night plus service charges.   

 

The Secretary of Natural Resources has broad authority to establish State park fees.  The 

Maryland Park Service currently offers reduced fees and fee waivers to a variety of State 

park visitors.  For example, the Golden Age Pass, with a one-time fee of $10, entitles adults 

age 62 and older free day-use entry to all State parks that charge service fees, among other 

benefits.  Other passes/waivers are offered for specified youth, the disabled, and specified 

military/veterans. 

 

State Revenues:  Special fund revenues decrease beginning in fiscal 2019 due to the State 

park entrance fee exemption for hunter safety instructors.  A reliable estimate of the 

decrease in revenues cannot be made, as it depends on numerous factors, including the 

number of instructors that otherwise would have visited State parks, the frequency with 

which those instructors would have visited the parks, and the fees that they would have 

paid in the absence of the bill.  In addition, the bill refers to “entrance fees.”  It is unclear 

if this applies only to day-use charges or if it also applies to other park charges, such as 

campsite charges.  Regardless, the overall impact is not expected to be significant, since 

there are fewer than 1,000 instructors and not all instructors visit the parks.  For illustrative 

purposes, if 20% of the 950 instructors otherwise would have paid $4 to visit Assateague 

State Park twice each summer for the day, special fund revenues decrease by $1,520.   

 

State park fees are paid into the Forest and Park Reserve Fund within DNR.  In fiscal 2016, 

more than $15 million in revenue was generated from State park cabin, camping, and 

day-use charges. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Comptroller of Maryland; Department of Natural Resources; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 5, 2018 

 mag/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Kathleen P. Kennedy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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