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Environment and Transportation

Vehicle Laws - Temporary Registration - Out-of-State and Foreign Vehicles

This bill prohibits a person from driving (or attempting to drive) a vehicle in the State that
has an out-of-state or foreign temporary or temporary transporter registration that on
issuance was valid for 90 days or less, unless the registration complies with the laws of the
issuing jurisdiction. A person convicted of a violation is subject to a fine of up to $500 for
a first offense and a fine of up to $1,000 for each subsequent offense. In addition,
three points must be assessed against the person’s driver’s license after conviction.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues to the extent additional
drivers receive citations under the bill’s provisions. Any additional suspensions of driver’s
licenses under the bill likely have no material impact on Motor Vehicle Administration
(MVA) finances or operations. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. Revenues are not
affected.

Small Business Effect: Potential minimal.

|
Analysis

Current Law: A vehicle used or driven in the State may not display (on either its front or
rear) any expired registration plate issued by any state, unless otherwise expressly
authorized by MVA. A violation of this provisions is a misdemeanor, subject to a fine of
up to $500 or a prepayment fine of $70.



Vehicles of Nonresidents Not Subject to Registration

A nonresident may drive (or permit the driving of) a foreign vehicle in Maryland without
registering the vehicle if, at all times, the vehicle (1) is registered in and displays current
registration plates issued for it in the owner’s place of residence and (2) carries the required
registration card. However, the vehicle may not be (1) used for transporting persons for
hire, compensation, or profit; (2) regularly operated in carrying on business in the State;
(3) designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property; or (4) in the
custody of any resident for more than 30 days during any registration year.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of
State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of Legislative Services
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