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Sales and Use Tax - Exemption - Bluetooth 
 

   

This bill exempts from the State sales and use tax the sale of a Bluetooth headset or a 

consumer electronic device designed to aid in hands-free device use while driving if the 

taxable price of the headset or device is $500 or less.  The bill takes effect July 1, 2018, 

and terminates June 30, 2021. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease by a significant amount in FY 2019 through 

2021.  Under one set of assumptions, revenues decrease by $1.4 million each year.  General 

fund expenditures increase by $81,300 in FY 2019.   

  
(in dollars) FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 

GF Revenue ($1,410,000) ($1,410,000) ($1,410,000) $0 $0 

GF Expenditure $81,300 $0 $0 $0 $0 

Net Effect ($1,491,300) ($1,410,000) ($1,410,000) $0 $0   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

  

Local Effect:  None.      

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.      

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  The sales and use tax is the State’s second largest source of 

general fund revenue, accounting for approximately $4.6 billion in fiscal 2018 and 

$4.7 billion in fiscal 2019, according to the December 2017 revenue forecast.  Exhibit 1 

shows the sales and use tax rates in surrounding states and the District of Columbia.  
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Exhibit 1 

Sales and Use Tax Rates in Maryland and Surrounding States 
 

Delaware 0.0%  

  
District of Columbia 5.75%; 10.0% for liquor sold for off-the-premises consumption 

and restaurant meals, liquor for consumption on the premises, and 

rental vehicles 

  
Maryland 6.0% 

9.0% for alcoholic beverages 

  
Pennsylvania 6.0% plus 1.0% or 2.0% in certain local jurisdictions 

  
Virginia* 5.3%; 2.5% for eligible food items; both rates include 1.0% for 

local jurisdictions 

  
West Virginia 6.0% plus 0.5% (in two municipalities) or 1.0% (in 

37 municipalities) 
 

*An additional state tax of 0.7% is imposed in localities in Northern Virginia and the Hampton Roads 

region. 
 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  General fund revenues decrease in fiscal 2019 through 2021.  The 

amount of the revenue decrease depends on the number of specified headsets or 

hands-free devices that are sold and the cost of each device.  An Internet search indicates 

that the price of Bluetooth headsets and hands-free devices can range from $20 to over 

$150.  The bill limits the sales tax exemption to devices costing $500 or less.  General fund 

revenues will decrease by $1.20 for each $20 device that is purchased and by $9 for each 

$150 device that is purchased.   

  

The Motor Vehicle Administration reports that, for fiscal 2018, there are approximately 

4.7 million vehicles registered in the State and 4.3 million individuals with either a valid 

driver’s license or identification card.  Assuming that 10% of vehicle owners purchase a 

hands-free device for each vehicle registered, and the average price of each device is $50, 

general fund revenues could decrease by approximately $1.4 million annually in 

fiscal 2019 through 2021.  This estimate is based on national market sales data and the 

average price for wireless headsets adjusted for the State’s population.   

 

The Comptroller’s Office will incur a one-time expenditure increase of $81,300 in 

fiscal 2019 to notify the approximately 130,000 sales and use tax account holders of the 

sales tax change.        
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 1242 of 2017 and HB 1321 of 2016 each received a hearing in 

the House Ways and Means Committee, but no further action was taken on either bill.  

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Comptroller’s Office; Motor Vehicle Administration; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2018 

 nb/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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