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Vehicle Laws - Intersections - Prohibited Acts 
 

 

This bill generally prohibits a vehicle at a green circular signal, green arrow signal, or 

steady yellow signal from entering an intersection if the vehicle is unable to safely and 

completely proceed through the intersection.  However, a vehicle making (1) a left turn 

when facing a circular green signal may enter an intersection while yielding the 

right-of-way to a pedestrian or any other vehicle approaching from the opposite direction 

or (2) a right turn may enter into an intersection while yielding the right-of-way to a 

pedestrian or bicyclist.  A police officer may not issue a citation for the offense unless the 

approach to the intersection has appropriate signs installed in accordance with the 

Maryland Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MDMUTCD), which notify the 

public that a vehicle may not make the movement at the intersection in violation of the 

rule.  A violation of this provision is a misdemeanor, subject to the existing penalty of a 

$500 maximum fine.   
   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provisions 

applicable to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law.  Enforcement can be handled 

with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues are not 

affected.     

  

Small Business Effect:  None.    
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Green Traffic Signals 

 

Vehicular traffic facing a circular green signal may proceed straight through or turn, unless 

a sign otherwise prohibits the turn.  A vehicle turning right or left must yield the 

right-of-way to any other vehicle or pedestrian lawfully in the intersection or an adjacent 

crosswalk.  Vehicular traffic facing a green arrow signal may cautiously enter the 

intersection but only to make the movement indicated by the arrow or another movement 

if so permitted by other indications shown at the same time as the arrow.  A person who 

violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of 

$500.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $90, and the Motor Vehicle 

Administration (MVA) must assess one point against the driver’s license.  If the violation 

contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty increases to $130, and three points must 

be assessed against the driver’s license.         

 

Red Traffic Signals 

 

Vehicular traffic facing a steady red signal or a steady red arrow must stop at the near side 

of the intersection at a clearly marked stop line.  Vehicular traffic facing a steady red arrow 

signal may not enter the intersection to make the movement indicated by the arrow.  If 

there is no stop line, traffic must stop before entering any crosswalk.  If there is no 

crosswalk, traffic must stop before entering the intersection.  Traffic must remain stopped 

until a signal to proceed is displayed.  Unless a sign prohibiting a turn is in place, and after 

stopping, vehicular traffic may cautiously enter the intersection and make a right turn or a 

left turn from a one-way street onto a one-way street or a turn as indicated by a sign.  A 

violation of this provision is a misdemeanor and a violator is subject to a maximum fine of 

$500.  MVA must assess two points on the driver’s license or three points, if a violation 

contributes to an accident.  The prepayment penalty assessed by the District Court is $140 

or $180, if a violation contributes to an accident. 

 

Right-of-way – Generally 

 

A vehicle at an intersection generally has the right-of-way over any other vehicle 

approaching from the left and must yield the right-of-way to any other vehicle approaching 

from the right.  At a “T” intersection with no traffic control device, any person driving on 

a highway that intersects, but does not cross, the highway must yield to any other vehicle 

traveling on the other highway.  A violation of any of these provisions is a misdemeanor 

and a violator is subject to a maximum fine of $500.  MVA must assess one point on the 

driver’s license or three points, if a violation contributes to an accident.  The prepayment 
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penalty assessed by the District Court is $110 or $150, if a violation contributes to an 

accident.  If the violation results in death or serious bodily injury, the prepaid fine is $750. 

 

Background:  MDMUTCD is the combined document of the national and State traffic 

control device standards, including guidance promulgated by the Federal Highway 

Administration and Maryland’s supplemental guidance. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 237 of 2017, a similar bill, passed as amended, but received no 

further action after being heard in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB 779, its 

cross file, was heard in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action 

was taken.  

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Federal Highway Administration; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 20, 2018 

Third Reader - March 30, 2018 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 30, 2018 

 

mag/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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