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Motor Vehicle Laws - Registration Plates - Single Registration Plate 

Requirement 
 

 

This bill institutes a one-registration plate requirement, repealing the requirement to 

display both a front and rear registration plate for most vehicle classes.  The registration 

plate must be attached to the rear of most classes of vehicles. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures decrease by about $475,800 

in FY 2019, which reflects the bill’s effective date, and more than $634,400 beginning in 

FY 2020 due to reduced production and postage costs associated with scaling down to a 

single-registration plate requirement.  Nonbudgeted revenues decrease, likely significantly, 

from an increase in unpaid tolls at facilities using electronic tolling.  General fund revenues 

decrease beginning in FY 2019 due to the elimination of penalties collected for driving 

with one registration plate. 

  
(in dollars) FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 

GF Revenue (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

NonBud Rev. (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

SF Expenditure ($475,800) ($634,400) ($634,400) ($634,400) ($634,400) 

Net Effect $475,800 $634,400 $634,400 $634,400 $634,400   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances.   

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  All vehicles are required to display two registration plates, unless they are 

in one of five vehicle classes.  Class D (motorcycle), Class F (tractor), and Class G (trailer) 

vehicles are exempt from the two-registration plate requirement.  In addition, a Class L 

(historic) or Class N (street rod) vehicle is exempt if the vehicle was manufactured 50 years 

or more before the current model year.  Class F vehicles are required to display the 

registration plate on the front of the vehicle.  Historic and antique vehicles must display a 

current registration plate in the place provided on the vehicle.  In addition, the Motor 

Vehicle Administration (MVA) must issue only one plate for vehicles with temporary 

registration. 

 

An owner of a motor vehicle may not drive the vehicle or permit it to be driven on any 

highway in Maryland without validated registration plates, unless otherwise expressly 

authorized by MVA.  Expired registration plates may not be displayed.  A violation of these 

provisions is a misdemeanor, subject to a fine of up to $500 or a prepayment fine of $70. 

 

Background:  According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of 

June 2016, 19 states, including Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, allow 

one registration plate to be issued for most vehicles.  The remaining 31 states and the 

District of Columbia require two plates.  Several states only require one plate for certain 

types of vehicles such as motorcycles, trailers, or all-terrain vehicles.   

 

According to a 2012 study by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the issuance of two 

license plates created fiscal and other resource efficiencies in the areas of enforcement, 

tolling, parking, and homeland security.  For example, the study reported that, in Virginia, 

23% of toll violations could not be pursued because the rear plates were unreadable.  The 

study also reported that, in field studies using advanced vehicle identification technology, 

the registration plate identification rate for moving vehicles was 89% in Maryland, 

compared with 22% in Pennsylvania where only a single registration plate is required. 

 

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) advises that the 

Maryland Correctional Enterprises (MCE) currently provides employment to about 

70 inmates at the license tag plant located at the Jessup Correctional Institution.  The 

employment opportunity provided by the plant enhances safety and security at the 

institution by reducing idleness and improves employment opportunities for inmates upon 

release.  DPSCS advises that a one-plate standard may jeopardize these goals. 

 

The Department of State Police advises that the front plate is important for investigators 

and allows officers and civilian witnesses to easily identify and report vehicles suspected 

to be involved in criminal activities, missing persons, hit and run collisions, or other 

investigations involving motor vehicles. 
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State Expenditures:  TTF expenditures decrease by about $475,788 in fiscal 2019, which 

accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective date.  This estimate reflects the savings 

from procuring and sending fewer registration plates.  The information and assumptions 

used in calculating the estimate are stated below: 

 

 25,996 sets of plates were mailed to customers in fiscal 2017; 

 the same number of plates are issued each year beginning in fiscal 2019; 

 the cost of plates is flat in future years; 

 the cost of procuring registration plates from MCE by MVA is reduced by about 

$464,674 in fiscal 2019; and 

 the current cost to ship one plate, as opposed to two, decreases by $0.57 and these 

savings remain the same in future years. 

 

Future year savings reflect annualization and ongoing operating expenses. 

 

State Revenues:  Nonbudgeted revenues decrease significantly as the toll collection rate 

at Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) facilities likely decreases significantly.  

MDTA advises that it uses camera images of both the front and rear license plate to identify 

vehicles passing through toll facilities.  If the rear plate is obscured or the image is distorted, 

MDTA relies on the front plate to determine who owes the toll.  MDTA has conducted an 

analysis of the effect of vehicles displaying only one registration plate and, based on the 

number of vehicles that would not have been charged the appropriate toll in fiscal 2017 

and based on current toll rates, a single-plate standard could be expected to result in a loss 

of $15.6 million in nonbudgeted revenues in the first full fiscal year.  However, the 

Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that the actual revenue loss may be a 

fraction of this estimated amount, as the bill pertains only to the issuance of new 

registration plates, and many vehicles may continue to display two plates for many years 

following the bill’s effective date. 

 

General fund revenues may also decrease beginning in fiscal 2019 due to the elimination 

of penalties under the Maryland Vehicle Law for driving with only one registration plate.  

For illustrative purposes only, general fund revenues may decrease by about $217,230 in 

fiscal 2019 and by about $289,640 annually thereafter, which reflects the following 

assumptions: 

 

 the number and percentage of violations resulting in a prepaid fine in fiscal 2019 

and future years would otherwise remain constant at the fiscal 2017 level (4,129 and 

64.0%); 

 one-half of the violations for failure to display two registration plates in accordance 

with current law are attributed to driving with only one registration plate; 
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 the conviction rate in contested cases is 50% and results in the payment of a fine of 

one-half the statutory maximum (i.e., $250); and 

 fines and penalties in fiscal 2019 and future years remain at current levels. 

 

Additional Comments:  DLS notes that the bill requires MVA to issue only one plate, but 

it does not require that each existing registered vehicle have only one plate.  If all registered 

vehicles were required to have only one plate, the costs of implementing this standard could 

increase significantly, but the standard could also significantly reduce the potential for 

fraud and result in a significant decrease in MDTA nonbudgeted toll facility revenues, as 

noted above.  Requiring all registered vehicles to comply immediately, or within a specified 

phase-in period, would necessitate that MVA retain a substantial number of contractual 

employees to collect the existing front plates.  In addition, a contractual program 

administrator or auditor may be necessary to account for all collected plates. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 61 of 2015 received an unfavorable report from the House 

Environment and Transportation Committee.  HB 327 of 2014, HB 583 of 2012, HB 513 

of 2011, HB 1063 of 2010, and HB 430 of 2009 received unfavorable reports from the 

House Environmental Matters Committee.  HB 562 of 2013 received a hearing in the House 

Environmental Matters Committee, but no further action was taken.  SB 332 of 2008 

incorporated similar provisions; SB 332 received an unfavorable report from the Senate 

Judicial Proceedings Committee.  Nearly identical bills were also introduced in the 2003 

and 2001 sessions:  SB 61 of 2003 received an unfavorable report from the Senate Judicial 

Proceedings Committee and HB 475 of 2001 received an unfavorable report from the 

House Commerce and Government Matters Committee. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of State Police; Maryland 

Department of Transportation; National Conference of State Legislatures; Texas A&M 

Transportation Institute; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 16, 2018 

 nb/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Eric F. Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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