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Business Regulation - Collection Agencies - Exemptions From Licensure 
 

   

This bill expands an exemption from the requirement that a person be licensed to operate 

as a collection agency in the State.  The bill exempts lawyers – and employees under the 

supervision of a lawyer – who are collecting debt for a client from the requirement to be 

licensed under the Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act.  As such, the requirement 

for licensure if the lawyer has an employee who is not a lawyer and is engaged primarily 

in debt solicitation, collection, or adjustment is repealed. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund licensing revenues decrease by $72,800 in FY 2019 and by 

$97,000 annually beginning in FY 2020 as fewer individuals are required to be licensed as 

debt collectors, as discussed below.  Fine revenues decrease due to fewer licensing 

violations.  Expenditures are likely not materially affected. 

  

(in dollars) FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 

GF Revenue ($72,800) ($97,000) ($97,000) ($97,000) ($97,000) 

Expenditure 0 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($72,800) ($97,000) ($97,000) ($97,000) ($97,000)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 
Local Effect:  None. 

 

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A lawyer who is collecting debt for a client is exempt from the Maryland 

Collection Agency Licensing Act, unless the lawyer has an employee who is (1) not a 

lawyer and (2) primarily engaged in soliciting debts for collection or primarily making 

contact with a debtor to collect or adjust a debt through a procedure identified with the 

operation of a collection agency. 

 

Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act, Generally 

 

The Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act requires a person to be licensed by the 

State Collection Agency Licensing Board (SCALB) whenever the person does business as 

a collection agency, generally defined as engaging, either directly or indirectly, in the 

business of (1) collecting a consumer claim; (2) collecting a consumer claim acquired when 

the claim was in default; (3) collecting a consumer claim using a name or other artifice that 

indicates that another party is attempting to collect a consumer claim; (4) using a system 

of forms that indicates that a person other than the owner is asserting a consumer claim; 

and (5) employing services to solicit a collection system to be used for collection of a 

consumer claim. 

 

A “consumer claim” is defined as a claim for money owed or said to be owed by a resident 

of the State that arises from a transaction in which a private party sought credit, money, 

property, or services.  

 

The Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act does not apply to (1) banks; (2) federal or 

State credit unions; (3) mortgage lenders; (4) persons acting under an order of court; 

(5) certain real estate brokers or those acting on their behalf; (6) savings and loan 

associations; (7) title companies as to their escrow businesses; (8) trust companies; 

(9) certain lawyers collecting debt on behalf of a client; and (10) specified persons who are 

collecting debt on behalf of another person.  In addition, the following persons are excluded 

from the license requirement:  (1) a regular employee of a creditor while the employee is 

acting under the general direction and control of the creditor to collect a consumer claim 

that the creditor owns; and (2) a regular employee of a licensed collection agency while the 

employee is acting within the scope of employment.  

 

An applicant for a license must submit an application under oath and pay a fee set by the 

board.  (The fee is $350 per year.)  An applicant is also required to execute a $5,000 surety 

bond for the benefit of any member of the public who has a loss or other damage as the 

result of a violation of the Maryland Collection Agency Licensing Act or the Maryland 

Consumer Debt Collection Act.  The board may deny a license if an applicant fraudulently 

uses or attempts to obtain a license, or if the applicant or an associate has had a license 

revoked. 
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A person may not do business as a collection agency without a State license.  A person 

who violates this law is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of 

up to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to six months or both. 

       

Background: 

 

State Collection Agency Licensing Board 

 

SCALB is chaired by the Commissioner of Financial Regulation, exists within the Office 

of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation (OFR), and has statutory responsibility for 

the licensing of collection agencies operating in Maryland.  The Governor, with the consent 

of the Senate, appoints the four-member board, consisting of two consumer representatives 

and two industry representatives.  The commissioner serves as chairman.  The board 

addresses written complaints, conducts hearings on alleged violations, mediates disputes, 

and issues orders requiring licensees to correct violations.  The board also informs both 

licensees and the public about abusive debt collection practices. 

 

Law Firms and Debt Collection in Maryland 

 

OFR advises that some law firms engaged in debt collection activities have violated 

Maryland debt collection requirements in the past, resulting in harm to consumers in the 

State.  OFR goes on to note that a number of activities related to debt collection are 

conducted by non-attorney employees (e.g., telephone calls, dunning letters, foreclosure 

notices, etc.), and that licensing requirements have permitted OFR to seek redress for 

consumers who have been harmed. 

 

State Revenues:  According to OFR, there are nearly 1,800 debt collection licensees in the 

State.  Of that total, 388 are attorneys or law firms.  Assuming all of those 388 licensees 

meet the bill’s exemption criteria, general fund revenues decrease by approximately 

$97,000 annually.  (Although the annual fee is $350, a portion of that fee – $100 – is 

retained by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry and is not credited 

to the general fund.) 

 

Because of the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective date, however, some licensees who will 

otherwise be exempt must still register in fiscal 2019.  Assuming that only three-fourths of 

the 388 licensees are affected by the bill in fiscal 2019, general fund revenues decrease by 

approximately $72,750 in fiscal 2019 and then by the full $97,000 annually beginning in 

fiscal 2020.   

 

Revenues are likely to be further reduced as fewer fines are issued for failure to register as 

a collection agency.  The magnitude of the reduction cannot be reliably estimated but is 

likely to be minimal. 
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Small Business Effect:  The bill likely exempts over 20% of existing licensees from the 

requirement to register with SCALB.  For those licensees that qualify as small businesses, 

the bill results in savings related to the licensing fee and surety bond requirement.  Newly 

exempt licensees also realize time savings, as they are no longer subject to the annual 

licensing process. 

 

Additional Comment:   Senate Bill 6 and House Bill 187 of 2018 require licensing, 

investigation, and examination fees for various nondepository financial institutions – 

including collection agencies – to be deposited into the Nondepository Special Fund, rather 

than the general fund.  Thus, if either Senate Bill 6 or House Bill 187 is enacted, 

Nondepository Special Fund revenues, rather than general fund revenues, are affected by 

this bill. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 68 (Senator Norman) - Finance. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2018 

 md/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Eric F. Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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