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Economic Matters   

 

Healthy Working Families Act – Exemptions – Modifications  

(Healthy Working Families Exemption Equity Act) 
 

   

This bill exempts all employees in the construction industry, not just specified construction 

workers covered by a specified collective bargaining agreement, from earning paid sick 

and safe leave under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act.  Additionally, under the 

bill, the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act does not apply to an employee covered 

under the federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill does not materially affect governmental finances, as discussed 

below.      

  

Local Effect:  None, as any impact related to fewer cases being heard in the circuit court 

has no material impact on local government finances.      

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.      

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act passed the General 

Assembly during the 2017 session but was vetoed by the Governor.  During the 

2018 session, the General Assembly overrode the Governor’s veto; thus, the Act took effect 

as Chapter 1 of 2018 on February 11, 2018. 

 

Under Chapter 1, an “employer” includes the State or local governments and a person who 

acts directly or indirectly in the interest of another employer with an employee.  
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Chapter 1 of 2018 does not apply to employees who regularly work less than 12 hours a 

week, specified independent contractors, specified associate real estate brokers and real 

estate salespersons, individuals younger than age 18 before the beginning of the year, 

workers in a specified agricultural sector, construction workers (not including specified 

employees) covered in a collective bargaining agreement in which the Act’s requirements 

are clearly waived, specified employees who work on an as-needed basis in a health or 

human services industry, or specified employees of a temporary services or employment 

agency. 

 

Leave Accrual Rates 

 

Chapter 1 requires an employer with 15 or more employees to have a sick and safe leave 

policy under which an employee earns at least 1 hour of paid sick and safe leave, at the 

same rate as the employee normally earns, for every 30 hours an employee works.  An 

employer with 14 or fewer employees, based on the average monthly number of employees 

during the preceding year, must at least have a sick and safe leave policy that provides an 

employee with at least 1 hour of unpaid sick and safe leave for every 30 hours an employee 

works.  An employer is not required to allow an employee to earn or carry over more than 

40 hours of earned sick and safe leave in a year, use more than 64 hours of earned leave in 

a year, accrue more than 64 hours at any time, or use earned sick and safe leave during the 

first 106 calendar days the employee works for the employer.  An employer is not required 

to carry over unused earned sick and safe leave if the leave is awarded at the beginning of 

each year.       

   

Earned sick and safe leave begins to accrue the later of February 11, 2018, or the date that 

an employee begins employment with the employer. 

 

An employer is not required to allow an employee to accrue earned sick and safe leave 

during (1) a two-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours total; 

(2) a one-week pay period if the employee worked fewer than a total of 24 hours in the 

current and immediately preceding pay period; or (3) a pay period in which the employee 

is paid twice a month and the employee worked fewer than 26 hours in the pay period. 

 

An employer must allow an employee to use earned sick and safe leave: 

 

 to care for or treat the employee’s mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 to obtain preventive medical care for the employee or employee’s family member;  

 to care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 for maternity or paternity leave; and 

 for specified circumstances due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking 

committed against the employee or the employee’s family member.  
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An employer is not required to compensate an employee for unused earned sick and safe 

leave when the employee leaves the employer’s employment.  An employer that rehires an 

employee within 37 weeks after leaving employment is required to reinstate any unused 

earned sick and safe leave that had accrued at the time of separation unless the employer 

voluntarily paid out the unused earned sick and safe leave.  An employer is not required to 

modify an existing paid leave policy if (1) the terms and conditions are at least equivalent 

to those under the law or (2) the paid leave policy does not reduce employee compensation 

for an absence due to sick or safe leave.  An employer is not prevented from establishing a 

policy that allows employees to voluntarily exchange assigned work hours.  An employer 

is not prohibited from adopting and enforcing a policy that prohibits the improper use of 

earned sick and safe leave.  An employer may deny a request to take earned sick and safe 

leave under specified circumstances related to the disruption of the employer’s business or 

provision of services to an individual with a developmental disability or mental illness.      

 

Required Recordkeeping 

 

An employer must keep relevant records for at least three years, and the Commissioner of 

Labor and Industry may inspect an employer’s records regarding earned sick and safe 

leave.  There is a rebuttable presumption that an employer has violated the earned sick and 

safe leave provisions if the employer fails to either keep records or allow the commissioner 

to inspect records.  The commissioner may waive a civil penalty if the penalty was assessed 

for a violation that was due to an error caused by a third-party payroll service provider with 

whom the employer in good faith contracted for services.  

 

Enforcement Provisions 

 

If an employee believes that an employer has violated the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act, the employee may file a written complaint with the commissioner.  The 

commissioner must conduct an investigation and attempt to resolve the issue informally 

through mediation within 90 days of the written complaint.  If the commissioner is unable 

to resolve the issue through mediation and determines that an employer has violated a 

provision of the law, the commissioner must issue an order, subject to the hearing and 

notice requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act.  The order must describe the 

violation and direct the payment of the full monetary value of any unpaid earned sick and 

safe leave and any actual economic damages.  The order may, in the commissioner’s 

discretion, direct the payment of an additional amount of up to three times the value of the 

employee’s hourly wage for each violation and assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for 

each employee for whom the employer is not in compliance.  If an employer does not 

comply with an order within 30 days of the issuance of the order, the commissioner may 

ask the Attorney General to bring an action – either on behalf of the employee (with the 

employee’s written consent) or to enforce the order for the civil penalty – in the county 

where the employer is located.  
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In addition, within three years of the order, an employee may bring a civil action to enforce 

the order in the county where the employer is located.  If an employee prevails in such an 

action to enforce an order, the court may award three times the value of the employee’s 

unpaid earned sick and safe leave, punitive damages in an amount determined by the court, 

reasonable legal fees, injunctive relief if appropriate, and any other appropriate relief.  

 

A person may not interfere with the exercise of, or the attempt to exercise, any right given 

under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act.  An employer may not take adverse 

action or discriminate against an employee because the employee exercised in good faith 

the rights granted by the Act.  Additionally, an employer may not interfere with, restrain, 

or deny an employee exercising rights provided under the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act or apply a specified absence control policy that could lead to adverse action.  

An employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges a violation under the Act is 

protected.  An employee may not, in bad faith, file a complaint with the commissioner 

alleging a violation, bring an action, or testify in an action regarding earned sick and safe 

leave.  An employee who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and on 

conviction is subject to a maximum $1,000 fine.  

 

Background:  The Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance within the Department 

of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) was established to assist small businesses in 

complying with the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act.  Any employer or employee 

with specific questions relating to the law can email their questions to 

small.business@maryland.gov.   

 

The federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act provides two kinds of benefits for 

qualified railroad employees:  unemployment benefits and sickness benefits.  A day of 

sickness is a day on which the employee is unable to work because of sickness or injury 

and for which he or she does not receive any pay and has filed an application for sickness 

benefits and a statement of sickness.  The statement of sickness provides evidence of the 

employee’s medical condition and its expected duration.  It must be signed by the 

employee’s doctor (or other authorized individual).  DLLR advises that exempting 

individuals covered by the Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act eliminates the potential 

for duplicative sick leave policies for these employees. 

 

The Governor created the Committee on Paid Leave Policy in 2017 to review the Healthy 

Working Families Act.  In its final report, the committee recommended exempting the 

entire construction industry from the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act.   

         

State Fiscal Effect:  The bill narrows the scope of the Maryland Healthy Working Families 

Act by exempting specified railroad and construction workers from being covered under 

the Act.  Thus, DLLR anticipates receiving fewer complaints and inquiries from the 

construction and railroad industries.  However, the Division of Labor and Industry within 

mailto:small.business@maryland.gov
https://www.dllr.state.md.us/paidleave/paidleavereport.pdf
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DLLR has not yet received any additional funds to implement the Maryland Healthy 

Working Families Act.  Narrowing the scope of the Act has no material fiscal effect 

because the Division of Labor and Industry still needs additional resources to implement 

the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act, and the extent to which the scope is narrowed 

by the bill is not expected to materially affect DLLR’s role in implementing the Act.    

 

Although fewer penalties may be imposed, the bill does not materially affect general fund 

revenues.        

 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses in the construction industry that have employees 

currently covered under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act benefit from no 

longer having to provide these employees with earned sick and safe leave.          

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; U.S. Railroad 

Retirement Board; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2018 

 mm/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 


	HB 1314
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2018 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	First Reader
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




