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Public Safety - Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission - Medical 

Cannabis Program Training 
 

   

This bill requires the Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission (MPTSC) to 

expand the curriculum and the minimum courses of study for entrance-level and annual 

in-service level police training conducted by police training schools to include training 

about the State’s medical cannabis program and civil and criminal offenses involving 

cannabis or marijuana. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by $32,000 in FY 2019 only.  Revenues 

are not affected.    

  
(in dollars) FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 32,000 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($32,000) $0 $0 $0 $0   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in expenditures for some local jurisdictions, as 

discussed below.  Revenues are not affected. 

 

Small Business Effect:  None.      
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission:  Chapter 519 of 2016 reconstituted 

the former Police Training Commission as MPTSC, an independent commission within the 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services.  MPTSC operates approved police 

training schools and prescribes standards for and certifies schools that offer police and 

security training.  In consultation and cooperation with various entities, it also sets 

minimum qualifications for instructors and certifies qualified instructors for approved 

training schools. 

 

MPTSC certifies persons as police officers who have met commission standards, including 

submission to a criminal history records check and a specified psychological evaluation.  

An individual who is not satisfactorily trained in the 12-month probationary period may 

not be employed as a police officer, and a police officer may not serve after certification 

has been revoked, suspended, or allowed to lapse. 

 

MPTSC requirements include: 

 

 for entrance-level police training and at least every three years for in-service level 

police training conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training 

school, that the curriculum and minimum courses of study include special training, 

attention to, and study of the application and enforcement of (1) the criminal laws 

concerning rape and sexual offenses, including the sexual abuse and exploitation of 

children and related evidentiary procedures; (2) the contact with and treatment of 

victims of crimes and delinquent acts; (3) the notices, services, support, and rights 

available to victims and victims’ representatives under State law; and (4) the 

notification of victims of identity fraud and related crimes of their rights under 

federal law;   

 

 for entrance-level police training and annually for in-service level police training 

conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training school, that 

the curriculum and minimum courses of study include special training in the proper 

use of electronic control devices for specified police officers, consistent with 

established law enforcement standards and constitutional provisions;   

 

 for entrance-level police training and, as determined by MPTSC, for in-service level 

police training conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training 

school, that the curriculum and minimum courses of study include, consistent with 

established law enforcement standards and federal and State constitutional 
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provisions (1) training in lifesaving techniques, including cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation; (2) training in the proper level and use of force; (3) training regarding 

sensitivity to cultural and gender diversity; and (4) training regarding individuals 

with physical, intellectual, developmental, and psychiatric disabilities;  

 

 for entrance-level police training and at least every two years for in-service level 

police training conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training 

school, that the curriculum and minimum courses of study include special training, 

attention to, and study of the application of antidiscrimination and use of force 

de-escalation training; and 

 

 for entrance-level police training and for in-service level police training conducted 

by the State and each county and municipal police training school, that the 

curriculum and minimum courses of study include, consistent with established law 

enforcement standards and federal and State constitutional provisions, training 

related to motorcycle profiling in conjunction with existing training regarding other 

profiling. 

 

Medical Cannabis:  Chapter 403 of 2013 established, Chapters 240 and 256 of 2014 

expanded, and Chapter 251 of 2015 and Chapter 474 of 2016 further modified the State’s 

medical cannabis program.  The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission 

administers the program, which makes medical cannabis available to qualifying patients 

and their caregivers legally under State law via written certification.  A qualifying patient 

with a written certification can obtain a 30-day supply of medical cannabis, which is 

defined as 120 grams of usable cannabis.  The program allows for the licensure of growers, 

processors, and dispensaries and the registration of their agents, as well as registration of 

independent testing laboratories and their agents.   

 

Marijuana:  Pursuant to Chapter 158 of 2014, possession of less than 10 grams of 

marijuana is a civil offense punishable by a fine of up to $100 for a first offense and $250 

for a second offense.  The maximum fine for a third or subsequent offense is $500.  For a 

third or subsequent offense, or if the individual is younger than age 21, the court must 

(1) summon the individual for trial upon issuance of a citation; (2) order the individual to 

attend a drug education program approved by the Maryland Department of Health; and 

(3) refer him or her to an assessment for a substance abuse disorder.  After the assessment, 

the court must refer the individual to substance abuse treatment, if necessary.   

 

Chapter 4 of 2016 repealed the criminal prohibition on the use or possession of marijuana 

paraphernalia and eliminated the associated penalties.  The law also established that the 

use or possession of marijuana involving smoking marijuana in a public place is a civil 

offense, punishable by a fine of up to $500.            
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Chapter 515 of 2016 (also known as the Justice Reinvestment Act) reduced the maximum 

incarceration penalty for the use or possession of 10 grams or more of marijuana from 

one year to six months (but retained the maximum fine of up to $1,000). 

Background:  Training for the certification of law enforcement officers in the State may 

be conducted at MPTSC facilities or at any of 20 police training academies in the State 

certified by MPTSC.  There are approximately 16,500 certified police officers in Maryland. 

 

The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission has worked with the Department of State 

Police (DSP) to develop a training program regarding the medical cannabis program.  The 

program has been presented in several jurisdictions, with additional trainings scheduled in 

other jurisdictions; however, the program has not been approved by MPTSC.  The first 

medical cannabis was available for sale in the State in late 2017.   

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures for MPTSC increase by $32,039 in 

fiscal 2019 only, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective date.  This estimate 

reflects the cost of hiring a contractual curriculum developer for five months to update the 

curriculum to include the required medical cannabis program training.  It includes a salary, 

fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses.  

 

Contractual Position 1 

Salary and Fringe Benefits $26,893 

Operating Expenses     5,146 

Total FY 2019 State Expenditures $32,039 
 

This estimate does not include any health insurance costs that could be incurred for 

specified contractual employees under the State’s implementation of the federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act. 

 

Training adaptations for DSP and any other affected State law enforcement agencies can 

be handled with existing budgeted resources. 

 

Local Expenditures:  The various local government agencies that conduct police 

entrance-level training and in-service training may need to modify existing training 

programs to meet the bill’s requirements.  Some local governments can modify their 

training programs with existing resources, while others may incur some additional minimal 

costs.                    
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City; Kent, Montgomery, and Washington counties;  

cities of Salisbury and Westminster; Maryland Department of Health; Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of State Police; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 25, 2018 

 nb/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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