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This bill establishes that a unit of prosecution for a continuing course of unlawful sexual 

conduct with a victim younger than the age of 14 includes three acts that constitute 

violations of specified criminal statutes over a period of 90 days or more.  Under current 

law, a unit of prosecution is three or more of these acts during this time period.  For 

purposes of prosecution, violations that occur in separate periods of 90 days or more must 

be considered separate violations. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures are not affected in the short term but likely 

increase minimally in the out-years due to the bill’s impact on duration of incarceration, as 

discussed below.  Revenues are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local government finances or operations. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not engage in a continuing course of conduct which includes 

three or more acts that constitute violations of § 3-303 (rape in the first degree), § 3-304 

(rape in the second degree), or § 3-307 (sexual offense in the third degree) of the Criminal 

Law Article, or violations of § 3-305 (first-degree sexual offense) or § 3-306 

(second-degree sexual offense) of the Criminal Law Article as the sections existed before 

October 1, 2017, over a period of 90 days or more, with a victim who is younger than the 
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age of 14 at any time during the course of conduct.  A violator is guilty of a felony, 

punishable by imprisonment for up to 30 years.  A sentence imposed for this violation may 

be separate from and consecutive to or concurrent with a sentence under § 3-602 (sexual 

abuse of a minor) of the Criminal Law Article.   

 

In determining whether the required number of acts occurred, the trier of fact (1) must 

determine only that the required number of acts occurred and (2) need not determine which 

acts constitute the required number of acts.   

 

A person may not be charged with a violation of § 3-303, § 3-304, or § 3-307 involving the 

same victim in the same proceeding as a violation for a continuing course of conduct unless 

the other violation charged occurred outside the time period that was charged for the 

continuing course of conduct violation.  A person may not be charged with a violation of 

§ 3-303, § 3-304, or § 3-307 involving the same victim unless the violation charged 

occurred outside the time period charged for the continuing course of conduct violation. 

 

Background:  In State v. Bey, 452 Md. 255 (2017), the Maryland Court of Appeals held 

that § 3-315 of the Criminal Law Article is ambiguous as to whether separate convictions 

and sentences could be obtained for multiple uninterrupted 90-day intervals of a continuing 

course of conduct, as contradictory reasonable interpretations subsist with equal force even 

after the tools of statutory construction are exhausted.  Thus, the rule of lenity mandates 

that the statute be construed as not to provide multiple punishments for the criminal 

defendant. 

 

According to the Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP), 

a review of the Maryland State Sentencing Guidelines Database indicates that MSCCSP 

received information on five individuals sentenced in the State’s circuit courts during 

fiscal 2017 for continuing course of conduct.  The Department of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services advises that, in fiscal 2017, it conducted intake on five inmates 

sentenced for continuing course of conduct.  Two of the inmates carried two offenses each, 

with the second sentence being concurrent.  The average length of sentence was 18 years.  

The Division of Parole and Probation has no data showing probation intakes in fiscal 2017 

for continuing course of conduct. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase minimally in the out-years as a 

result of the bill’s impact on incarceration penalties due to people being committed to State 

correctional facilities for longer periods of time.  The bill has the potential to significantly 

increase the overall length of sentence for an individual convicted of continuing course of 

conduct.  Any such impact depends on (1) the frequency with which individuals face 

additional charges and are convicted of additional counts of continuing course of conduct 

as a result of the bill; (2) the lengths of the sentences imposed; and (3) judicial discretion 

as to whether sentences should be served consecutively or concurrently.  However, given 
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the number of individuals convicted each year of this offense, the maximum sentence under 

existing statute of 30 years, and the fiscal 2017 average sentence of 18 years, the overall 

impact of the bill on State incarceration expenditures is expected to be minimal and 

deferred to future years. 

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$3,800 per month.  Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other 

than Baltimore City are sentenced to local detention facilities.   

 

The State does not pay for pretrial detention time in a local correctional facility.  Persons 

sentenced in Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in State correctional facilities.  The 

Baltimore Pretrial Complex, a State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial 

detentions.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Maryland 

State’s Attorneys’ Association; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2018 

Third Reader - March 16, 2018 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 16, 2018 
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Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 


	SB 316
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2018 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	Third Reader - Revised
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




