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Charles County - Cigarette Retailers - County License Fee 
 

   

This bill increases the fee for a county cigarette retailer license in Charles County to $125.  

For each license fee collected, the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Charles County is required 

to distribute $25 to the Comptroller and $100 to Charles County for enforcement of existing 

laws banning the sale or distribution of tobacco or tobacco products to minors, which may 

not supplant existing funding for such purposes.  The bill takes effect July 1, 2018. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase by approximately $4,000 annually beginning 

in FY 2019.  General fund expenditures increase by $9,200 in FY 2019 only for 

programming costs.       

  

Local Effect:  Charles County revenues increase by approximately $12,100 annually 

beginning in FY 2019.  County expenditures are assumed to increase correspondingly for 

enhanced enforcement.    

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal, as discussed below. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Comptroller issues cigarette retailer licenses through the local clerks 

of the court.  To obtain a license to sell cigarettes at retail, a person must (1) obtain a county 

license; (2) file an application with the clerk; and (3) pay the clerk a fee of $30, which is 

distributed to the Comptroller.  A county license costs an additional $25 in all counties 

except Cecil and Montgomery counties.  In Cecil County, the cost is $50.  Chapter 732 of 

2016 increased the county license fee in Montgomery County from $25 to $125.  
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Licenses expire on the first April 30 after the effective date, but they are renewable for an 

additional year.  To renew a cigarette retailer license, licensees must pay the 

aforementioned fees. 

 

A person that operates a vending stand under a trader’s license issued to Blind Industries 

and Services of Maryland is not required to obtain a cigarette retailer license. 

 

The Comptroller may deny a license to an applicant, reprimand a licensee, or suspend or 

revoke a license if the applicant or licensee (1) fraudulently or deceptively obtains or 

attempts to obtain a license for another person; (2) fraudulently or deceptively uses a 

license; (3) fails to comply with the Maryland Cigarette Sales Below Cost Act; (4) sells 

cigarettes in less than 20 per package; (5) illegally buys cigarettes for resale; (6) is 

convicted of a felony or misdemeanor that is a crime of moral turpitude directly related to 

the fitness or qualification of the licensee or applicant; or (7) fails to pay a tax due. 

 

Except in the case of selling tobacco products to a minor in violation of State law, a licensee 

whose license is suspended or revoked may petition the Comptroller for permission to 

make an offer of compromise (in which the licensee pays a sum of money in lieu of serving 

the suspension or revocation).     

 

State Revenues:  The current fee to obtain a county cigarette retailer license in 

Charles County is $25.  This fee is increased to $125 under the bill, and the Clerk of the 

Circuit Court for Charles County must distribute $25 from each county cigarette retailer 

license fee to the Comptroller.  The Comptroller’s Office advises that 161 cigarette licenses 

were issued in Charles County in calendar 2017.  Therefore, general fund revenues increase 

by approximately $4,025 annually beginning in fiscal 2019.  This analysis assumes that the 

Comptroller’s Office does not currently retain any portion of county cigarette retailer 

license fees.  This analysis also reflects the April 30 renewal date, assumes that the number 

of county cigarette retailer licenses issued in the county remains constant over subsequent 

fiscal years, and assumes that the collection and distribution of the $30 application fee that 

is required in all counties remains unaffected. 

 

State Expenditures:  The Judiciary advises that the bill requires one-time programming 

changes at a cost of $9,160 in fiscal 2019 only. 

       

Local Fiscal Effect:  Under the bill, Charles County receives $100 from each cigarette 

retailer license fee collected rather than $25 under current law.  Therefore, revenues 

increase by approximately $12,075 annually beginning in fiscal 2019.  Again, this analysis 

assumes the Comptroller’s Office currently does not retain any portion of the county 

cigarette retailer license fee.  This analysis also reflects the April 30 renewal date, assumes 

that the number of county cigarette retailer licenses issued in the county remains constant 

over subsequent fiscal years, and assumes that the $30 application fee remains unaffected. 
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Charles County expenditures are assumed to increase correspondingly as the bill requires 

that the monies received be used to enforce existing laws banning the sale or distribution 

of tobacco or tobacco products to minors.  In addition, the bill specifies that these monies 

may not supplant existing funding for those purposes.   

         

Small Business Effect: The bill increases the fee to obtain a county cigarette retailer 

license in Charles County from $25 to $125, a 400% increase.  Although retailers of 

cigarettes in Charles County are subject to higher licensing fees compared to what they 

currently pay, this increase is not likely to affect the overall viability of businesses.            

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 1266 (Senator Middleton) - Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs. 

 

Information Source(s):  Charles County; Comptroller’s Office; Judiciary (Administrative 

Office of the Courts); Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - April 3, 2018 

 md/jc 

 

Analysis by:   Sasika Subramaniam  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 

 


	HB 1737
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2018 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	First Reader
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




