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Economic Matters   

 

Secondhand Precious Metal Objects - Holding Period and Objects Containing 

Silver 
 

   

This bill removes silver from the definition of “precious metal object” subject to regulation 

under the Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act.  The 

general holding period for a secondhand precious metal object acquired by a dealer is 

reduced from 18 days to 10 days.  A related change is made to specified transactions in 

Prince George’s County. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill does not materially affect State finances or operations.     

  

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local government finances or operations. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.      

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) regulates 

dealers who acquire and trade secondhand precious metal objects, including gold and 

silver.  Dealers of these objects, including individuals, retail jewelers, and pawnbrokers 

who deal in secondhand precious metal objects, must be licensed before doing business in 

the State in accordance with the Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and 

Pawnbrokers Act.   

    

Licensees are required to record specified information for each transaction on a form 

provided by DLLR.  Records must be kept for at least three years at a location within the 
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State.  Further, dealers must submit records electronically, in a format acceptable to the 

receiving law enforcement unit, by noon of the business day following the transaction.   

 

Any secondhand precious metal object acquired by a dealer must be held for at least 

18 days in the county where the dealer holds a license, after a record is submitted to law 

enforcement.  The primary law enforcement agency may require a dealer to hold a precious 

metal object for an additional 12 days if the agency has reason to believe that the item is 

stolen.  The primary law enforcement agency can also extend the hold period for an 

additional 45 days if an item is under continuous active investigation with documented 

progress in the investigation.  The 45-day extension can be renewed as many times as 

necessary.  A dealer may submit a request to the primary law enforcement unit for a shorter 

holding period for a specific precious metal object.    

 

Background:  Chapter 562 of 2009 established electronic reporting requirements for 

dealers, thereby repealing the authorization that allowed dealers to mail or submit paper 

transaction records to law enforcement.  The State uses an electronic system to transmit 

acquisition information from secondhand dealers to local law enforcement through an 

Internet interface.  The system enables police departments statewide to immediately gain 

access to timely information about property that has been sold to pawnbrokers, precious 

metal dealers, or vehicle salvage yards.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Businesses affected by the bill are likely small businesses and 

benefit from potentially reduced holding periods and fewer transaction records/reporting 

related to silver objects. 

  

Additional Comments:  The Department of State Police advises that the current holding 

period is needed to allow victims of theft to discover that property has been stolen, notify 

law enforcement of the theft, and allow law enforcement to query the electronic records 

system.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police; Department of Labor, Licensing, and 

Regulation; Governor’s Office of Crime Control and Prevention; Garrett and Montgomery 

counties; Department of Legislative Services 
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Analysis by:   Stephen M. Ross  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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