Chapter 195

(House Bill 323)

AN ACT concerning

Somerset County - Commissioners - Residency Requirements

FOR the purpose of requiring each County Commissioner of Somerset County to reside in a certain commissioners' district for a certain amount of time before <u>the filing deadline for the</u> election as a Commissioner and during the term of office as Commissioner; prohibiting a Commissioner from continuing to serve during the current term of office if the Commissioner does not maintain a certain residency under certain circumstances; authorizing an incumbent Commissioner who no longer resides in a certain district due to a change in the district's boundaries to continue as a Commissioner for the remainder of the term of office; and generally relating to residency requirements for the County Commissioners of Somerset County.

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

The Public Local Laws of Somerset County

Section 2–101

Article 20 - Public Local Laws of Maryland

(2015 Edition, as amended)

(As enacted by Chapters 167 and 168 of the Acts of the General Assembly of 2016)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article 20 – Somerset County

2–101.

- (a) There are 5 County Commissioners for Somerset County, who hold office for 4 years and until their successors are elected and qualified.
- (B) (1) A COMMISSIONER ELECTED FROM A COMMISSIONERS' DISTRICT DESCRIBED IN § 2-102 OF THIS SUBTITLE MUST BE A RESIDENT OF THAT DISTRICT DURING:
- (I) THE 6 MONTHS IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING <u>THE FILING</u> <u>DEADLINE FOR</u> THE ELECTION OF THE COMMISSIONER; AND
 - (II) THE FULL TERM OF OFFICE AS A COMMISSIONER.

- (2) A COMMISSIONER FROM A COMMISSIONERS' DISTRICT WHO DOES NOT MAINTAIN RESIDENCY IN THAT DISTRICT MAY NOT CONTINUE AS A COUNTY COMMISSIONER AND THE OFFICE SHALL BE DEEMED VACANT.
- (3) IF THE BOUNDARY OF A COMMISSIONERS' DISTRICT IS CHANGED, THE TERM OF AN INCUMBENT COMMISSIONER WHO NO LONGER RESIDES IN THAT DISTRICT BECAUSE OF THE CHANGE IS NOT AFFECTED DURING THAT TERM.
- [(b)] (C) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, each Commissioner shall receive an annual salary of \$8,500.
- (2) The President of the County Commissioners shall receive an annual salary of \$9,500.
- [(c)] (D) Each Commissioner may receive reimbursement of no more than \$3,000 a year for expenses incurred for any official duties. The County Commissioner shall submit a reimbursement voucher, signed by 3 of the 5 Commissioners.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2019.

Approved by the Governor, April 18, 2019.