Joint Resolution 1

## (House Joint Resolution 9)

A House Joint Resolution concerning

## Freedom of the Press Day

FOR the purpose of designating June 28 as Freedom of the Press Day; and generally relating to Freedom of the Press Day.

WHEREAS, The Founding Fathers of the United States recognized the critical importance of a free press to the nation's democracy through the inclusion of the right to a free press in the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, Other nations do not enjoy this right; and

WHEREAS, Members of the United States armed forces have given the ultimate sacrifice to protect this right; and

WHEREAS, This right is threatened in the United States and around the world by acts of violence and dangerous, irresponsible rhetoric; and

WHEREAS, The General Assembly honors on June 28 the loss of the lives of Gerald Fischman, Rob Hiaasen, John McNamara, Rebecca Smith, and Wendi Winters of the Capital Gazette, who were murdered conducting work as journalists in Annapolis, Maryland; and

WHEREAS, The Annapolis community, Anne Arundel County, the State of Maryland, the United States of America, and citizens of the world mourn the loss of the lives of these journalists, as well as journalists both domestic and international, who have died in the line of duty; and

WHEREAS, The General Assembly of Maryland desires that June 28 be recognized as Freedom of the Press Day in Maryland to memorialize the lives lost on June 28, 2018, at the Capital Gazette offices and to honor and protect all journalists serving a vital role in our State's democratic process to inform residents of the happenings of their governments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General Assembly of Maryland designates June 28 as Freedom of the Press Day; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.

Signed by the President and the Speaker, April 18, 2019.