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Public Safety - Permit to Carry, Wear, or Transport a Handgun - Qualifications 
 

   

This bill specifies that, under provisions applicable to requirements for the issuance of a 

permit to wear, carry, or transport a handgun, personal protection or self-defense constitute 

a good and substantial reason for issuance of the permit. In addition, the bill states the 

intent of the General Assembly that the Governor include in the annual budget bill, for 

fiscal 2020 and each fiscal year thereafter, an amount representing the increase in general 

fund revenues realized from the increased number of permits to carry, wear, or transport a 

handgun issued as a result of the bill and the payment of associated fees, less increased 

general fund expenditures for the Department of State Police (DSP) to process additional 

permit applications, to fund school mental health programs administered by the Maryland 

Department of Health (MDH).  
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues from handgun permit fees increase by $7.5 million 

in FY 2020. Future year revenues reflect the licensure issuance and renewal cycle as well 

as a decrease in new permit applications and renewals over time. General fund expenditures 

increase correspondingly to process additional permit applications and to fund school 

mental health programs. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 

GF Revenue $7,500,000 $6,375,000 $9,918,800 $8,656,000 $7,560,100 

GF Expenditure $7,500,000 $6,375,000 $9,918,800 $8,656,000 $7,560,100 

Net Effect $0 $0 $0 $0 $0   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

  

Local Effect:  None.  
  

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Generally, an applicant for a handgun permit must, among other 

requirements, have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun. 

“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as a 

reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.  

 

Current law requirements and background relating to the issuance of handgun permits is 

summarized in the Appendix – Handgun Permit Requirements – Current 

Law/Background. 

 

School Mental Health Services 

 

Under the Code of Maryland Regulations, each local school system must provide a 

coordinated program of pupil services for all students, which must include school 

counseling, pupil personnel services, school psychology, and health services. The pupil 

services program must focus on the health, personal, interpersonal, academic, and career 

development of students. 

 

Chapter 583 of 2017 requires MDH, in conjunction with the Maryland State Department 

of Education, to recommend best practices for local school systems to provide to students 

(1) behavioral needs assessments and (2) individualized or group behavioral health 

counseling services with a health care provider through a school-based health center or 

community-partnered school-based behavioral health services. “Behavioral health 

counseling services” means prevention, intervention, and treatment services for the 

social-emotional, psychological, behavioral, and physical health of students, including 

mental health and substance abuse disorders. 

 

State Revenues:  The Department of Legislative Services (DLS) estimates that this bill 

increases new handgun permit applications by about 100,000 in fiscal 2020. This is due in 

part to the surge in sales during recent years and assumes a similar experience to that which 

was experienced in Wisconsin in 2012 when nearly 99,000 additional carry permit 

applications were received after its law was changed.  

 

Assuming an increase of about 100,000 permit applications in fiscal 2020, general fund 

revenues from handgun permit fees increase by an estimated $7.5 million in fiscal 2020. 

By fiscal 2024, the increase in general fund revenues for initial applications and renewals 

decreases to $7.6 million; this estimate assumes that, over time, initial handgun permit 

applications decline by 15% per year, and that the total number of permits renewed 

decreases by 10% annually. Exhibit 1 shows the estimated increase in general fund 

revenues from additional handgun permit fees through fiscal 2024. 
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Exhibit 1 

Estimated Handgun Permit Fee Revenue under the Bill 

 

 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 

New Applications 100,000 85,000 72,250 61,413 52,201 

    Fee Revenue  $7,500,000 $6,375,000 $5,418,750 $4,605,975 $3,915,075 

Renewals - - 90,000 81,000 72,900 

    Fee Revenue  - - 4,500,000 4,050,000 3,645,000 

Total Revenue $7,500,000 $6,375,000 $9,918,750 $8,655,975 $7,560,075 
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase correspondingly to general fund 

revenues for DSP to process additional permit applications and to provide funding to MDH 

for school mental health programs, consistent with the bill’s intent language. 

 

Department of State Police  

 

General fund expenditures for DSP increase by an estimated $4,447,215 in fiscal 2020, 

which reflects the bill’s October 1, 2019 effective date. DSP advises that its Licensing 

Division requires eight hours to process 1 application. Based on an anticipated increase of 

approximately 100,000 applications in fiscal 2020, this estimate reflects the cost to hire 

10 full-time troopers, 18 office services clerks, and 44 contractual background check 

investigators to process and issue the additional handgun permit applications, review and 

issue renewal permits, and prepare information relating to hearings. The estimate includes 

salaries and fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses. 

 

Positions (Regular) 28 

Positions (Contractual) 44 

Salaries and Fringe Benefits (Regular) $1,680,269 

Salaries and Fringe Benefits (Contractual) 1,745,121 

Motor Vehicle Purchases and Operations 313,315 

Additional Police and Civilian Equipment 674,760 

Other Operating Expenses       33,750 

Total FY 2020 DSP Expenditures $4,447,215 
 

Future year expenditures, which are shown in Exhibit 2, reflect full salaries with annual 

increases and employee turnover and ongoing operating expenses. In fiscal 2023, it also 

reflects automobile replacement costs.  
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Exhibit 2 

Estimated Expenditures for DSP 

Fiscal 2021-2024 
 

Fiscal 2021 Fiscal 2022 Fiscal 2023 Fiscal 2024 

$4,740,471 $4,779,143 $5,803,086 $5,106,693 
 

DSP:  Department of State Police 
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
 

 

This estimate does not include any health insurance costs that could be incurred for 

specified contractual employees under the State’s implementation of the federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act.  

 

DSP’s licensing division has utilized significant overtime in recent years to process 

handgun permit applications. In the first half of fiscal 2019, overtime increased by 13.2%. 

In addition to the personnel and programming costs estimated above, DSP projects 

considerable trooper and civilian overtime costs in fiscal 2020. However, DLS believes 

that a new, automated handgun permit application process that is anticipated to be 

operational prior to the bill’s effective date will assist with processing the expected increase 

in handgun permit applications under the bill. Should overtime or additional personnel 

costs emerge in the future, DSP can request additional resources through the annual budget 

process. 

 

Maryland Department of Health 

 

The bill establishes the intent of the General Assembly that the Governor include in the 

annual budget bill, for fiscal 2020 and each fiscal year thereafter, an amount representing 

the increase in general fund revenues realized from the increased number of handgun 

permits issued as a result of the bill and the payment of associated fees, less increased 

general fund expenditures for DSP to process additional permit applications, to fund school 

mental health programs administered by MDH. Although the budget bill for fiscal 2020 

has already been submitted to the General Assembly, and although the bill’s intent 

language is not binding on the Governor, this analysis assumes that funding is provided to 

MDH for school mental health programs beginning in fiscal 2020 and that the bill’s intent 

language in future years is met. 

 

Accordingly, based on the anticipated revenue stream and the estimated expenditures for 

DSP, the increase in funding for MDH for school mental health programs is shown in 

Exhibit 3. The variation in available funding by year is due to the licensure issuance and 

renewal cycle, the decrease in new permit applications and renewals over time, and 
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increasing costs for DSP. For purposes of this fiscal and policy note, is assumed that MDH 

spends all available funding each year.  

 
 

Exhibit 3 

Available Funding for MDH for School Mental Health Programs 
 

Fiscal 2020 Fiscal 2021 Fiscal 2022 Fiscal 2023 Fiscal 2024 

$3,052,785 $1,634,529 $5,139,607 $2,852,889 $2,453,382 
 

MDH:  Maryland Department of Health 
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
 

 

Small Business Effect:  Because it is assumed that the bill leads to an increase in the 

number of handgun permits sought in the State, small businesses that provide firearm 

instruction may benefit from an increase in the demand for their services.  

 

Additional Comments:  In Woollard v. Gallagher (No. 12-1437), the U.S. Court of 

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit considered the constitutionality of Maryland’s “good and 

substantial reason” handgun permit requirement. On March 21, 2013, the Fourth Circuit 

reversed the District Court opinion, and Maryland’s “good and substantial” requirement 

was upheld as constitutional. The U.S. Supreme Court declined to review that decision. 

        

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 647 of 2018 received a hearing in the House Judiciary 

Committee, but no further action was taken. HB 663 of 2017 received a hearing in the 

House Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken. Its cross file, SB 511, received 

a hearing in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken.  

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police; Maryland Department of Health; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 22, 2019 

 mm/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
  



    

HB 342/ Page 6 

Appendix 

Handgun Permit Requirements – Current Law/Background 
 

 

Generally, with certain exceptions, to be issued a handgun permit by the Secretary of State 

Police, an applicant (1) must be 18 or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony 

or misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been 

imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal 

law; (3) must not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation and 

must not presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, or an 

alcoholic; (4) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability which may 

reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to the applicant or another; (5) must 

have successfully completed, prior to application and each renewal, a specified firearms 

training course approved by the Secretary; (6) if younger than 30, must not have been 

committed to a facility for juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for 

a crime of violence, a felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than 

two years; and (7) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a 

handgun. “Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as 

a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. The Secretary may limit the 

geographic area, circumstances, or times of day, week, month, or year in which a permit is 

effective. 

 

A handgun permit applicant must successfully complete, prior to the application and each 

renewal, a firearms training course approved by the Secretary that includes (1) for an initial 

application, a minimum of 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor, or 

8 hours of instruction for a renewal application; (2) classroom instruction on State firearm 

law, home firearm safety, and handgun mechanisms and operation; and (3) a firearms 

qualification component that demonstrates the applicant’s proficiency and use of the 

firearm.  

 

An applicant for a permit is not required to complete a certified firearms training course if 

the applicant: 

 

 is a law enforcement officer or a person who is retired in good standing from service 

with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State, or any local law 

enforcement agency in the State; 

 is a member, retired member, or honorably discharged member of the U.S. Armed 

Forces or the National Guard; 

 is a qualified handgun instructor; or 

 has completed a firearms training course approved by the Secretary.  



    

HB 342/ Page 7 

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit and every 

three years thereafter, a $50 renewal fee is due. In addition, the applicant must pay for 

fingerprint-based federal and State criminal history background checks for an initial 

application. A person who applies for a renewal of a handgun permit is not required to be 

fingerprinted unless the Secretary requires a set of the person’s fingerprints to resolve a 

question of the person’s identity. 

 

Generally a handgun permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following 

two years after the date the permit is issued; however, the Secretary may establish an 

alternative expiration date for a permit to coincide with the expiration of a private detective 

license, a security guard certification, or a special police officer commission. A permit may 

be renewed for successive periods of three years each if, at the time of an application for 

renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the 

renewal fee. 

 

In 2018, the Department of State Police (DSP) received 4,393 new applications for 

handgun permits and 5,383 handgun permit renewal applications. DSP denied 

500 applications in the same year. There are currently approximately 22,177 active 

handgun permits in the State. It generally takes less than two days to receive the results of 

a national criminal history records check from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and 

approximately 90 days to process, investigate, and issue a permit.  
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