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This bill exempts from the State vessel excise tax and the State sales and use tax the transfer
or sale of a vessel that is unsalvageable or destroyed. The bill takes effect July 1, 2019.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund revenues and special fund revenues decrease by a minimal
amount beginning in FY 2020. Based on one set of assumptions, total State revenues may
decrease by approximately $44,000 annually. General fund expenditures increase by
$81,300 in FY 2020.
Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis
Current Law/Background:
Sales and Use Tax
The sales and use tax is the State’s second largest source of general fund revenue,
accounting for approximately $4.9 billion in fiscal 2019 and $5.0 billion in fiscal 2020,

according to the December 2018 revenue forecast. Exhibit 1 shows the sales and use tax
rates in surrounding states and the District of Columbia.



Exhibit 1
Sales and Use Tax Rates in Maryland and Surrounding States

Delaware 0.0%

District of Columbia  6.0%; 10.0% for liquor sold for on-the-premises consumption and
restaurant meals; 10.25% for alcoholic beverages for consumption
off the premises, tickets to specified sporting events, and specified
rental vehicles

Maryland 6.0%
9.0% for alcoholic beverages

Pennsylvania 6.0% plus 1.0% or 2.0% in certain local jurisdictions

Virginia* 5.3%; 2.5% for eligible food items; both rates include 1.0% for
local jurisdictions

West Virginia 6.0% plus 0.5% (in two municipalities) or 1.0% (in
41 municipalities)

*An additional state tax of 0.7% is imposed in localities in Northern Virginia and the Hampton Roads
region and an additional 1.7% is imposed in localities in the Historic Triangle.

Vessel Excise Tax

Persons purchasing a new or used vessel within Maryland to be titled and numbered in the
State as well as persons possessing within Maryland a vessel purchased outside of
Maryland to be used principally in Maryland are required to pay the vessel excise tax.
Licensed boat dealers must collect the excise tax on all sales of vessels to be titled and
numbered in Maryland and on all sales of vessels within the State to be federally
documented and principally used in Maryland.

The vessel excise tax rate is 5%, not to exceed $15,000 for any vessel titled after
July 1, 2013. Effective July 1, 2016, and each July 1 thereafter, this maximum limit is
increased by $100 each year. The tax applies to the gross purchase price or fair market
value of the vessel with a deduction for the value of a trade-in. The gross purchase price,
verified by a certified bill of sale, includes the boat, motor, accessories, freight, and
make-ready charges. The fair market value is determined by means of a national
publication of used vessel values (specifically, the Used Boat Price Guide). A minimum
value of $100 applies to all sales.
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The excise tax on vessels does not apply to vessel sales to the U.S. government, State
agencies, and local subdivisions; vessel sales to charitable organizations; transfers between
members of an immediate family; and sales to licensed boat dealers for resale, rental, or
lease.

Vessel excise tax revenues are estimated to total $20.1 million in fiscal 2019. Vessel excise
tax revenues are credited to the Waterway Improvement Fund (WIF). The fund may incur
expenditures for the following purposes: (1) marking channels and harbors and
establishing aids to navigation; (2) clearing debris, aquatic vegetation, and obstruction from
State waters; (3) dredging channels and harbors and construction of jetties and breakwaters;
(4) dredging State ponds, lakes, and reservoirs; (5) constructing marine facilities beneficial
to the boating public; (6) improving, reconstructing, or removing bridges over waters, if
those structures impede the boating public; (7) evaluating water-oriented recreation needs
and recreational capacities of waterways and developing comprehensive plans for
waterway improvements; (8) providing matching grants to local governments for the
construction of marine facilities that promote the safety of life and property; and
(9) promoting boat safety and education.

For a further detailed discussion of Maryland’s sales and use tax and vessel excise tax,
please see Chapters 4 and 9, Volume Il - Maryland’s Revenue Structure, of the
2018 Legislative Handbook Series.

State Revenues: General fund revenues and WIF revenues are estimated to decrease by a
minimal amount beginning in fiscal 2020. The Department of Natural Resources estimates
that, based on abandoned vessels and vessels with mechanics liens processed by the
department, WIF revenues may decrease by approximately $20,000 annually. Based on
this information, it is estimated that sales and use tax revenues will decrease by
approximately $24,000 annually.

State Expenditures: The Comptroller’s Office will incur a one-time expenditure increase
of $81,300 in fiscal 2020 to notify the approximately 130,000 sales and use tax account
holders of the sales tax change.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Comptroller’s Office; Department of Natural Resources;
Department of Legislative Services
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Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 22, 2019
mag/hlb

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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