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This bill specifies that a general contractor on a project for construction services is jointly 

and severally liable for violations of the Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law 

committed by a subcontractor only if the employee notified the general contractor, in 

writing, within 90 days after the violation occurred and the general contractor failed to cure 

the violation within 30 days after receiving the notice. A presently existing obligation or 

contract right may not be impaired in any way by the bill. The bill applies prospectively 

and may not be applied or interpreted to have any effect on or application to any cause of 

action arising before the bill’s October 1, 2019 effective date. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. The State is not subject to the Wage Payment and Collection Law as 

an employer so the bill pertains exclusively to private-sector employers. Holding a general 

contractor jointly and severally liable only under specified circumstances is not expected 

to materially affect the workload of the District Court or enforcement activities by the 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry. 

  

Local Effect:  None. The bill does not apply to local governments as employers. The bill 

is not anticipated to materially affect the circuit courts. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Chapter 17 of 2018 made a general contractor on a project for construction 

services jointly and severally liable for violations of the Maryland Wage Payment and 

Collection Law committed by a subcontractor, regardless of whether the subcontractor is 

in a direct contractual relationship with the general contractor. A subcontractor must 

indemnify a general contractor for any wages, damages, interest, penalties, or attorney’s 

fees owed as a result of the subcontractor’s violation unless indemnification is provided 

for in a contract between the general contractor and the subcontractor or a violation of the 

Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law arose due to a lack of prompt payment in 

accordance with the terms of the contract.  

  

Maryland’s Wage Payment and Collection Law 

 

Maryland’s Wage Payment and Collection Law regulates the payment of wages by 

employers in the State. The law requires employers to pay workers the wage promised; 

establish regular paydays; pay wages when due; pay employees in a specified manner; pay 

employees at least once every two weeks, with exceptions; furnish employees with a 

statement of gross earnings; advise employees of their rate of pay and designated payday; 

and pay employees all wages due on termination of employment. The Department of Labor, 

Licensing, and Regulation’s Division of Labor and Industry enforces the State’s Wage 

Payment and Collection Law. Unless otherwise specified, the definition of “employer” in 

the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law does not include units of government.  

 

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry may investigate a violation of the Wage Payment 

and Collection Law only upon receipt of a written complaint by an employee. Whenever it 

is determined that the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law has been violated, the 

commissioner may (1) try to resolve the violation informally through mediation; (2) ask 

the Office of the Attorney General to bring an action on behalf of the employee; or (3) bring 

an action on behalf of the employee in the county where the violation allegedly occurred. 

 

In wage complaints amounting to $3,000 or less, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

may review and investigate the complaint and may either issue an order requiring the 

employer to pay or dismiss the claim. Under specified circumstances, the commissioner 

may proceed in District Court to enforce payment of the order. 

 

For wage complaints over $3,000, an employee entitled to wages from an employer 

may – after two weeks have elapsed – bring an action against the employer in a court of 

competent jurisdiction to recover the unpaid wages.  
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If a court determines that an employer withheld an employee’s wage unlawfully, and not 

as a result of a bona fide dispute, the court may award the employee up to three times the 

amount of wages owed, counsel fees, and other costs.  

 

Employers who violate the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law are guilty of a 

misdemeanor and may be fined up to $1,000.  

 

Small Business Effect:  The bill may reduce the liability of general contractors whose 

subcontractors violate the Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law by giving them, 

in some instances, a chance to cure the violation before the violation is reported. 

   

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  State Board of Contract Appeals; Department of General 

Services; Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Board of Public Works; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 16, 2019 

 mag/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 

 


	HB 1333
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2019 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	First Reader
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




