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Transportation - Ignition Interlock System - Definition 
 

 

This bill expands the definition of “ignition interlock system” to mean, in addition to 

current provisions, a device that has a camera (1) with the capability of recording still 

images of the person taking the test of the person’s blood alcohol level; (2) without the 

capability to record sound; (3) without the capability to record video; and (4) that records 

images only while the device is testing the blood alcohol level of the person taking the test 

or if the device is being tampered with.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill is not expected to materially affect governmental operations or 

finances, as discussed below.    

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  An “ignition interlock system” means a device that 

(1) connects a motor vehicle ignition system to a breath analyzer that measures a person’s 

blood alcohol level and (2) prevents a motor vehicle ignition from starting if a person’s 

blood alcohol level exceeds the calibrated setting on the device.   

 

A person who commits specified alcohol-related driving offenses may be required to 

participate in the Maryland Ignition Interlock System Program (IISP). Participation may 

also be optional under certain circumstances.   
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A person may not drive or attempt to drive any vehicle while: 
 

 under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se; 

 impaired by alcohol; 

 impaired by a drug, any combination of drugs, or any combination of drugs and 

alcohol; or 

 impaired by a controlled dangerous substance. 
        

“Under the influence of alcohol per se” means having an alcohol concentration at the time 

of testing of at least 0.08 as measured by grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or 

grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. 
 

“Impaired by alcohol” means prima facie evidence as indicated, at the time of testing, by 

an alcohol concentration of at least 0.07 but less than 0.08, as measured by grams of alcohol 

per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. 
 

For a more detailed discussion of the implementation of IISP in Maryland, including the 

categories of offenders that are required to participate and implementation of programs in 

other states (including use of additional accountability measures such as cameras), please 

see Appendix – Ignition Interlock System Programs. 
 

State Expenditures:  The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) advises that, in 

fiscal 2018, there were 16,367 unique drivers in IISP. MVA advises that ignition interlock 

devices that are equipped with a camera cost an additional $10 to $15 each per month. 

MVA additionally advises that installation of camera-equipped ignition interlock devices 

is an authorized option for participation in IISP. However, MVA advises that there is not 

anyone participating in IISP who utilizes a camera, although there has been at least one 

participant to use a camera device in the past.  
 

Individuals participating in IISP pay the installation cost of $75 for ignition interlock 

devices themselves and obtain the devices from authorized providers; therefore, there is no 

anticipated fiscal impact to MVA. MVA advises that any necessary computer 

programming changes can be absorbed within existing resources. To the extent the bill 

results in the need to store and review more information than anticipated, special fund 

expenditures for MVA may increase minimally.   
 

Small Business Effect:  Providers that operate as small businesses must ensure that all of 

their ignition interlock devices used in Maryland are equipped with a camera; however, 

their costs to do so may be offset by increased fees from participants. Providers also must 

supply a replacement device equipped with a camera to everyone already participating in 

the program when the bill takes effect, with an additional installation charge for each 
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participant. According to MVA’s website, there are eight certified ignition interlock 

providers in the State.         
 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 862 of 2018 passed in the House, but received an unfavorable 

report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee. HB 784 of 2017 received an 

unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee. Its cross file, SB 523, received 

an unfavorable report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee. 

 

Cross File:  SB 245 (Senator Kramer, et al.) - Judicial Proceedings. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police; Maryland Department of 

Transportation; National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; National Conference of 

State Legislatures; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 22, 2019 

Third Reader - March 18, 2019 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 18, 2019 

 

mag/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amber R. Gundlach  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Ignition Interlock System Programs 
 

 

An ignition interlock device connects a motor vehicle’s ignition system to a breath analyzer 

that measures a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The device prevents the car 

from starting if the driver’s BAC exceeds a certain level. The device also periodically 

retests the driver after the motor vehicle has been started. According to the National 

Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), all 50 states and the District of Columbia 

authorize or mandate the use of an ignition interlock device to deter alcohol-impaired 

driving. The Maryland Ignition Interlock System Program (IISP) was established through 

regulation in 1989 and codified by Chapter 648 of 1996. The Motor Vehicle Administration 

(MVA) in the Maryland Department of Transportation is responsible for administering 

IISP. 

 

IISP has undergone changes in the last several years which have increased the number of 

alcohol-impaired drivers who are either mandated or authorized to participate in IISP. Both 

Chapter 557 of 2011 and Chapter 631 of 2014 expanded the circumstances under which 

drunk drivers are required to participate in IISP. Among other provisions, Chapter 557 of 

2011 established a minimum six-month participation period for specified alcohol-related 

driving offenses, including alcohol restriction violations committed by drivers younger 

than age 21. 

 

Chapter 631 of 2014 established mandatory participation for alcohol-related offenses 

involving the transport of a minor younger than age 16. According to the District Court, 

during fiscal 2018 a total of 29 citations were issued to drivers for transporting a minor 

while driving under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se, and 

87 citations were issued to drivers for transporting a minor while impaired by alcohol. It is 

unknown how many of these drivers were transporting minors younger than age 16 at the 

time they were cited. 

 

Chapter 512 of 2016, titled the “Drunk Driving Reduction Act of 2016” (also known as 

“Noah’s Law”), further expanded the circumstances for mandatory participation in IISP. 

The law requires offenders convicted of the following crimes to participate: 

 

 a person convicted the first time of driving or attempting to drive under the influence 

of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se (including a person whose license 

is suspended or revoked for accumulation of points for those violations); 

 

 a person required to participate by court order due to a conviction for driving while 

impaired by alcohol or while impaired by a drug, any combination of drugs, or a 
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combination of one or more drugs and alcohol, and the trier of fact found beyond a 

reasonable doubt that the person refused a requested test; 

 

 a person whose license has been revoked for a conviction of homicide by motor 

vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se; 

impaired by alcohol; or impaired by a drug, a combination of drugs, or a 

combination of one or more drugs and alcohol; and 

 

 a person whose license has been revoked for a conviction of life-threatening injury 

by motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of 

alcohol per se; impaired by alcohol; or impaired by a drug, a combination of drugs, 

or a combination of one or more drugs and alcohol. 

 

Exhibit 1 summarizes the categories of offenders that are required to participate in IISP 

and the corresponding minimum participation periods.   

 

Chapter 512 of 2016 also set forth the required elements for successful participation in 

IISP. A certification from the service provider must state that in the three consecutive 

months preceding the participant’s date of release there was not: 

 

 an attempt to start a vehicle with a BAC of 0.04 or higher, unless a subsequent test 

performed within 10 minutes registers a BAC lower than 0.04; 

 

 a failure to take or pass a random test with a BAC of 0.025 or lower, unless a 

subsequent test performed within 10 minutes registered a BAC lower than 0.025; or  

 

 a failure of the participant to appear at the approved service provider for required 

maintenance, repair, calibration, monitoring, inspection, or device replacement. 
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Exhibit 1 

Mandatory Participation in the Ignition Interlock System Program 
 

Category of Participant Participation Period 

Driver who committed administrative per se offense of 

refusing to take a test or took a test with a BAC result of 

0.15 or more1  

One year 

Driver convicted of driving while under the influence of 

alcohol or under the influence of alcohol per se with a 

BAC test result of 0.08 or more2 

Driver convicted of either (1) homicide by motor vehicle 

or (2) life-threatening injury by motor vehicle while 

under the influence of alcohol or under the influence of 

alcohol per se; impaired by alcohol; or impaired by a 

drug, a combination of drugs, or a combination of drugs 

and alcohol2 

Six months for the first time the 

driver is required to participate 

One year for the second time the 

driver is required to participate 

Three years for the third or 

subsequent time the driver is required 

to participate 

Driver convicted of transporting a minor while impaired 

by alcohol and the minor was younger than age 163 

Subsequent offender convicted of driving while under 

the influence of alcohol or under the influence per se or 

impaired by alcohol and, within the preceding five 

years, convicted of any drunk or drugged driving offense 

in the Transportation Article4 

Six months for the first time the 

driver is required to participate 

One year for the second time the 

driver is required to participate 

Three years for the third or 

subsequent time the driver is required 

to participate 

Driver younger than age 21 who violated the license 

alcohol restriction or committed any alcohol-related 

driving offense4 

 

Six months for the first time the 

driver is required to participate 

One year for the second time the 

driver is required to participate 

Three years for the third or 

subsequent time the driver is required 

to participate 

 

1Participation is considered “mandatory” because a driver who commits these offenses is only eligible for a 

modification of a license suspension if the driver participates in IISP for one year. 
2Chapter 512 of 2016 
3Chapter 631 of 2014 
4Chapter 557 of 2011 
 

BAC:  blood alcohol concentration 
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 
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Exhibit 2 provides an overview of IISP participation since enactment of Chapter 557 

of 2011 and Chapter 631 of 2014, up until fiscal 2018. MVA advises that, between 

October 1, 2011, and September 30, 2018, 2,384 drivers who left IISP reentered the 

program at a later time.  

 

 

Exhibit 2 

Ignition Interlock System Program Participation 

Fiscal 2013-2017 

 

Fiscal Year 

New Driver 

Assignments 

Successful 

Completions 

Unsuccessful 

Participants 

2013 14,884 4,383 2,496 

2014 15,299 4,648 2,569 

2015 15,171 4.842 2,634 

2016  14,816 4,901 1,153 

2017 16,289 4,307 1,293 

2018 7,151 5,575 1,797 
 

Source:  Maryland Department of Transportation  

 

 

MVA advises that in fiscal 2018 there were 16,367 unique drivers in IISP and 7,151 first-

time referrals. 

 

National Outlook and Safety Improvement Efforts 

 

According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 

nationally the percentage of highway fatalities associated with alcohol impairment has 

hovered around 30% from 1995 through 2017. For example, in 2017, the latest year for 

which national data is available, there were 37,133 traffic fatalities nationally and 

10,874 of those fatalities, or 29%, involved a driver with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. For the 

same period in Maryland, out of a total of 550 traffic fatalities, 186, or 33%, involved a 

driver with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. 

 

The proportion of traffic fatalities due to alcohol impairment, which has decreased only 

slightly in over 20 years, concerns traffic safety advocates. Accordingly, NHTSA has 

recommended that states increase the use of ignition interlock devices to address 

alcohol-impaired driving. In November 2013, NHTSA released Model Guidelines for State 

Ignition Interlock Programs. The document contains recommendations for legislation and 

administrative changes to improve program administration, vendor oversight, data security 

and privacy, device reliability, and driver notification and licensing.  
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According to the 2008 final report of the Maryland Task Force to Combat Driving Under 

the Influence of Drugs and Alcohol, the use of ignition interlock devices has been shown 

to lead to long-lasting changes in driver behavior and the reduction of recidivism. The task 

force advised that a minimum of six months of failure-free use is needed to significantly 

reduce recidivism. The task force reported that, when offenders are required to use ignition 

interlock devices, recidivism is reduced by at least 60% and as much as 95%. 

 

Use of Ignition Interlock in Other States 

 

According to NCSL, all 50 states and the District of Columbia authorize or mandate the 

use of an ignition interlock device to deter alcohol-impaired driving. Judges in many of the 

jurisdictions with ignition interlock systems have the discretion to order installation as part 

of sentencing for convicted drunk drivers (BAC of 0.08 or higher). According to NCSL, 

29 states (Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, 

Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, 

New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 

Vermont, Virginia, Washington, and West Virginia) and the District of Columbia mandate 

the use of ignition interlock for any drunk driving conviction. In other states where the use 

of ignition interlock is mandatory, it is required either for repeat offenders or for drivers 

with a high BAC or both. 

 

States are also experimenting with ways to improve participant accountability and program 

compliance. NCSL reports that 17 states (Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Michigan, 

Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, South Dakota, 

Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington) have begun requiring some drunk 

driving offenders to install a type of ignition interlock device that contains a camera. The 

captured images are intended to ensure that the correct person is using the device to start 

the vehicle. Some states have also implemented “24/7 Sobriety Monitoring” programs, 

which combine treatment and punitive sanctions such as breath and urine testing, ankle 

bracelets, transdermal drug patches, and incarceration. States that have adopted this 

approach include Alaska, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, North Dakota, 

South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. 
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