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This emergency bill makes numerous changes to the State’s medical cannabis program,
including (1) authorizing specified entities to register with the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical
Cannabis Commission to purchase medical cannabis for research purposes; (2) requiring
the commission to allow licensed medical cannabis dispensaries and processors to sell
“edible cannabis products,” as specified; (3) increasing the length of time a medical
cannabis license holder must be actively engaged in the industry before selling or
transferring ownership of the license; (4) expanding legal protections for individuals
participating in the State’s medical cannabis program; and (5) restricting medical cannabis
advertising. The commission must adopt regulations, including some in consultation with
the Maryland Department of Health (MDH), to implement portions of the bill.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: No likely effect in FY 2019. Special fund expenditures increase by $407,500
in FY 2020 for staff and training costs: out-years reflect ongoing staff costs. The bill’s
Imposition of existing penalty provisions does not materially affect State finances.

(in dollars) FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
SF Expenditure 407,500 309,600 330,800 342,100 353,900
Net Effect ($407,500) ($309,600) ($330,800) ($342,100) ($353,900)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease
Local Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Meaningful.



Analysis
Bills Summary:
Academic Research Centers

An institution of higher education, a related medical facility, or an affiliated biomedical
research firm is authorized to register with the commission to purchase medical cannabis
for the purposes of conducting a bona fide research project relating to the medical uses,
properties, or composition of cannabis. Further, an “academic research representative” may
purchase medical cannabis from a licensed dispensary. The commission may adopt
implementing regulations.

An “academic research representative” is an employee or agent of an institution of higher
education, a related medical facility, or an affiliated biomedical research firm that has filed
a registration with the commission and is authorized to purchase medical cannabis for the
institution of higher education or related medical facility.

An institution of higher education, a related medical facility, or an affiliated biomedical
research firm’s registration must include (1) the name of the primary researcher; (2) the
expected duration of the research; and (3) the primary objectives of the research. The
registration must remain valid until there is a change in the research project or the
registration is withdrawn.

An academic research representative may not be penalized or arrested under State law for
acquiring, possessing, or dispensing cannabis, products containing cannabis, related
supplies, or educational materials for use in a bona fide research project relating to the
medical uses, properties, or composition of cannabis.

An academic research representative purchasing medical cannabis in accordance with the
bill and Maryland’s medical cannabis program is not subject to arrest, prosecution,
revocation of mandatory supervision, parole, or probation, or any civil or administrative
penalty, including a civil penalty or disciplinary action by a professional licensing board,
nor may they be denied any right or privilege, for the medical use or possession of medical
cannabis.

The bill generally makes conforming changes to existing legal protections for licensed
growers, dispensaries, and processors to allow these entities and their agents to provide
medical cannabis to academic research representatives in accordance with the State’s
medical cannabis program and the bill.
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A person may not distribute, possess, manufacture, or use cannabis that has been diverted
from an academic research representative.

Edible Cannabis Products

“Edible cannabis product” means a medical cannabis product intended for human
consumption by oral ingestion, in whole or in part, and includes medical cannabis products
that dissolve or disintegrate in the mouth. “Edible cannabis product” does not include any
(1) medical cannabis concentrate; (2) medical cannabis-infused product, including an oil,
wax, ointment, salve, tincture, capsule, suppository, dermal patch, or cartridge; or (3) other
dosage form that is recognized by the U.S. Pharmacopeia, the national formulary, or the
U.S. Food and Drug Administration and is approved by the commission.

The commission must allow a licensed medical cannabis dispensary (or a registered
dispensary agent) to acquire, possess, transfer, transport, sell, distribute, or dispense edible
cannabis products for use by a qualifying patient, a caregiver, or an academic research
representative. The commission must also allow a licensed processor (or a registered
processor agent) to (1) acquire, possess, process, package, label, transfer, transport, sell,
and distribute to a dispensary edible cannabis products and (2) transport edible cannabis
products to an independent testing laboratory. The bill also clarifies that a licensed
dispensary cannot process medical cannabis products.

The commission, in consultation with MDH, must adopt regulations (1) to require a
dispensary and a processor to meet any additional requirements that the commission
determines necessary, including requiring a permit, for the dispensing or processing of
edible cannabis products, respectively and (2) regarding the packaging, labeling,
marketing, and appearance of edible cannabis products to ensure the safety of minors.

Transfer of Ownership of Licenses

The bill increases, from two years to three years, the length of time that the holder of a
medical cannabis grower, processor, or dispensary license must be physically and actively
engaged in the cultivation, processing, or dispensing of medical cannabis immediately
preceding the sale or transfer of the ownership of the license.

Immunity from Revocation of Mandatory Supervision, Parole, or Probation

The bill establishes that the following persons acting in accordance with the statutory
provisions of the State’s medical cannabis program are not subject to revocation of
mandatory supervision, parole, or probation, for the medical use or possession of medical
cannabis: (1) a qualifying patient in possession of a 30-day supply of medical cannabis, or
a greater amount if authorized by the qualifying patient’s written certification; (2) a grower
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or grower agent; (3) a certifying provider; (4) a caregiver; (5) an academic research
representative purchasing medical cannabis in accordance with the bill; (6) a dispensary or
dispensary agent; (7) a processor or processor agent; (8) a hospital, medical facility, or
hospice program where a qualifying patient is receiving treatment; or (9) an authorized
third-party vendor.

Advertising Restrictions

All advertisements for medical cannabis, medical cannabis products, edible cannabis
products, or medical cannabis-related services that make therapeutic or medical claims
must be supported by substantial clinical evidence or data and include information on the
most significant side effects or risks associated with use.

Any advertisement for a grower, processor, dispensary, independent testing laboratory,
certifying provider, or third-party vendor may not (1) make any statement that is false or
misleading in any material way or is otherwise a violation of the Maryland Consumer
Protection Act (MCPA) or (2) contain a design, illustration, picture, or representation that
encourages or represents the recreational use of cannabis, targets or is attractive to minors,
displays the use of cannabis, encourages or promotes cannabis for use as an intoxicant, or
Is obscene.

All advertising for medical cannabis medical cannabis products, or edible cannabis
products must include a statement that the product is only for use by a qualifying patient.

Any website owned, managed, or operated by a certifying provider, dispensary, grower, or
processor must employ a neutral age-screening mechanism to verify users are at least
age 18. An advertisement placed on social media or a mobile application must include a
notification that (1) a person must be at least age 18 to view the content and (2) medical
cannabis is for use by certified patients only.

Any advertisement for medical cannabis, medical cannabis products, edible cannabis
products, or medical cannabis-related services may not be placed within 500 feet of (1) a
substance abuse or treatment facility; (2) a primary or secondary school in the State or a
licensed child care center or a registered family child care home; or (3) a playground,
recreation center, library, or public park. However, these location restrictions do not apply
to an advertisement placed on property owned or leased by a dispensary, grower, or
processor.

The commission must adopt regulations that establish enforcement procedures and a
process for an individual to voluntarily submit an advertisement to the commission for an
advisory opinion on whether the advertisement complies with the bill’s advertising
restrictions.
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Current Law:
Maryland’s Medical Cannabis Program

The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission is responsible for implementation
of the State’s medical cannabis program. The program allows for the licensure of growers,
processors, and dispensaries and the registration of their agents, as well as registration of
independent testing laboratories and their agents. There is a framework to certify health
care providers (including physicians, dentists, podiatrists, nurse practitioners, and nurse
midwives), qualifying patients, and their caregivers to provide qualifying patients with
medical cannabis legally under State law via written certification. Additionally, recent
legislation extended legal protections to third-party vendors authorized by the commission
to test, transport, or dispose of medical cannabis, medical cannabis products, and medical
cannabis waste. In December 2018, the commission proposed regulations that require
registration of secure transportation companies and address the shipment of products
between licensees.

Statute defines a “dispensary” as an entity that acquires, possesses, processes, transfers,
transports, sells, distributes, dispenses, or administers cannabis, products containing
cannabis, related supplies, related products containing cannabis including food, tinctures,
aerosols, oils, or ointments, or educational materials for use by a qualifying patient or
caregiver. The definition of a licensed “dispensary” in Maryland regulations is similar;
however, it also includes an entity that repackages products containing medical cannabis,
and it does not include “food” in the description of related products.

Maryland regulations define “medical cannabis-infused product” to mean oil, wax,
ointment, salve, tincture, capsule, suppository, dermal patch, cartridge, or other product
containing medical cannabis concentrate or usable cannabis that has been processed so that
the dried leaves and flowers are integrated into other material. “Medical cannabis-infused
product” does not include food.

Although both the statutory and regulatory definitions of “dispensary” include processing
products containing cannabis, the commission advises that, in practice, processing medical
cannabis is outside the scope of licensed dispensaries, and dispensaries in the State are not
authorized to process medical cannabis, which includes the manufacture of a
medical-cannabis infused product.

Statute defines a “processor” as an entity that (1) transforms medical cannabis into another
product or extract and (2) packages and labels medical cannabis.

There are no cannabis-specific advertising and marketing restrictions in the State.
However, Chapter 598 of 2018, an emergency bill, made a number of significant reforms
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to Maryland’s medical cannabis program, including requiring the commission to submit a
report to the General Assembly on potential rules and regulations governing the advertising
and marketing of medical cannabis in the State. The commission submitted this report in
December 2018.

Chapter 598 also addressed the sale or transfer of ownership for regulated medical cannabis
entities. Specifically, a medical cannabis grower, processor, or dispensary license holder
may only transfer ownership of a license if the licensee was physically and actively
engaged in cultivating, processing, or dispensing medical cannabis for at least two years
immediately preceding the sale or transfer. For additional information regarding the
commission and Maryland’s medical cannabis program, including license and ownership
transfers, please see the Appendix — Medical Cannabis.

Protections Against Arrest, Prosecution, and Civil or Administrative Penalties

Current law establishes that any of the following persons acting in accordance with the
statutory provisions of Maryland’s medical cannabis program are not subject to arrest,
prosecution, or any civil or administrative penalty, including a civil penalty or disciplinary
action by a professional licensing board, nor may they be denied any right or privilege, for
the medical use or possession of medical cannabis: (1) a qualifying patient who is in
possession of a 30-day supply of medical cannabis, or a greater amount if authorized by
the qualifying patient’s written certification; (2) a grower or grower agent; (3) a certifying
provider; (4) a caregiver; (5) a dispensary or dispensary agent; (6) a processor or processor
agent; (7) a hospital, medical facility, or hospice program where a qualifying patient is
receiving treatment; or (8) an authorized third-party vendor.

Probation

Probation is a disposition that allows an offender to remain in the community, frequently
requiring compliance with certain standards and special conditions of supervision imposed
by the court. A court has broad authority to impose reasonable conditions to fit each case.
A standard condition of probation, for example, prohibits the offender from engaging in
any further criminal activity. Additional conditions may require an offender to participate
in drug or alcohol treatment, refrain from the use of drugs or alcohol, participate in
counseling (common in domestic violence and sexual offense cases), pay restitution, or
refrain from contacting or harassing the victim of the crime and the victim’s family. A
judge may also order “custodial confinement,” which usually refers to home detention or
inpatient drug or alcohol treatment but can also include other forms of confinement short
of imprisonment.

If an offender is alleged to have violated a condition of probation, the offender is returned
to court for a violation of probation hearing. If the court finds that a violation occurred, it
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may revoke the probation and impose a sentence allowed by law. The court may alternately
choose to continue the offender on probation subject to any additional conditions it chooses
to impose. Probation may either be probation before judgment (commonly known as
“PBJ”) or probation following judgment.

Release on Mandatory Supervision

Release on mandatory supervision is a conditional release from confinement that results
from the application of diminution credits, discussed below, and applies only to an inmate
in a State correctional facility sentenced to a term of confinement exceeding 18 months.
An inmate in a State correctional facility serving a term of 18 months or less and an inmate
in a local detention center may also earn credits, but those inmates are not subject to
mandatory supervision on release. There is no discretion involved in release on mandatory
supervision.

Individuals on mandatory supervision are supervised by the Department of Public Safety
and Correctional Services (DPSCS) until the expiration of the term and are subject to the
same terms and conditions as inmates released on parole. See the discussion of parole
below.

The entire sentence imposed by a trial court often is not actually served in custody before
expiration of the sentence because diminution credits that may be awarded to an inmate
shorten the time required to be served in custody by the inmate. Diminution credits are
days of credit either granted or earned on a monthly basis. Inmates in State correctional
facilities and local detention centers are eligible for diminution credits. Credits may be
forfeited or restricted due to misbehavior in the institution.

Parole

In general, parole is a discretionary and conditional release from imprisonment determined
after a hearing for an inmate who is eligible to be considered for parole. If parole is granted,
the inmate is allowed to serve the remainder of the sentence in the community, subject to
the terms and conditions specified in a written parole order.

The Maryland Parole Commission (MPC) has jurisdiction regarding parole for eligible
inmates sentenced to State correctional facilities and local detention centers. Inmates in the
Patuxent Institution who are eligible for parole are under the jurisdiction of the
Patuxent Board of Review.

Any violation of a condition of release may result in revocation of parole. A violation is
classified as either a “technical” violation that is not a crime (e.g., failure to attend a
required meeting or failing to be employed) or a commission of a new crime. If a violation
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is alleged, MPC or DPSCS (if this power is delegated to the department in a particular case)
must decide whether to issue a subpoena or a retake warrant for purposes of a parole
revocation hearing. A subpoena is requested from the parole commission if the parole agent
believes that the offender is not a public safety threat and that the offender will not flee.
Otherwise, a parole agent must request a retake warrant, which subjects the individual to
arrest, and submit a written report to the commission on the alleged violation.

Maryland Consumer Protection Act

An unfair, abusive, or deceptive trade practice under MCPA includes, among other acts,
any false, falsely disparaging, or misleading oral or written statement, visual description,
or other representation of any kind which has the capacity, tendency, or effect of deceiving
or misleading consumers. The prohibition against engaging in any unfair, abusive, or
deceptive trade practice encompasses the offer for or actual sale, lease, rental, loan, or
bailment of any consumer goods, consumer realty, or consumer services; the extension of
consumer credit; the collection of consumer debt; or the offer for or actual purchase of
consumer goods or consumer realty from a consumer by a merchant whose business
includes paying off consumer debt in connection with the purchase of any consumer goods
or consumer realty from a consumer.

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) is
responsible for enforcing MCPA and investigating the complaints of aggrieved consumers.
The division may attempt to conciliate the matter, issue a cease and desist order, or file a
civil action in court. A merchant who violates MCPA is subject to a fine of up to $10,000
for each violation and up to $25,000 for each repetition of the same violation. In addition
to any civil penalties that may be imposed, any person who violates MCPA is guilty of a
misdemeanor and, on conviction, is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment
for up to one year.

State Fiscal Effect: The bill (1) authorizes specified entities to register with the
commission to purchase medical cannabis for research purposes; (2) requires the
commission to allow licensed medical cannabis dispensaries and processors to sell edible
cannabis products; (3) increases the length of time a medical cannabis license holder must
be actively engaged in the industry before selling or transferring ownership of the license;
(4) expands legal protections for individuals participating in the State’s medical cannabis
program; and (5) restricts medical cannabis advertising. As a result, special fund
expenditures for the commission increase by a total of $407,490 in fiscal 2020 for staff and
training costs.

Restricting the sale and transfer of medical cannabis licenses does not materially affect
State finances. Similarly, the expansion of legal protections for individuals participating in
the State’s medical cannabis program clarifies current law and is not anticipated to
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materially affect State finances or operations. The specific fiscal impacts associated with
the other portions of the bill are discussed below.

Academic Research Centers

The commission advises that several institutions of higher education in the State have
expressed interest in obtaining medical cannabis for research purposes. The commission
notes that it plans to charge a registration fee for academic institutions (as well as related
medical facilities and affiliated biomedical research firms) and their employees/agents
similar to the fee for registration of independent testing laboratories and their agents. The
current fee for an independent testing laboratory is $100, and the fee per agent/employee
is $200. Thus, special fund revenues may increase from registration fees, beginning as early
as fiscal 2019, but any increase is likely minimal. Correspondingly, the commission’s
workload increases minimally to review applications.

It is assumed that the commission can promulgate implementing regulations with existing
budgeted staff and resources.

State institutions of higher education and related medical facilities (as well as affiliated
biomedical research firms) may benefit from having access to medical cannabis from a
safe, secure, and highly regulated source for the purpose of conducting bona fide research
relating to the medical uses, properties, or composition of cannabis.

Administrative Expenditures Related to Edible Cannabis Products

Commission special fund expenditures increase by $296,787 in fiscal 2020, which accounts
for the bill’s emergency status, and assumes staff are hired effective July 1, 2019. This
estimate reflects the cost of hiring two full-time permanent environmental health specialists
and one permanent full-time director of food safety to oversee the expansion of edible
cannabis products, establish standard operating procedures, conduct inspections, assist
commissioners with enforcement, develop regulations, and provide guidance. It includes
salaries, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs (including travel and training), and ongoing
operating expenses. The information and assumptions used in calculating the estimate are
stated below.

° The commission does not currently have any staff trained in food safety or sanitation
and needs to conduct stability studies on edible cannabis products.
° The commission is responsible for ensuring that edible cannabis products are

properly labeled and dosages are clear to consumers and safe for use.
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Positions 3.0

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $266,242
Training and Associated Travel 14,000
Other Operating Expenses 16,545
FY 2020 Costs Related to Edible Cannabis Products $296,787

Future year expenditures reflect full salaries with annual increases and employee turnover
and ongoing operating expenses.

Since it is unknown whether the commission will determine if it is necessary to issue
permits to processors or dispensaries relating to edible cannabis products, this analysis does
not reflect any potential revenues or expenditures related to permits.

Administrative Expenditures to Implement and Enforce Advertising Restrictions

Special fund expenditures for the commission increase by $110,703 in fiscal 2020, which
accounts for the bill’s emergency status, and assumes staff is hired effective July 1, 2019.
This estimate reflects the cost of hiring one full-time permanent enforcement officer to
develop regulations, review and give advisory opinions on advertisements, and generally
enforce the bill’s requirements. It includes a salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs
(including attending a training course for four commission employees), and ongoing
operating expenses. The information and assumptions used in calculating the estimate are
stated below:

U The commission is responsible for enforcing the bill’s requirements.

° The commission does not have experience with enforcing advertising regulations
and cannot absorb the additional responsibilities under the bill with existing
budgeted staff and resources.

FY 2020 FY 2021
Position 1.0 -0.5
Salary and Fringe Benefits $93,144 $72,352
Training Expenses 12,200 -
Operating Expenses 5,359 625
Costs Related to Advertising Restrictions $110,703 $72,977

Future year expenditures reflect a full salary with annual increases and employee turnover
and going operating expenses. However, it is assumed that, as medical cannabis entities
become more familiar with the bill’s prohibitions and requirements, the enforcement
officer will need to provide fewer advisory opinions. Thus, the enforcement officer can
likely transition from a full-time to a part-time position after the first year; the costs for
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fiscal 2021 above reflect this assumption. Any further staffing requirements depend on the
enforcement procedures developed in the regulations.

OAG can handle enforcement related to unfair, abusive, or deceptive advertising under
MCPA with existing resources.

Small Business Effect: While there may be costs associated with retrofitting or building
a facility to meet any applicable regulations regarding production of edible cannabis
products, according to the commission, edible cannabis products are an extremely popular
form of ingestion and represent a large market share in other jurisdictions that regulate
medical cannabis. Thus, Maryland licensees can expect potentially significant increased
sales from edible cannabis products.

The bill may meaningfully affect medical cannabis entities’ ability to advertise in the State.
Many medical cannabis entities are small businesses. Additionally, since marijuana
remains illegal at the federal level, there are fewer scientific studies regarding the health
effects of the use of medical cannabis. Thus, the content of advertisements under the bill is
limited. The bill also limits the format and placement of advertisements. These restrictions
may negatively affect business operations and finances.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: SB 857 (Senator Zirkin) - Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative
Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - January 28, 2019
mag/jc Third Reader - April 8, 2019
Revised - Amendment(s) - April 8, 2019

Analysis by: Kathleen P. Kennedy Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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Appendix — Medical Cannabis

Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission

The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission is responsible for implementation
of the State’s medical cannabis program, which is intended to make medical cannabis
available to qualifying patients in a safe and effective manner. The program allows for the
licensure of growers, processors, and dispensaries and the registration of their agents, as
well as registration of independent testing laboratories and their agents. There is a
framework to certify health care providers (including physicians, dentists, podiatrists,
nurse practitioners, and nurse midwives), qualifying patients, and their caregivers to
provide qualifying patients with medical cannabis legally under State law via written
certification. Additionally, recent legislation extended legal protections to third-party
vendors authorized by the commission to test, transport, or dispose of medical cannabis,
medical cannabis products, and medical cannabis waste. In December 2018, the
commission proposed regulations that require registration of secure transportation
companies and address the shipment of products between licensees.

Controversy Over Geographic, Racial, and Ethnic Diversity

In August 2016, the commission announced the award of 15 grower and 15 processor
Stage One license pre-approvals. In December 2016, the commission announced the award
of 102 dispensary Stage One license pre-approvals. After the award announcements,
significant controversy involved two main issues: the decision to include geographic
diversity as a final factor in choosing the grower finalists and the absence of any
minority-led grower among the 15 Stage One approved grower finalists.

Legislation to alter the commission and medical cannabis industry was introduced during
the 2017 and 2018 sessions. Chapter 598 of 2018, an emergency bill, made a number of
significant reforms including (1) requiring outreach to encourage participation in the
medical cannabis industry by small, minority, and women business owners; (2) requiring
the commission to promulgate emergency remedial regulations based on the results of a
disparity study and delay reviewing, ranking, or evaluating license applications until the
regulations are adopted; (3) raising the statutory cap on grower licenses from 15 to 22;
(4) establishing a new license cap of 28 processors; and (5) requiring the commission to
report to the General Assembly regarding potential rules and regulations governing
marketing and advertising practices for licensees by January 1, 2019.

Pursuant to Chapter 598, in December 2018, the commission announced five grant awards
to educational and business development organizations to develop medical cannabis
educational and business development training programs. The programs are designed to
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provide training and assistance to small, minority, and women business owners and
entrepreneurs seeking to become licensed in Maryland’s medical cannabis industry.

Evaluation of Disparity Study and Conclusions

The disparity study evaluated in accordance with Chapter 598 concluded that there is a
compelling interest to implement remedial measures to assist minorities and women
seeking to participate in the medical cannabis industry. Based on these findings, the
commission submitted emergency regulations in October 2018. The regulations alter the
application review process for obtaining a medical cannabis grower, processor, and
dispensary license by implementing remedial measures to assist minorities and women in
the medical cannabis industry. The regulations also alter the current weighted criteria used
when ranking applicants for licenses to include certain race-neutral and race-conscious
provisions, addressing the needs of women and minority-owned applicants.

License and Ownership Transfers

Chapter 598 of 2018 also addressed the sale or transfer of ownership for regulated medical
cannabis entities. Specifically, a medical cannabis grower, processor, or dispensary license
holder may only transfer ownership of a license if the licensee was physically and actively
engaged in cultivating, processing, or dispensing medical cannabis for at least two years
immediately preceding the sale or transfer. Regulations require licensed growers,
processors, and dispensaries to (1) notify the commission of any proposed transfer of 5%
or more of an ownership interest; (2) submit criminal history and audited financial
information for the potential owner or transferee; (3) obtain written commission approval
of the transfer; and (4) pay a transfer fee. Statute prohibits the commission from issuing
more than one medical cannabis grower license to each applicant. Regulations specify that
license applicants may only have an interest in one of each type of license. In
February 2018, the commission issued a bulletin highlighting rules related to the sale or
transfer of a medical cannabis license. The bulletin also addressed third-party management
agreements, which some licensees have entered into to allow third parties to contract to
operate the licensee’s business without possessing an ownership stake.

Status of Medical Cannabis Implementation

As of January 9, 2019, the commission issued 15 final and 3 pre-approved grower licenses;
16 final and 2 pre-approved processor licenses; and 71 final and 31 pre-approved
dispensary licenses. Additionally, the commission has registered five independent
laboratories. The commission maintains a list of licensees on its website. Furthermore,
there were 79,427 registered patients, 54,236 certified patients, 4,890 caregivers, and
1,243 certifying providers. The commission reported that, in the first 13 months of sales,
there were $112.1 million in retail sales at medical cannabis dispensaries in the State.
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