## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 10**

P1, M1 HJ 8/11 – HRU

By: Delegate Mosby

Introduced and read first time: March 4, 2019 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

A House Joint Resolution concerning

## Commission to Rename Negro Mountain

FOR the purpose of establishing a commission to rename Negro Mountain; providing for the membership of the commission; requiring the commission to provide certain information to the Governor, the General Assembly, the Maryland State Archives, the Maryland Geological Survey, and the Department of Natural Resources on or before a certain date; and generally relating to establishing a commission to rename Negro Mountain.

WHEREAS, Negro Mountain is located in Garrett County, with its highest point reaching 3,075 feet; and

WHEREAS, It is believed that Negro Mountain is named in honor of an African American man named Nemesis, who gave his life on the mountain in the 1700s; and

WHEREAS, More study is needed to verify the history behind the naming of Negro Mountain and if the mountain is found to be named for Nemesis then the name of the mountain should be changed to Nemesis Mountain in his honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Governor, in consultation with the Maryland State Archives, the Maryland Geological Survey, and the Department of Natural Resources, shall establish a commission to rename Negro Mountain in Garrett County; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the commission be composed of an appropriate number of members appointed by the Governor; and be it further

RESOLVED, That, on or before December 31, 2019, the commission inform the Governor, the General Assembly, the Maryland State Archives, the Maryland Geological Survey, and the Department of Natural Resources of the new name that was selected for Negro Mountain; and be it further



RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of Maryland; the Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker of the House of Delegates.