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§11–110. 

 

 (a) All common profits shall be disbursed to the unit owners, be credited to 

their assessments for common expenses in proportion to their percentage interests in 

common profits and common expenses, or be used for any other purpose as the council 

of unit owners decides. 

 

 (b) (1) Funds for the payment of current common expenses and for the 

creation of reserves for the payment of future common expenses shall be obtained by 

assessments against the unit owners in proportion to their percentage interests in 

common expenses and common profits. 

 

  (2) (i) Where provided in the declaration or the bylaws, charges 

for utility services may be assessed and collected on the basis of usage rather than on 

the basis of percentage interests. 

 

   (ii) If provided by the declaration, assessments for expenses 

related to maintenance of the limited common elements may be charged to the unit 

owner or owners who are given the exclusive right to use the limited common 

elements. 

 

   (iii) Assessments for charges under this paragraph may be 

enforced in the same manner as assessments for common expenses. 

 

 (c) A unit owner shall be liable for all assessments, or installments thereof, 

coming due while he is the owner of a unit. In a voluntary grant the grantee shall be 

jointly and severally liable with the grantor for all unpaid assessments against the 

grantor for his share of the common expenses up to the time of the voluntary grant 

for which a statement of lien is recorded, without prejudice to the rights of the grantee 

to recover from the grantor the amounts paid by the grantee for such assessments. 

Liability for assessments may not be avoided by waiver of the use or enjoyment of 

any common element or by abandonment of the unit for which the assessments are 

made. 

 

 (d) (1) Payment of assessments, together with interest, late charges, if 

any, costs of collection and reasonable attorney’s fees may be enforced by the 

imposition of a lien on a unit in accordance with the provisions of the Maryland 

Contract Lien Act. 
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  (2) Suit for any deficiency following foreclosure may be maintained 

in the same proceeding, and suit to recover any money judgment for unpaid 

assessments may also be maintained in the same proceeding, without waiving the 

right to seek to impose a lien under the Maryland Contract Lien Act. 

 

 (e) (1) Any assessment, or installment thereof, not paid when due shall 

bear interest, at the option of the council of unit owners, from the date when due until 

paid at the rate provided in the bylaws, not exceeding 18 percent per annum, and if 

no rate is provided, then at 18 percent per annum. 

 

  (2) The bylaws also may provide for a late charge of $15 or one tenth 

of the total amount of any delinquent assessment or installment, whichever is 

greater, provided the charge may not be imposed more than once for the same 

delinquent payment and may only be imposed if the delinquency has continued for at 

least 15 calendar days. 

 

  (3) If the declaration or bylaws provide for an annual assessment 

payable in regular installments, the declaration or bylaws may further provide that 

if a unit owner fails to pay an installment when due, the council of unit owners may 

demand payment of the remaining annual assessment coming due within that fiscal 

year. A demand by the council is not enforceable unless the council, within 15 days of 

a unit owner’s failure to pay an installment, notifies the unit owner that if the unit 

owner fails to pay the monthly installment within 15 days of the notice, full payment 

of the remaining annual assessment will then be due and shall constitute a lien on 

the unit as provided in this section. 

 

 (f) (1) This subsection does not limit or affect the priority of any lien, 

secured interest, or other encumbrance with priority that is held by or for the benefit 

of, purchased by, assigned to, or securing any indebtedness to: 

 

   (i) The State or any county or municipal corporation in the 

State; 

 

   (ii) Any unit of State government or the government of any 

county or municipal corporation in the State; or 

 

   (iii) An instrumentality of the State or any county or municipal 

corporation in the State. 

 

  (2) In the case of a foreclosure of a mortgage or deed of trust on a unit 

in a condominium, a portion of the condominium’s liens on the unit, as prescribed in 

paragraph (3) of this subsection, shall have priority over a claim of the holder of a 

first mortgage or a first deed of trust that is recorded against the unit on or after 

October 1, 2011. 
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  (3) The portion of the condominium’s liens that has priority under 

paragraph (2) of this subsection: 

 

   (i) Shall consist solely of not more than 4 months, or the 

equivalent of 4 months, of unpaid regular assessments for common expenses that are 

levied by the condominium in accordance with the requirements of the declaration or 

bylaws of the condominium; 

 

   (ii) May not include: 

 

    1. Interest; 

 

    2. Costs of collection; 

 

    3. Late charges; 

 

    4. Fines; 

 

    5. Attorney’s fees; 

 

    6. Special assessments; or 

 

    7. Any other costs or sums due under the declaration 

or bylaws of the condominium or as provided under any contract, law, or court order; 

and 

 

   (iii) May not exceed a maximum of $1,200. 

 

  (4) (i) Subject to subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph, at the 

request of the holder of a first mortgage or first deed of trust on a unit in a 

condominium, the governing body shall provide to the holder written information 

about the portion of any lien filed under the Maryland Contract Lien Act that has 

priority as prescribed under paragraph (3) of this subsection, including information 

that is sufficient to allow the holder to determine the basis for the portion of the lien 

that has priority. 

 

   (ii) At the time of making a request under subparagraph (i) of 

this paragraph, the holder shall provide the governing body of the condominium with 

the written contact information of the holder. 

 

   (iii) If the governing body of the condominium fails to provide 

written information to the holder under subparagraph (i) of this paragraph within 30 

days after the filing of the statement of lien among the land records of each county in 
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which the condominium is located, the portion of the condominium’s liens does not 

have priority as prescribed under paragraph (2) of this subsection. 
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