## Chapter 545

## (Senate Bill 292)

AN ACT concerning

### **Tri-County Council for Western Maryland - Membership**

FOR the purpose of altering how certain members of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland are appointed; and generally relating to the membership of the Tri-County Council for Western Maryland.

BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, Article – Economic Development Section 13–701 and 13–702(a) Annotated Code of Maryland (2018 Replacement Volume and 2019 Supplement)

BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Economic Development Section 13–703 Annotated Code of Maryland (2018 Replacement Volume and 2019 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

#### **Article – Economic Development**

#### 13 - 701.

(a) In this subtitle the following words have the meanings indicated.

(b) "Commissioners" means the Board of County Commissioners of Allegany County, Garrett County, or Washington County, respectively.

(c) "Council" means the Tri–County Council for Western Maryland.

(d) "Executive Director" means the Executive Director of the Council.

(e) "Member county" means each county in the region that pays annual dues that the Council sets.

- (f) "Plan" means a regional plan that the Council prepares for the region.
- (g) "Region" means Allegany, Garrett, and Washington counties.

#### Ch. 545

13-702.

(a) There is a Tri–County Council for Western Maryland.

13-703.

(a) The Council consists of the following 26 members:

(1) two commissioners from each member county;

(2) the Director of Economic Development from each member county;

(3) two mayors from each member county or their representatives, appointed by [the respective chapters of the Maryland Municipal League for each member county] THE COMMISSIONERS FROM THEIR RESPECTIVE MEMBER COUNTY;

(4) the chair of each member county's legislative delegation to the House of Delegates, or the chair's designee;

(5) the two members of the Senate of Maryland representing the member counties in Districts 1 and 2;

(6) six private citizens, two from each member county, who are:

(i) appointed by their respective commissioners;

(ii) not listed under paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (5) of this n; and

subsection; and

(iii) neither elected officials nor employees of a unit of local government.

(b) (1) A member who qualifies because of the member's elected or appointed position is a member of the Council only during the member's term of office in the elected or appointed position.

(2) A member appointed:

(i) under subsection (a)(3) of this section, serves at the pleasure of the commissioners for the county that the member represents;

(ii) under subsection (a)(4) of this section, shall reside in the member county that the member represents; and

(iii) under subsection (a)(6) of this section:

1. serves at the pleasure of the commissioners who appointed the member; and

2. has the same term as the commissioners who appointed r.

the member.

(3) At the end of a term, a member continues to serve until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

(4) Except for an ex officio member, a member who is appointed after a term has begun serves only for the rest of the term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2020.

# Enacted under Article II, § 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution, May 8, 2020.