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Criminal Law - Sexual Crimes - Repeal of Spousal Defense 
 

   

This bill repeals an exemption from prosecution for specified sexual crimes if, at the time 

of the alleged rape or sexual offense, the person was the victim’s legal spouse. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund expenditures due to the bill’s expanded 

application of existing penalty provisions. The bill does not materially affect State 

revenues. 

  

Local Effect:  Minimal increase in incarceration expenditures due to the bill’s expanded 

application of existing penalty provisions. Potential increase in local law enforcement 

expenditures, as discussed below. Revenues are not materially affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  In general, a person may not be prosecuted under § 3-303 (rape in the 

first degree), § 3-304 (rape in the second degree), § 3-307 (sexual offense in the 

third degree), or § 3-308 (sexual offense in the fourth degree) of the Criminal Law Article 

for a crime against a victim who was the person’s legal spouse at the time of the alleged 

rape or sexual offense.         

 

However, a person may be prosecuted under § 3-303 (a) (rape in the first degree – in 

general), § 3-304 (a)(1) (rape in the second degree – vaginal intercourse or sexual act with 

another by force or threat of force without the consent of the other), or 
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§ 3-307 (a)(1) (sexual offense in the third degree – engaging in nonconsensual sexual 

contact while meeting other specified criteria related to weapons, infliction of serious 

physical injury, threats, and being aided or abetted by another) if: 

 

 at the time of the alleged crime, the person and the person’s legal spouse have lived 

apart, without cohabitation and without interruption (1) under a written separation 

agreement executed by the person and the spouse or (2) for at least three months 

immediately before the alleged rape or sexual offense; or 

 the person, in committing the crime, uses force or threat of force and the act is 

without the consent of the spouse. 

 

A person may be prosecuted for the commission of first-degree rape, second-degree rape, 

third-degree sexual offense, or fourth-degree sexual offense against the person’s legal 

spouse if at the time of the alleged crime the person and the spouse lived apart, without 

cohabitation and without interruption, under a decree of limited divorce. 

 

The applicable penalties for the sexual crimes mentioned above are: 

 

 § 3-303 (rape in the first degree):  felony, imprisonment not exceeding life 

(imprisonment for life without the possibility of parole applies to violations 

involving a child younger than age 16 and subsequent offenders); 

 § 3-304 (rape in the second degree):  felony, imprisonment for up to 20 years; 

 § 3-307 (sexual offense in the third degree):  felony, imprisonment for up to 

10 years; and  

 § 3-308 (sexual offense in the fourth degree):  misdemeanor, imprisonment for up 

to 1 year and/or $1,000 maximum fine (3 years and/or $1,000 for subsequent 

offenders). 

 

Background:  In the 1980s and 1990s, a surge of marital rape laws were passed, making 

it a crime in all 50 states. However, loopholes still remain in several states, including 

Maryland. Recently, the Governor of Minnesota signed a law that repeals Minnesota’s 

marital rape exception. In Minnesota, the repealed law protected a rapist if he or she 

cohabited and had a voluntary sexual relationship with the victim or if he or she was the 

victim’s spouse. If the couple lived apart and one of them had filed for legal separation or 

dissolution of marriage, the law did not apply.  

 

The Judiciary advises that during fiscal 2019 there were 19 guilty dispositions for a 

violation of § 3-303 (rape in the first degree); 113 guilty dispositions for a violation of 

§ 3-304 (rape in the second degree); 214 guilty dispositions for a violation of 

§ 3-307 (sexual offense in the third degree); and 95 guilty dispositions for a violation of 
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§ 3-308 (sexual offense in the fourth degree). Data is not available on what, if any, 

relationship existed between the victim and the defendant in these cases.    

 

State Expenditures:  Information is not available on the number of cases that were not 

prosecuted as a result of the provisions repealed by the bill. Assuming that the spousal 

exemption under § 3-318 of the Criminal Law Article applies to a small number of cases, 

general fund expenditures increase minimally as a result of the bill’s expanded application 

of existing incarceration penalties due to more people being committed to State 

correctional facilities. The number of people convicted as a result of the bill is expected to 

be minimal.   

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities. Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$3,700 per month. Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than 

Baltimore City are sentenced to local detention facilities. For persons sentenced to a term 

of between 12 and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the 

sentence be served at a local facility or a State correctional facility. The State provides 

assistance to the counties for locally sentenced inmates and for (1) inmates who are 

sentenced to and awaiting transfer to the State correctional system; (2) sentenced inmates 

confined in a local detention center between 12 and 18 months; and (3) inmates who have 

been sentenced to the custody of the State but are confined in or who receive reentry or 

other prerelease programming and services from a local facility.   

 

The State does not pay for pretrial detention time in a local correctional facility. Persons 

sentenced in Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in State correctional facilities. The 

Baltimore Pretrial Complex, a State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial 

detentions.  

 

The Office of the Public Defender (OPD) advises that the bill increases agency caseloads 

and that it would seek to hire additional staff to manage its caseloads. However, 

OPD provided no information on the bill’s anticipated effect on the agency’s caseloads and 

noted that it cannot calculate the bill’s impact on its expenditures. The Department of 

Legislative Services advises that the bill is unlikely to generate enough additional cases to 

warrant the hiring of additional attorneys.   

 

Local Expenditures:  Expenditures increase minimally as a result of the bill’s expanded 

application of existing incarceration penalties. Counties pay the full cost of incarceration 

for people in their facilities for the first 12 months of the sentence. Per diem operating costs 

of local detention facilities have ranged from approximately $40 to $170 per inmate in 

recent years.  
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Local expenditures for law enforcement departments may increase if the bill results in 

additional investigations. For example, Charles County advises that the bill may increase 

investigations into potential sex crimes, facilitating the need for an additional officer at an 

estimated cost of $201,515 in fiscal 2021. Montgomery County advises that the bill affects 

patrol and investigations for its police department, but cannot quantify the effect at this 

time. 

 

The Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association advises that the bill has no fiscal or 

operational effect on prosecutors. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 958 of 2019 received a hearing in the House Judiciary 

Committee, but no further action was taken.  

 

Designated Cross File:  HB 590 (Delegate Crutchfield, et al.) - Judiciary. 

 

Information Source(s):  Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Charles, and Montgomery counties; 

Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary (Administrative 

Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Maryland State’s Attorneys’ 

Association; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Reuters; Department 

of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 28, 2020 

 an/aad 

 

Analysis by:   Hillary J. Cleckler  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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