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Judiciary Judicial Proceedings

Public Safety — Lost or Stolen Regulated Firearm — Reporting

This bill increases the penalties applicable to the knowing and willful failure to report the
loss or theft of a regulated firearm, as specified, by the owner of a regulated firearm. The
maximum civil penalty of a $500 fine for a first-time violator is repealed; instead, a
first-time violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of
imprisonment for six months and/or a fine of $1,000. In addition, the maximum penalty for
a second or subsequent violation, which remains a misdemeanor, is increased from 90 days
imprisonment and/or a fine of $500 to one year imprisonment and/or a fine of $2,000.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s
increased monetary penalty provisions. Expenditures are not anticipated to be affected.

Local Effect: Potential minimal increase in local expenditures due to the bill’s increased
incarceration penalty provisions. Revenues are not likely affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A dealer or any other person who sells or transfers a regulated firearm must
notify the purchaser or recipient of the firearm at the time of purchase or transfer that the

purchaser or recipient is required to report a lost or stolen firearm to the local
law enforcement agency.



If a regulated firearm is lost or stolen, the owner of the firearm must report the loss or theft
to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after the owner first discovers the loss
or theft. On receipt of a report of a lost or stolen firearm, a local law enforcement agency
must report to the Secretary of State Police and enter into the National Crime Information
Center database, to the extent known, the caliber, make, model, manufacturer, and
serial number of the firearm and any other distinguishing number or identification mark on
the firearm.

A knowing and willful first-time violation of these provisions is a civil offense punishable
by a fine of up to $500. A second or subsequent violation is a misdemeanor, punishable by
imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a fine of up to $500. The imposition of a civil or
criminal penalty does not preclude the pursuit of any other civil remedy or criminal
prosecution authorized by law.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: SB 1050 (Senator Sydnor, et al.) - Judicial Proceedings.

Information Source(s): Anne Arundel, Charles, and Frederick counties; Maryland State
Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the
Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association;
Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of State Police;
Department of Legislative Services
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