# **Department of Legislative Services**

Maryland General Assembly 2020 Session

### FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE Enrolled - Revised

House Bill 601 (Delegate Ghrist, *et al.*)

Health and Government Operations

Finance

### Health Insurance – Provider Panels – Providers of Community–Based Health Services

This bill prohibits a carrier from rejecting a provider who provides community-based health services for an accredited program for participation on the carrier's provider panel because the provider practices within the scope of the provider's license and holds a specified license or credential, including registered psychology associate.

## **Fiscal Summary**

State Effect: The bill does not substantively change State activities or operations.

Local Effect: Local government finances and operations are not directly affected.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful.

# **Analysis**

**Current Law:** Chapter 551 of 2019 prohibits a carrier from rejecting a provider who provides community-based health services for an accredited program for participation on the carrier's provider panel solely because the provider is a licensed graduate social worker, a licensed master social worker, a licensed graduate alcohol and drug counselor, a licensed graduate marriage and family therapist, a licensed graduate professional art therapist, or a licensed graduate professional counselor.

#### Carrier Provider Panel Application Process

A provider seeking to participate on a carrier's provider panel must submit an application to the carrier. Within 30 days after receipt of a completed application, a carrier must send the provider a written notice of the carrier's intent to continue to process the provider's application or the carrier's rejection of the provider for participation on the carrier's provider panel. If a carrier provides notice to the provider of its intent to continue to process the provider's application, the carrier must, within 120 days after the date the notice is provided, accept or reject the provider for participation and send written notice of the acceptance or rejection to the provider.

#### Accredited Community Behavioral Health Programs

Under Maryland regulations (COMAR 10.63.02.02), the following community behavioral health programs require an accreditation-based license to operate in Maryland: (1) group homes for adults with mental illness; (2) integrated behavioral health programs; (3) intensive outpatient treatment level 2.1 programs; (4) mobile treatment services programs; (5) outpatient mental health center programs; (6) outpatient treatment level 1 programs; (7) partial hospitalization treatment level 2.5 programs; (8) psychiatric day treatment programs; (9) psychiatric rehabilitation programs for adults; (10) psychiatric rehabilitation programs for minors; (11) residential crisis services programs; (12) residential: low intensity level 3.1 programs; (13) residential: medium intensity level 3.3 programs; (14) residential: high intensity level 3.5 programs; (15) residential: intensive level 3.7 programs; (16) residential rehabilitation programs; (17) respite care services programs; and (18) supported employment programs.

#### Registered Psychology Associates

A psychology associate must be registered by the State Board of Examiners of Psychologists to practice psychology in the State and may practice only if supervised by a licensed psychologist. To qualify as a registered psychology associate, an applicant must meet specified educational requirements (a minimum of a master's degree in specified fields of study), successfully pass the State law examination, and submit to a criminal history records check.

**Small Business Effect:** Small business community-based health care providers may be able to increase the number of their providers participating on carrier provider panels and subsequently submit for additional insurance reimbursement.

### **Additional Information**

**Prior Introductions:** None.

**Desingated Cross File:** None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Insurance Administration; Department of Legislative

Services

**Fiscal Note History:** First Reader - February 4, 2020 rh/ljm Third Reader - February 21, 2020

Enrolled - March 31, 2020

Revised - Amendment(s) - March 31, 2020

Analysis by: Jennifer B. Chasse Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510