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Maryland Healthy Working Families Act - Applicability 
 

   

This bill exempts from the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act an employee who is 

called to work by a local board of education on an as-needed basis, can reject or accept the 

shift offered, and is not guaranteed to be called on to work by the local board of education.  

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The Maryland Department of Labor (MDL) can implement the bill with 

existing resources. Revenues are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  Local school boards may realize annual personnel cost savings beginning 

in FY 2021 from not providing substitute employees with earned sick and safe leave. Local 

revenues are not affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act took effect as Chapter 1 of 

2018 on February 11, 2018. Under Chapter 1, an “employer” includes the State or local 

governments and a person who acts directly or indirectly in the interest of another employer 

with an employee. Chapter 1 of 2018 does not apply to employees who regularly work less 

than 12 hours a week, specified independent contractors, specified associate real estate 

brokers and real estate salespersons, individuals younger than age 18 before the beginning 

of the year, workers in a specified agricultural sector, construction workers (not including 

specified employees) covered in a collective bargaining agreement in which the Act’s 

requirements are clearly waived, specified employees who work on an as-needed basis in 
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a health or human services industry, or specified employees of a temporary service or 

employment agency. 

 

Leave Accrual Rates 

 

Chapter 1 requires an employer with 15 or more employees to have a sick and safe leave 

policy under which an employee earns at least 1 hour of paid sick and safe leave, at the 

same rate as the employee normally earns, for every 30 hours an employee works. An 

employer with 14 or fewer employees, based on the average monthly number of employees 

during the preceding year, must at least have a sick and safe leave policy that provides an 

employee with at least 1 hour of unpaid sick and safe leave for every 30 hours an employee 

works. An employer is not required to allow an employee to earn or carry over more than 

40 hours of earned sick and safe leave in a year, use more than 64 hours of earned leave in 

a year, accrue more than 64 hours at any time, or use earned sick and safe leave during the 

first 106 calendar days the employee works for the employer. An employer is not required 

to carry over unused earned sick and safe leave if the leave is awarded at the beginning of 

each year.  

   

An employer is not required to allow an employee to accrue earned sick and safe leave 

during (1) a two-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours total; 

(2) a one-week pay period if the employee worked fewer than a total of 24 hours in the 

current and immediately preceding pay period; or (3) a pay period in which the employee 

is paid twice a month and the employee worked fewer than 26 hours in the pay period. 

 

An employer must allow an employee to use earned sick and safe leave: 

 

 to care for or treat the employee’s mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 

 to obtain preventive medical care for the employee or employee’s family member;  

 

 to care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 

 for maternity or paternity leave; and 

 

 for specified circumstances due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking 

committed against the employee or the employee’s family member. 

 

An employer is not required to compensate an employee for unused earned sick and safe 

leave when the employee leaves the employer’s employment. An employer that rehires an 

employee within 37 weeks after leaving employment is required to reinstate any unused 

earned sick and safe leave that had accrued at the time of separation unless the employer 
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voluntarily paid out the unused earned sick and safe leave. An employer is not required to 

modify an existing paid leave policy if (1) the terms and conditions are at least equivalent 

to those under the law or (2) the paid leave policy does not reduce employee compensation 

for an absence due to sick or safe leave. An employer is not prevented from establishing a 

policy that allows employees to voluntarily exchange assigned work hours. An employer 

is not prohibited from adopting and enforcing a policy that prohibits the improper use of 

earned sick and safe leave. An employer may deny a request to take earned sick and safe 

leave under specified circumstances related to the disruption of the employer’s business or 

provision of services to an individual with a developmental disability or mental illness.  

 

An employer may require an employee who uses earned sick and safe leave for more than 

two consecutive scheduled shifts to provide verification that the leave was used 

appropriately. An employer may also require verification under specified circumstances 

when the leave is used during the period between the first 107 and 120 calendar days that 

employee was employed by the employer.  

 

Required Recordkeeping 

 

An employer must keep relevant records for at least three years, and the Commissioner of 

Labor and Industry may inspect an employer’s records regarding earned sick and safe 

leave. There is a rebuttable presumption that an employer has violated the earned sick and 

safe leave provisions if the employer fails to either keep records or allow the commissioner 

to inspect records. The commissioner may waive a civil penalty if the penalty was assessed 

for a violation that was due to an error caused by a third-party payroll service provider with 

whom the employer in good faith contracted for services.  

 

Enforcement Provisions 

 

If an employee believes that an employer has violated the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act, the employee may file a written complaint with the commissioner. The 

commissioner must conduct an investigation and attempt to resolve the issue informally 

through mediation within 90 days of the written complaint. If the commissioner is unable 

to resolve the issue through mediation and determines that an employer has violated a 

provision of the law, the commissioner must issue an order, subject to the hearing and 

notice requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. The order must describe the 

violation and direct the payment of the full monetary value of any unpaid earned sick and 

safe leave and any actual economic damages. The order may, in the commissioner’s 

discretion, direct the payment of an additional amount of up to three times the value of the 

employee’s hourly wage for each violation and assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for 

each employee for whom the employer is not in compliance. If an employer does not 

comply with an order within 30 days of the issuance of the order, the commissioner may 

ask the Attorney General to bring an action – either on behalf of the employee (with the 
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employee’s written consent) or to enforce the order for the civil penalty – in the county 

where the employer is located. 

 

In addition, within three years of the order, an employee may bring a civil action to enforce 

the order in the county where the employer is located. If an employee prevails in such an 

action to enforce an order, the court may award three times the value of the employee’s 

unpaid earned sick and safe leave, punitive damages in an amount determined by the court, 

reasonable legal fees, injunctive relief if appropriate, and any other appropriate relief.  

 

A person may not interfere with the exercise of, or the attempt to exercise, any right given 

under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. An employer may not take adverse 

action or discriminate against an employee because the employee exercised in good faith 

the rights granted by the Act. Additionally, an employer may not interfere with, restrain, 

or deny an employee exercising rights provided under the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act or apply a specified absence control policy that could lead to adverse action. 

An employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges a violation under the Act is 

protected. An employee may not, in bad faith, file a complaint with the commissioner 

alleging a violation, bring an action, or testify in an action regarding earned sick and safe 

leave. An employee who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and on 

conviction is subject to a maximum $1,000 fine.  

 

Background:  The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act under current law does not 

specifically exempt employees who work on an as-needed basis, except for specified 

employees in the health or human services industry. However, MDL notes that the law is 

difficult to apply to these types of employees no matter in which industry they work. If an 

employee is not scheduled for work and needs to not work a shift in order to care for needs 

covered under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act, the employee does not need 

to use accrued hours of leave because the employee was not scheduled to work. If an 

employer calls one of these substitute employees who is not available for work, the 

employee already has the ability to attend to their covered needs.  

 

The Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance within MDL was established to assist 

small businesses in complying with the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. Any 

employer or employee with specific questions relating to the law can email their questions 

to small.business@maryland.gov. 

 

Local Expenditures:  Local school boards may realize annual personnel cost savings 

beginning in fiscal 2021 from not providing substitute teachers with earned sick and safe 

leave. For example, Frederick County Public Schools estimates it saves $119,100 on an 

annual basis from not providing paid sick and safe leave to substitute employees. 

Baltimore City Public Schools and Wicomico County Public Schools estimate saving 

approximately $290,000 and $81,000, respectively, on an annual basis. Both Montgomery 
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County Public Schools and Baltimore County Public Schools each estimate savings of at 

least $1.1 million on an annual basis. Thus, the bill eases some of the financial burden on 

local school systems and operational challenges posed when substitute staff use leave.     

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 686 of 2019 received a hearing in the Senate Finance Committee, 

but no further action was taken. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Association of Counties; Maryland State Department 

of Education; Maryland Department of Labor; Baltimore City Public Schools; 

Baltimore County Public Schools; Montgomery County Public Schools; Frederick County 

Public Schools; Wicomico County Public Schools; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 11, 2020 

 mr/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. MacDonagh  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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