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This bill requires the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT), by 

January 1, 2021, to (1) review the filing fees and associated requirements of neighboring 

states that are equivalent or substantially similar to filing fees in Maryland and (2) report 

recommendations to the General Assembly that would make Maryland more competitive 

with neighboring states, including whether to establish less frequent filing requirements, 

decrease fees, or establish a sliding fee scale. 
   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. SDAT can handle the bill’s reporting requirements with existing 

budgeted resources.  
  
Local Effect:  None.     
  

Small Business Effect:  None.     
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal 

property that is imposed and collected by local governments. Personal property generally 

includes business property including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, 

machinery, tools, supplies, inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. 

To provide for uniform assessments, SDAT is responsible for assessing all 

personal property. Each county or municipal government is responsible for issuing the tax 

bills and collecting the tax. The tax year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. The 

personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 when the State tax rate 

on personal property was set at zero.  
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At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include 

personal property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The “date of 

finality” is the date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax 

purposes. Since 2017, all tax returns have been filed electronically. An annual report fee is 

required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee is 

for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State. Exhibit 1 identifies 

the amount of the report fee that each legal entity is required to pay. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Annual Reporting Fee Requirement 
 

Business Entity Fee  Business Entity Fee 

Stock Corp $300  Domestic Statutory Trust $300 

NonStock Corp 0  Foreign Statutory Trust 300 

Foreign Insurance Corp 300  Real Estate Investment Trust 300 

Foreign Interstate Corp 0  Certified Family Farm 100 

Limited Liability Company 300  Sole Proprietorship 0 

Limited Liability Partnership 300  General Partnership 0 

Limited Partnership 300  Amended Return 0 

    

 

Surrounding States 

 

Among surrounding states, the District of Columbia requires for profit business entities to 

pay a $300 fee to file a biennial report; nonprofit business entities pay an $80 fee. In 

New Jersey, most for profit business entities pay an annual report filing fee of $75 and 

nonprofit corporations pay a $30 annual fee. Pennsylvania requires business entities to file 

a report every 10 years and pay a $70 fee. Nonstock corporations in Virginia must pay a 

$25 annual registration fee. Stock corporations pay an annual fee ranging from $100 to 

$1,700, depending on the authorized shares of the corporation. West Virginia requires most 

business entities to file an annual report and a $25 fee. Limited liability partnerships must 

pay a $500 annual fee.        

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 359 (Senator Serafini, et al.) - Budget and Taxation. 
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Information Source(s):  State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 4, 2020 

Third Reader - March 13, 2020 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 13, 2020 
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Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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