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Vehicle Laws - Registration Plates 
 

 

This bill institutes a one-registration plate requirement, repealing the requirement to 

display both a front and rear registration plate for most vehicle classes. The registration 

plate must be attached to the rear of most classes of vehicles. The bill also prohibits a 

person from knowingly violating the term of issuance for any Class L (Historic) vehicle 

registration plate. A first violation must be enforced by the issuance of a warning. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures decrease significantly, by as 

much as $761,700 in FY 2021 and $1.0 million beginning in FY 2022 due to reduced 

production and postage costs associated with scaling down to a single-registration plate 

requirement. Nonbudgeted revenues decrease, likely significantly, from an increase in 

unpaid tolls at facilities using electronic tolling. General fund revenues decrease beginning 

in FY 2021 due to the elimination of penalties collected for driving with one registration 

plate. 

  
(in dollars) FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025 

GF Revenue (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

NonBud Rev. (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

SF Expenditure ($761,700) ($1,015,600) ($1,015,600) ($1,015,600) ($1,015,600) 

Net Effect $761,700 $1,015,600 $1,015,600 $1,015,600 $1,015,600   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 
 

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances.  

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  All vehicles are required to display two registration plates, unless they are 

in one of five vehicle classes. Class D (motorcycle), Class F (tractor), and Class G (trailer) 

vehicles are exempt from the two registration plate requirement. In addition, a 

Class L (historic) or Class N (street rod) vehicle is exempt if the vehicle was manufactured 

50 years or more before the current model year. Class F vehicles are required to display the 

registration plate on the front of the vehicle. Historic and antique vehicles must display a 

current registration plate in the place provided on the vehicle. In addition, the Motor 

Vehicle Administration (MVA) must issue only one plate for vehicles with temporary 

registration. 

 

An owner of a motor vehicle may not drive the vehicle or permit it to be driven on any 

highway in Maryland without validated registration plates, unless otherwise expressly 

authorized by MVA. Expired registration plates may not be displayed. A violation of these 

provisions is a misdemeanor, subject to a fine of up to $500 or a prepayment fine of $70. 

 

Background:  According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of 

June 2016, 19 states, including Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, allow 

one registration plate to be issued for most vehicles. The remaining 31 states and the 

District of Columbia require two plates. Several states only require one plate for certain 

types of vehicles such as motorcycles, trailers, or all-terrain vehicles.  

 

According to a 2012 study by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the issuance of 

two license plates created fiscal and other resource efficiencies in the areas of enforcement, 

tolling, parking, and homeland security. For example, the study reported that, in Virginia, 

23% of toll violations could not be pursued because the rear plates were unreadable. The 

study also reported that, in field studies using advanced vehicle identification technology, 

the registration plate identification rate for moving vehicles was 89% in Maryland, 

compared with 22% in Pennsylvania where only a single registration plate is required. 

 

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) advised in 2018 that 

the Maryland Correctional Enterprises (MCE) was providing employment to about 

70 inmates at the license tag plant located at the Jessup Correctional Institution. The 

employment opportunity provided by the plant enhances safety and security at the 

institution by reducing idleness and improves employment opportunities for inmates upon 

release. DPSCS advised that a one-plate standard could jeopardize these goals. 

 

The Department of State Police advises that the front plate is important for investigators 

and allows officers and civilian witnesses to easily identify and report vehicles suspected 

to be involved in criminal activities, missing persons, hit and run collisions, or other 

investigations involving motor vehicles. 
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State Expenditures:  TTF expenditures decrease significantly, by as much as $761,723 in 

fiscal 2021, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2020 effective date. This estimate 

reflects the savings from procuring and sending fewer registration plates. The information 

and assumptions used in calculating the estimate are stated below: 

  

 Issuance of new and replacement plates remains constant. 

 The cost of procuring registration plates from MCE decreases; according to MVA, 

that cost drops by about $750,609 in fiscal 2021.  

 The cost of plates is flat in future years.  

 Approximately 26,000 sets of plates continue to be mailed to customers each year, 

but each set consists of only one plate rather than two plates. 

 The current cost to ship one plate, as opposed to two, decreases by $0.57, which 

results in additional savings, and these savings remain the same in future years. 

 

According to MVA, future savings reflect annualization and are assumed to total 

$1,015,630 each year.  

 

State Revenues:  Nonbudgeted revenues decrease significantly as the toll collection rate 

at Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) facilities likely decreases significantly. 

MDTA advises that it uses camera images of both the front and rear license plate to identify 

vehicles passing through toll facilities. If the rear plate is obscured or the image is distorted, 

MDTA relies on the front plate to determine who owes the toll. MDTA has conducted an 

analysis of the effect of vehicles displaying only one registration plate and, based on the 

number of vehicles that would not have been charged the appropriate toll in fiscal 2017 

and based on 2016 toll rates, a single-plate standard could be expected to result in a loss of 

$15.6 million in nonbudgeted revenues in the first full fiscal year. However, the 

Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises that the actual revenue loss may be a 

fraction of this estimated amount, as the bill pertains only to the issuance of new 

registration plates, and many vehicles may continue to display two plates for many years 

following the bill’s effective date. 

 

General fund revenues may also decrease beginning in fiscal 2021 due to the elimination 

of penalties under the Maryland Vehicle Law for driving with only one registration plate. 

For illustrative purposes only, general fund revenues may decrease by about $164,811 in 

fiscal 2021 and $219,748 annually thereafter, which reflects the following assumptions: 

 

 The number and percentage of violations resulting in a prepaid fine in fiscal 2021 

and future years would otherwise remain constant at the fiscal 2019 level (3,316 and 

67.0%). 

 One-half of the violations for failure to display two registration plates in accordance 

with current law are attributed to driving with only one registration plate. 
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 The conviction rate in contested cases is 50% and results in the payment of a fine of 

one-half the statutory maximum (i.e., $250). 

 Fines and penalties in fiscal 2021 and future years remain at current levels. 

 

The provisions related to Class L (Historic) vehicle registration plates are not expected to 

result in any material effect on general fund revenues. 

 

Additional Comments:  DLS notes that the bill requires MVA to issue only one plate, but 

it does not require that each existing registered vehicle have only one plate. If all registered 

vehicles were required to have only one plate, the costs of implementing this standard could 

increase significantly, but the standard could also significantly reduce the potential for 

fraud and result in a significant decrease in MDTA nonbudgeted toll facility revenues, as 

noted above. Requiring all registered vehicles to comply immediately, or within a specified 

phase-in period, would necessitate that MVA retain a substantial number of contractual 

employees to collect the existing front plates. In addition, a contractual program 

administrator or auditor could be necessary to account for all collected plates. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has been considered. SB 12 of 2018, SB 332 of 

2008, and SB 61 of 2003 received unfavorable reports by the Senate Judicial Proceedings 

Committee. HB 61 of 2015 received an unfavorable report from the House Environment 

and Transportation Committee. HB 327 of 2014, HB 583 of 2012, HB 513 of 2011, 

HB 1063 of 2010, and HB 430 of 2009 received unfavorable reports from the House 

Environmental Matters Committee, whereas HB 562 of 2013 received a hearing in that 

committee, but no further action was taken. HB 475 of 2001 received an unfavorable report 

from the House Commerce and Government Matters Committee.    

 

Designed Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; National Conference of State 

Legislatures; Texas A&M Transportation Institute; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2020 

 an/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Eric F. Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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