Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2020 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE Third Reader - Revised

House Bill 546 Appropriations (Anne Arundel County Delegation)

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Anne Arundel County - Board of Community College Trustees

This bill changes the requirements for the seven nonstudent members of the Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County. Under the bill, a nonstudent board member (1) must be a resident of Anne Arundel County; (2) serves a four-year rather than a six-year term; and (3) may serve no more than three consecutive full terms. However, a member serving on July 1, 2020, may serve the remainder of that term and an additional two consecutive terms. The residency requirement and one-year term for the student member are not affected. **The bill takes effect July 1, 2020.**

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill is directed at Anne Arundel Community College (AACC).

Local Effect: None. Establishing a residency requirement, changing the term length, and limiting the number of terms for AACC nonstudent board members has no fiscal impact on Anne Arundel County or AACC.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law/Background: The Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County consists of eight members, appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Except the student member, members of the Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County serve six-year terms from July 1 of the year the appointment is made and until a successor is appointed and qualifies. A member may be reappointed indefinitely. A member appointed to fill a vacancy in an

unexpired term serves only for the remainder of that term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

One member must be a regularly enrolled student in good standing at AACC. The student member must (1) be a resident of Anne Arundel County; (2) be nominated in the manner determined by the student body of AACC; (3) have the qualifications required to be student body president of AACC; and (4) serve for a one-year term.

State law generally establishes that community college boards have seven members serving staggered six-year terms, with several specified exceptions. Therefore, there are variations in the number and terms of board members. **Appendix 1** shows characteristics of the various boards. With one exception, the boards are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland Senate. For Chesapeake College, the board is appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland House of Delegates.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: None.

Designated Cross File: SB 31 (Senator Beidle) - Education, Health, and Environmental

Affairs.

Information Source(s): Maryland Higher Education Commission; Anne Arundel County;

Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - January 29, 2020 rh/rhh Third Reader - March 16, 2020

Revised - Amendment(s) - March 16, 2020

Analysis by: Caroline L. Boice Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510

Appendix 1
Selected Community College Board Member Requirements

Community College	Number of Members	Board Terms (Years)	Term <u>Limits</u>	Residency Requirements
Allegany	7	6	No Limit	None
Anne Arundel	81	6	No Limit	Some ²
Baltimore City	91	6	2^3	Some ⁴
Baltimore	15	5	2^3	See Note ⁵
Carroll	7	6	No Limit	None
Cecil	7	6	No Limit	None
Chesapeake	10	5	3	Yes ⁶
Frederick	7	5	3	Yes ⁷
Garrett	7	6	No Limit	None
Hagerstown	7	6	No Limit	Yes ⁸
Harford	9	5	2^3	Yes ⁹
Howard	7	6	No Limit	Some ¹⁰
Montgomery	$10^{1, 11}$	6	No Limit	Some ²
Prince George's	91	5	2^3	Yes
Southern Maryland	9	5	2^3	Yes ¹²
Wor-Wic	7	6	No Limit	None

¹The board includes a student member serving a one-year term. In Prince George's County, the student body elects the student board member.

Source: Annotated Code of Maryland; Department of Legislative Services

²The student member must be a resident of the county.

³Consecutive terms.

⁴All members must be a resident of the State, the majority of whom must be residents of Baltimore City.

⁵One serves at large; the other 14 serve from the seven councilmanic districts in Baltimore County (2 from each).

⁶Two members from each of the five counties that support Chesapeake College (Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Talbot).

⁷All seven members must be a resident of Frederick County.

⁸All members must be a resident of Washington County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Washington County throughout their term of appointment.

⁹All members must be a resident of Harford County. The Harford County board includes three at-large members and one from each of the six council districts.

¹⁰Of the seven members, at least six must be residents of Howard County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Howard County throughout the term of appointment.

¹¹A local nominating committee must submit to the Governor the names of two to four candidates per vacancy from which the Governor must appoint a new member.

¹²Members must be a resident of the State. Each of the southern Maryland counties must be represented by at least three members who are residents of the county.