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Judicial Proceedings

Vehicle Laws - Registration Renewal - Inspection Requirement

This bill establishes an inspection requirement for each motor vehicle in the State that is at
least five model years old. However, such an inspection is not required for Class L
(Historic) vehicles. Before the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) renews the
registration of such a vehicle, it must receive a valid registration renewal inspection
certificate. A registration renewal inspection must include examination of specified
equipment to determine if the equipment meets or exceeds standards under State law. A
certificate issued pursuant to the bill is valid for 90 days after the date of issuance and must
identify (1) the inspection station where the vehicle was inspected and (2) the licensed
inspection mechanic who inspected the motor vehicle. An inspection station may charge
up to $45 for conducting the inspection. MVA must adopt regulations to implement the
bill. Finally, the bill modifies the minimum State standards for vehicle equipment so that
they conform to the bill’s inspection requirements.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Transportation Trust Fund expenditures increase by about $495,300 in
FY 2021 for reprogramming; revenues are not affected. In subsequent years, State finances
and operations are likely not materially affected.

(in dollars) FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
SF Expenditure 495,300 0 0 0 0
Net Effect ($495,300) $0 $0 $0 $0

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Meaningful.



Analysis
Current Law:
Used Vehicle Inspections

Generally, if a person transfers a used motor vehicle, the person has to obtain an inspection
certificate from an inspection station. The inspection requirement does not apply to
transfers between spouses, parents and children, vehicle co-owners, or vehicles that are not
to be both titled and registered in Maryland. The inspection requirement also does not apply
to other specialized types of transfers, as specified in statute.

A valid inspection certificate for a used vehicle is required for titling and registration.
However, Class L (Historic) vehicles are exempt from this requirement. An inspection
certificate is valid from the date of the inspection certificate for a period of 90 days. An
inspection certificate issued for a used vehicle owned and held in inventory by a licensed
dealer expires at the earlier of six months or after 1,000 miles have been added to the
vehicle’s odometer since issuance of the inspection certificate.

If a person applies for titling and registration of a used vehicle, MVA may issue a
temporary registration and withhold delivery of the certificate of title until an inspection
certificate is received. A vehicle with a temporary registration must be inspected within
60 days of the issuance of the temporary registration.

Safety Equipment Repair Orders

A police officer who observes that a vehicle registered in Maryland is being operated
without required equipment must stop the driver and issue a safety equipment repair order.
Driving on a highway without the required minimum equipment is a misdemeanor, subject
to a maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is
$70.

Minimum Standards for Equipment

Every vehicle driven on highways in Maryland must, where applicable, have certain
equipment (e.g., brakes, steering, suspension, etc.) that meets or exceeds the standards
established jointly by MVVA and the Department of State Police (DSP).

Background: MVA advises there are currently 5.2 million vehicles registered in the State.
Of that number, a small portion (about 3%) are historic vehicles that are exempt from the
bill’s inspection requirements. MVA further advises there are about 1.1 million vehicles
less than five calendar years old. In total, MVVA estimates about 4.0 million vehicles are
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likely affected by the bill. However, only about 2.0 million of those vehicles are due for
registration each year (as most vehicles re-register biennially rather than annually).

MVA also notes that the bill’s safety inspection requirements differ from the current used
vehicle inspection requirements. Therefore, safety inspection stations may need to be
modify inspection procedures to comply with the bill. The fee currently charged by safety
inspection stations varies, but it is typically between $80 and $100. These inspection
stations are monitored by DSP.

State Expenditures: MVA anticipates reprogramming expenditures totaling $495,300 in
fiscal 2021 only in order to implement the bill. The reprogramming costs relate to
MVA’s kiosks, eStore, and vehicle systems. In total, about 2,434 hours of reprogramming
are needed under the bill.

Small Business Effect: Many safety inspection stations qualify as small businesses and
are meaningfully affected by the bill. Once the bill takes effect, a significant number of
vehicles will require an inspection pursuant to the bill’s requirements in order to re-register.
Itis unclear whether the current system of safety inspection stations can accommodate such
a significant influx. Moreover, the maximum fee authorized by the bill ($45) is
significantly less than the current maximum fee ($100) for used vehicle inspections.
Therefore, there may be less of an incentive for small business inspection stations to
perform the types of inspections required by the bill.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of State Police; Maryland Department of
Transportation; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 20, 2020
mr/ljm

Analysis by: Eric F. Pierce Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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