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Economic Matters

Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers - Exemptions for
Auctioneers

This bill exempts an auctioneer that conducts estate auctions from the Maryland
Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act under specified
circumstances. Specifically, the Act does not apply to an auctioneer that conducts an
auction of a precious metal object owned by an estate for which either a personal
representative or a special administrator has been appointed under the Estates and Trusts
Avrticle and whose powers have not been suspended, terminated, or removed. “Auctioneer”
means a person who sells or offers to sell the real or personal property of other persons at
auction, with or without receiving consideration, as a bid caller.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund revenues for the Maryland Department of Labor (MDL)
decrease minimally beginning in FY 2021. General fund expenditures for the Department
of State Police (DSP) decrease minimally beginning in FY 2021. The overall effect on
State finances is essentially neutral. DSP is also affected operationally, as discussed below.

Local Effect: Minimal.

Small Business Effect: Meaningful.

Analysis

Current Law/Background: MDL regulates dealers who acquire and trade secondhand
precious metal objects. With limited exceptions, dealers of these objects, including
individuals, retail jewelers, and pawnbrokers who deal in secondhand precious metal



objects, must be licensed before doing business in the State in accordance with the
Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act. The fee for
an initial license is $300, and the renewal fee is $265. Licenses must be renewed biennially.

Licensees are required to record specified information for each transaction on a form
provided by MDL, retain those records for at least three years, and submit the records
electronically to law enforcement by noon of the business day following the transaction.
Generally, any secondhand precious metal object acquired by a dealer must be held for at
least 18 days in the county where the dealer holds a license, after a record is submitted to
law enforcement. The primary law enforcement agency may require a dealer to hold a
precious metal object for an additional amount of time under specified circumstances.

Exempt Transactions

The Act does not apply to specified transactions, such as for metal acquired for use in
dentistry by a State-licensed dentist or for the purchase of junk or scrap metal otherwise
subject to regulation in the State. The Act also does not apply to (1) certain retail jewelers
with a fixed Maryland business address in the State when accepting merchandise for
normal business operations or (2) pawnbrokers located in a county that regulates
pawnbrokers unless the pawnbroker does business as a dealer.

Electronic Reporting

The State uses the Regional Automated Property Information Database (RAPID) system
to transmit acquisition information from secondhand dealers to local law enforcement
through an Internet interface. RAPID enables police departments statewide to immediately
gain access to timely information about property that has been sold to pawnbrokers,
precious metal object dealers, or vehicle salvage yards. DSP pays the annual fee for those
businesses required to use the system by State law. The current fee is $240. Total general
fund expenditures for these fees was $125,500 in fiscal 2020.

Estate Auctions

When a decedent owned property that does not otherwise pass to a beneficiary as a result
of operation of law, an estate must be opened. The estate might consist for example of a
car, cash, bank accounts, stocks, bonds, or real estate. When there are probate assets (assets
in the decedent’s sole name), a person — referred to as a personal representative — must be
appointed to administer the estate. A special administrator may also be appointed by a court
under certain circumstances, such as if it is necessary to protect property before the
appointment and qualification of a personal representative. An estate auction — the
activities referred to by the bill — is one way of liquidating the assets of an estate.
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State Fiscal Effect: General fund revenues decrease minimally due to reduced license fee
and fine revenue collected by MDL due to exemptions from the Maryland Secondhand
Precious Metal Object Dealers and Pawnbrokers Act under the bill. Relatedly, general fund
expenditures decrease to the extent that those same auctioneer businesses no longer must
report through the RAPID system and DSP ceases to pay the associated annual fees. Both
amounts are anticipated to be minimal, and, given that the license fees and the RAPID fees
are similar, the overall effect on State finances is essentially neutral.

Small Business Effect: Businesses affected by the bill are likely small businesses and
benefit from reduced licensing and regulation to the extent that the bill exempts their
particular business from the Maryland Secondhand Precious Metal Object Dealers and
Pawnbrokers Act and its associated requirements.

Additional Comment: DSP advises that the bill has a negative operational impact on its
investigations related to stolen property. Operationally, DSP will no longer have access to
records of secondhand sales of precious metals sold by auctioneers that meet the
requirements of the bill — electronic or otherwise. The bill may also incentivize the use of
auctioneers to circumvent reporting requirements for stolen goods.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Department of State Police; Maryland Department of Labor;
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Governor’s Office of Crime Control and
Prevention; Harford, Montgomery, and Talbot counties; City of Havre de Grace;
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