SENATE BILL 616

By: **Senator McCray** Introduced and read first time: January 29, 2021 Assigned to: Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

A BILL ENTITLED

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Baltimore City – Soil Conservation District – Authority to Establish

- FOR the purpose of authorizing a Baltimore City Soil Conservation District to be
 established and continued with certain boundaries; and generally relating to the
 authority to establish a Baltimore City Soil Conservation District.
- 6 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 7 Article Agriculture
- 8 Section 8–301
- 9 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 10 (2016 Replacement Volume and 2020 Supplement)
- SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 13

Article – Agriculture

14 8–301.

15 (A) The 24 soil conservation districts are established and continued with 16 boundaries corresponding to county boundaries, except for Frederick County, and include 17 all land and water and incorporated areas, as follows:

- 18 (1) Allegany Soil Conservation District;
- 19 (2) Anne Arundel Soil Conservation District;
- 20 (3) Baltimore County Soil Conservation District;
- 21 (4) Calvert Soil Conservation District;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW. [Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.



	2		SENATE BILL 616
1		(5)	Caroline Soil Conservation District;
2		(6)	Carroll Soil Conservation District;
3		(7)	Cecil Soil Conservation District;
4		(8)	Charles Soil Conservation District;
5		(9)	Dorchester Soil Conservation District;
6		(10)	Garrett Soil Conservation District;
7		(11)	Harford Soil Conservation District;
8		(12)	Howard Soil Conservation District;
9		(13)	Kent Soil Conservation District;
10		(14)	Montgomery Soil Conservation District;
11		(15)	Prince George's Soil Conservation District;
12		(16)	Queen Anne's Soil Conservation District;
13		(17)	St. Mary's Soil Conservation District;
14		(18)	Somerset Soil Conservation District;
15		(19)	Talbot Soil Conservation District;
16		(20)	Washington County Soil Conservation District;
17		(21)	Wicomico Soil Conservation District;
18		(22)	Worcester Soil Conservation District;
19 20 21			Catoctin Soil Conservation District within the area of Frederick County Vashington–Frederick County line, the Potomac River, and the eastern ndaries of the Catoctin Creek watershed; and
22		(24)	The Frederick Soil Conservation District comprising the balance of

(24) The Frederick Soil Conservation District comprising the balance of
 Frederick County land and water area.

24 (B) A BALTIMORE CITY SOIL CONSERVATION DISTRICT MAY BE 25 ESTABLISHED AND CONTINUED WITH BOUNDARIES CORRESPONDING TO THE 26 BOUNDARIES OF BALTIMORE CITY. 1 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 2 October 1, 2021.