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Environment and Transportation

Natural Resources — Hunting Licenses — New Residents

This bill authorizes a person to receive a resident hunting license without submitting an
application to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) if the person (1) has resided in
Maryland for less than one year; (2) held a valid hunting license in the person’s previous
State of residence for the prior three years; and (3) pays the applicable license fee. The bill
takes effect July 1, 2021.

Fiscal Summary
State Effect: DNR can implement the bill and make any necessary changes to its
electronic licensing system with existing budgeted resources. Because license fees must
still be paid, it is assumed that the bill does not affect special fund revenues from hunting
license and stamp fees.
Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis
Current Law:
Hunting Licenses Generally Required
With certain exceptions, a person must have a Maryland resident or nonresident hunting

license in order to hunt or attempt to hunt all legal game birds and mammals during the
appropriate season in the State. In general, a person must obtain a certificate of competency



in firearms and hunter safety before obtaining a hunting license by successfully completing
the Maryland hunter education course. Hunting licenses and associated stamps can be
purchased online through DNR’s electronic licensing system, which is called COMPASS,
through an authorized Sport License Agent, or by phone. In order to obtain a hunting
license, a person must complete and submit an application to DNR either by paper,
electronically within the COMPASS licensing system, in person through a Sport License
Agent, or by telephone.

Funds generated from any license, stamp, application, or permit fee under wildlife
provisions in the Natural Resources Article are credited to the State Wildlife Management
and Protection Fund and used for the scientific investigation, protection, propagation, and
management of wildlife.

Resident and Nonresident Licenses — Standard

Resident and nonresident hunting licenses enable a purchaser to hunt game birds and
mammals during any appropriate season without the purchase of additional stamps, unless
the purchaser is hunting migratory game birds, wild waterfowl, or deer during bow and
arrow season or muzzle loader season, in which case specified stamps are required. The
purchase of a resident or nonresident hunting license does not authorize the purchaser to
hunt furbearers or black bears. Each hunting license is valid from issuance through July 31
of the following year. The annual fee for a resident hunting license is $24.50, while the
annual fee for a nonresident hunting license is $130.00.

Resident and Nonresident Licenses — Junior

Resident and nonresident junior hunting licenses enable a purchaser younger than age 16
to hunt all legal game birds and mammals during any appropriate season without the
purchase of additional stamps, unless the purchaser is hunting migratory game birds, wild
waterfowl, or deer during bow and arrow season or muzzle loader season, in which case
specified stamps are required. The purchase of a resident or nonresident junior hunting
license does not authorize the purchaser to hunt furbearers or black bears. Each hunting
license is valid from issuance through July 31 of the following year.

The annual fee for a resident junior hunting license is $10.50, but a resident junior hunter
may receive a one-time free annual hunting license on successful completion of a hunter
education course and submission of a specified application. Chapter 260 of 2015 reduced
the nonresident junior hunting license fee from $65.00 to $32.50. Although the reduced fee
terminated statutorily on June 30, 2018, in practice, the fee has not increased; the annual
fee for a nonresident junior hunting license is currently $32.50.

HB 821/ Page 2



Resident License — Senior

Resident senior hunting licenses enable a purchaser who is at least age 65 to hunt all legal
game birds and mammals during any appropriate season without the purchase of additional
stamps, unless the purchaser is hunting migratory game birds, wild waterfowl, or deer
during bow and arrow season or muzzle loader season, in which case specified stamps are
required. The purchase of a resident senior hunting license does not authorize the purchaser
to hunt furbearers or black bears. Each hunting license is valid from issuance through
July 31 of the following year. A resident senior hunting license may be purchased in the
calendar year in which the purchaser reaches age 65. The annual fee for a resident
senior hunting license is $5.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Natural Resources; Department of Legislative
Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 15, 2021
rh/lgc

Analysis by: Kathleen P. Kennedy Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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