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Criminal Law — Indecent Exposure With Lascivious or Prurient Intent

This bill prohibits a person from indecently exposing the private parts of the person’s body
with lascivious or prurient intent in a public place in the presence of another. Violators are
guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to three years and/or a fine of
up to $1,000. A person convicted of conspiring to commit, attempting to commit, or
committing a violation of this prohibited act is a “Tier I sex offender.”

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increase in general fund expenditures for expanded sex offender
registration, as discussed below. Revenues are not materially affected.

Local Effect: The bill is not expected to materially affect local finances or operations, as
discussed below.

Small Business Effect: None.

|
Analysis

Current Law: Indecent exposure is a common law offense that is subject to a statutory
penalty. Under the English common law, indecent exposure is the willful and intentional
exposure of the private parts of one’s body in a public place in the presence of an assembly.
The main elements of the offense are the willful exposure, the public place in which it is
performed, and the presence of persons who saw it. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor
and subject to imprisonment for up to three years and/or a fine of up to $1,000.



In State v. Duran, 407 Md. 532 (2009), the Court of Appeals held that a defendant who
pled guilty to indecent exposure based upon three separate incidents in which he exposed
himself to various girls of middle school age could not be required to register as a
sex offender because indecent exposure is not a statutorily enumerated crime requiring
registration and is not a crime “that by its nature is a sexual offense” under applicable
provisions of the Criminal Procedure Article.

Sex Offender Registry

Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in Maryland,
including kidnapping and false imprisonment under specified circumstances, is required to
register with the State sex offender registry upon release from prison or release from court
if the person did not receive a prison sentence. However, for purposes of sex offender
registration, a person is “convicted” when the person (1) is found guilty of a crime by a
jury or judicial officer; (2) enters a plea of guilty or nolo contendere; (3) is granted a
probation before judgment after a finding of guilt for a crime if the court, as a condition of
probation, orders compliance with the requirements of the sex offender registration
statutes; or (4) is found not criminally responsible for a crime.

Offenders who are required to register in other states and who come to Maryland are
required to register upon entering Maryland. Offenders from other states who may not be
required to register in the home state are required to register in Maryland if the crime would
have required registration in Maryland if committed in Maryland. The registry is
maintained by the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS).

A Tier | sex offender must register every six months for 15 years, a Tier Il sex offender
must register every six months for 25 years, and a Tier Il sex offender must register
every three months for life. If a Tier | sex offender meets specified requirements, the
registration term may be reduced to 10 years.

State Fiscal Effect: The bill subjects a subset of the existing indecent exposure population
to a statutory offense that is punishable by the same maximum monetary penalty and
incarceration penalty as indecent exposure under existing statute. Thus, the bill does not
materially affect State revenues or State incarceration expenditures. However, general fund
expenditures for DPSCS increase minimally for expanded sex offender registration under
the bill, as discussed below. Given the requirements of the offense established under the
bill, the impact of the bill on registry caseloads cannot be readily determined at this time
and can only be determined with actual experience under the bill.

The Judiciary advises that in fiscal 2019, there were 709 violations of indecent exposure
filed in the District Court, which resulted in 90 convictions; there were an additional
191 violations filed in the circuit courts, resulting in 57 convictions. It is unclear how many
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of these individuals would meet the requirements of the offense established under the bill.
As noted above, registration commences upon release from prison or release from court if
the person did not receive a prison sentence.

DPSCS advises that the agency must pay local supervising authorities a processing fee of
$200 per new registrant, annually. For illustrative purposes only, if 70 additional
individuals (approximately 50% of the number of individuals convicted of indecent
exposure in fiscal 2019) are required to register under the bill each year, then general fund
expenditures increase by $14,000 each year.

DPSCS advises that depending on the impact of the bill on the number of sex offender
registrants, the department may require additional personnel. DPSCS anticipates that
one additional staff member may be necessary to manage the additional persons subject to
supervision. As noted above, the actual impact of the bill on sex offender registration is
unclear at this time. However, for illustrative purposes only, the costs associated with
one additional DPSCS staff member is approximately $58,000 in fiscal 2022 and increases
to $75,000 by fiscal 2026.

The Office of the Public Defender (OPD) advises that the bill increases the agency’s
workload and caseloads by an unpredictable amount. The Department of Legislative
Services (DLS) advises that the bill is unlikely to increase the agency’s workload in amount
that would warrant the hiring of additional OPD staff.

Local Fiscal Effect: For the reasons stated above, the bill’s monetary and incarceration
penalty provisions do not materially affect local finances. As noted above, DPSCS pays
local supervising authorities a processing fee of $200 per new sex offender registrant.
However, this processing fee is a reimbursement of local expenditures incurred to process
new registrants. Therefore, this analysis assumes that this aspect of the bill’s
implementation does not have a material net effect on local finances.

The Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association advises that the bill has a fiscal and/or
operational effect on prosecutors, but did not provide any additional information. DLS
advises that the bill is unlikely to increase the workloads of local prosecutors by an amount
that would warrant the hiring of additional staff.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Designated Cross File: None.
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Information Source(s): Harford, Montgomery, Talbot, and Wicomico counties;
Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary (Administrative
Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Maryland State’s Attorneys’
Association; Maryland Department of Health; Department of Public Safety and
Correctional Services; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 28, 2021
md/aad

Analysis by: Donavan A. Ham Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510

(301) 970-5510
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