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Maryland Healthy Working Families Act - Applicability

This bill exempts from the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act an employee who
(2) is called to work by a local board of education on an as-needed basis; (2) can reject or

accept the shift offered; and (3) is not guaranteed to be called on to work by the local board
of education.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The Maryland Department of Labor can implement the bill with existing
resources. Revenues are not affected.

Local Effect: Local school boards are likely to realize annual personnel cost savings,
beginning in FY 2022, from not providing substitute employees with earned sick and safe
leave. Local revenues are not affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act does not specifically exempt
employees who work on an as-needed basis, except for certain employees in the health or
human services industry. For more information on the Maryland Healthy Working Families
Act, please see the Appendix — Maryland Healthy Working Families Act.



Local Expenditures: Local school boards may realize annual personnel cost savings
beginning in fiscal 2022 from not providing substitute teachers with earned sick and
safe leave. For example, for fiscal 2022 through 2026 (1) Frederick County Public Schools
estimates average annual savings of $138,167; (2) St. Mary’s County Public Schools
estimates average annual savings of $179,345; and (3) Wicomico County Public Schools
estimates average annual savings of $113,642. Thus, the bill eases some of the financial
burden on local school systems posed when substitute staff use leave.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: SB 241 of 2020 and SB 686 of 2019 each received a hearing in the
Senate Finance Committee. No further action was taken on either bill.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Association of Counties; Maryland State Department
of Education; Maryland Department of Labor; Baltimore City Public Schools;
Anne Arundel County Public Schools; Frederick County Public Schools;
Wicomico County Public Schools; St. Mary’s County Public Schools; Department of
Legislative Services
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Appendix — Maryland Healthy Working Families Act

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act took effect as Chapter 1 of 2018. Under
Chapter 1, an “employer” includes the State or local governments and a person who acts
directly or indirectly in the interest of another employer with an employee. Chapter 1 does
not apply to employees who regularly work less than 12 hours a week, specified
independent contractors, specified associate real estate brokers and real estate salespersons,
individuals younger than age 18 before the beginning of the year, workers in a specified
agricultural sector, construction workers (not including specified employees) covered in a
collective bargaining agreement in which the Act’s requirements are clearly waived,
specified employees who work on an as-needed basis in a health or human services
industry, or specified employees of a temporary service or employment agency.

Leave Accrual Rates and Use of Leave

Chapter 1 requires an employer with 15 or more employees to have a sick and safe leave
policy under which an employee earns at least 1 hour of paid sick and safe leave, at the
same rate of pay as the employee normally earns, for every 30 hours that the employee
works. An employer with 14 or fewer employees, based on the average monthly number
of employees during the preceding year, must have a sick and safe leave policy that
provides an employee with at least 1 hour of unpaid sick and safe leave for every 30 hours
an employee works. An employer is not required to allow an employee to earn or carry
over more than 40 hours of earned sick and safe leave in a year, use more than 64 hours of
earned leave in a year, accrue more than 64 hours at any time, or use earned sick and safe
leave during the first 106 calendar days the employee works for the employer. An employer
Is not required to carry over unused earned sick and safe leave if the leave is awarded at
the beginning of each year.

An employer is not required to allow an employee to accrue earned sick and safe leave
during (1) a two-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours total;
(2) a one-week pay period if the employee worked fewer than a total of 24 hours in the
current and immediately preceding pay period; or (3) a pay period in which the employee
Is paid twice a month and the employee worked fewer than 26 hours in the pay period.

An employer must allow an employee to use earned sick and safe leave:

to care for or treat the employee’s mental or physical illness, injury, or condition;
to obtain preventive medical care for the employee or employee’s family member;
to care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition;
for maternity or paternity leave; and
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° for specified circumstances due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking
committed against the employee or the employee’s family member.

An employer is not required to compensate an employee for unused earned sick and
safe leave when the employee leaves the employer’s employment. An employer that rehires
an employee within 37 weeks after leaving employment is required to reinstate any unused
earned sick and safe leave that had accrued at the time of separation unless the employer
voluntarily paid out the unused earned sick and safe leave. An employer is not required to
modify an existing paid leave policy if (1) the terms and conditions are at least equivalent
to those under the law or (2) the paid leave policy does not reduce employee compensation
for an absence due to sick or safe leave. An employer is not prevented from establishing a
policy that allows employees to voluntarily exchange assigned work hours. An employer
Is not prohibited from adopting and enforcing a policy that prohibits the improper use of
earned sick and safe leave. An employer may deny a request to take earned sick and
safe leave under specified circumstances related to the disruption of the employer’s
business or provision of services to an individual with a developmental disability or mental
ilIness.

An employer may require an employee who uses earned sick and safe leave for more than
two consecutive scheduled shifts to provide verification that the leave was used
appropriately. An employer may also require verification under specified circumstances
when an employee uses leave during the period between the first 107 and 120 calendar
days that the employee was employed by the employer.

Required Recordkeeping

An employer must keep relevant records for at least three years, and the Commissioner of
Labor and Industry may inspect an employer’s records regarding earned sick and
safe leave. There is a rebuttable presumption that an employer has violated the earned sick
and safe leave provisions if the employer fails to either keep records or allow the
commissioner to inspect records. The commissioner may waive a civil penalty if the
penalty was assessed for a violation that was due to an error caused by a third-party payroll
service provider with whom the employer in good faith contracted for services.

Enforcement Provisions

If an employee believes that an employer has violated the Maryland Healthy Working
Families Act, the employee may file a written complaint with the commissioner. The
commissioner must conduct an investigation and attempt to resolve the issue informally
through mediation within 90 days of the written complaint. If the commissioner is unable
to resolve the issue through mediation and determines that an employer has violated a
provision of the law, the commissioner must issue an order, subject to the hearing and
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notice requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. The order must describe the
violation and direct the payment of the full monetary value of any unpaid earned sick and
safe leave and any actual economic damages. The order may, in the commissioner’s
discretion, direct the payment of an additional amount of up to three times the value of the
employee’s hourly wage for each violation and assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for
each employee for whom the employer is not in compliance. If an employer does not
comply with an order within 30 days of the issuance of the order, the commissioner may
ask the Attorney General to bring an action — either on behalf of the employee (with the
employee’s written consent) or to enforce the order for the civil penalty — in the county
where the employer is located.

In addition, within three years of the order, an employee may bring a civil action to enforce
the order in the county where the employer is located. If an employee prevails in such an
action to enforce an order, the court may award three times the value of the employee’s
unpaid earned sick and safe leave, punitive damages in an amount determined by the court,
reasonable legal fees, injunctive relief if appropriate, and any other appropriate relief.

A person may not interfere with the exercise of, or the attempt to exercise, any right given
under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. An employer may not take adverse
action or discriminate against an employee because the employee exercised in good faith
the rights granted by the Act. Additionally, an employer may not interfere with, restrain,
or deny an employee exercising rights provided under the Maryland Healthy Working
Families Act or apply a specified absence control policy that could lead to adverse action.
An employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges a violation under the Act is
protected. An employee may not, in bad faith, file a complaint with the commissioner
alleging a violation, bring an action, or testify in an action regarding earned sick and
safe leave. An employee who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and on
conviction is subject to a maximum $1,000 fine.
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