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Criminal Procedure - Registered Sex Offenders - Residency Restrictions 
 

   

This bill prohibits a specified sex offender registrant from residing within 1,000 feet of a 

school, a child care facility, a park, a playground, a designated school bus stop, or a place 

where children regularly congregate. The bill’s provisions are applicable only to a 

sex offender registrant who is required to register based on an offense committed when the 

registrant was at least age 21 and that involved a victim younger than age 18. A violator is 

guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction subject to maximum penalties of five years 

imprisonment and/or a $5,000 fine. The bill applies prospectively only and may not be 

applied or interpreted to have any effect on or application to any person required to register 

as a sex offender before July 1, 2021. The bill takes effect July 1, 2021. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due to 

the bill’s penalty provisions. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.    

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local revenues and expenditures due to the 

bill’s penalty provisions. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.    

  

Small Business Effect:  None.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in 

Maryland, including kidnapping and false imprisonment under specified circumstances, is 

required to register with the State sex offender registry upon release from prison or release 

from court if the person does not receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to 
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register in other states and who come to Maryland are required to register upon entering 

Maryland. Offenders from other states who may not be required to register in their home 

state are required to register in Maryland if the crime would have required registration in 

Maryland if committed in Maryland. The registry is maintained by the Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services. 

 

Unless otherwise specified in statute, a registrant may not knowingly enter onto 

real property (1) that is used for public or nonpublic elementary or secondary education or 

(2) on which a registered family child care home, a licensed child care home or child care 

institution, or a home used for informal child care is located. A violator is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a 

$5,000 fine.   

 

The prohibition does not apply if the registrant is a student, parent of a student, or parent 

of a child that receives child care, if (1) within the past year the registrant has been given 

the specific written permission of the Superintendent of Schools, the local school board, 

the principal of the school, or the owner or operator of the registered family child care 

home, licensed child care home, or licensed child care institution, as applicable and (2) the 

registrant promptly notifies an agent or employee of the school, home, or institution of the 

registrant’s presence and purpose of visit. The prohibition also does not apply for the 

purpose of voting at a school on Election Day if the registrant is properly registered to vote 

and the registrant’s polling place is at the school.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s counties; Maryland 

State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the 

Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Department of State Police; Department of Public 

Safety and Correctional Services; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 19, 2021 
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Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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