SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 10

D5 2lr3134 CF 2lr3273

By: Senator Waldstreicher

A Senate Joint Resolution concerning

Introduced and read first time: February 24, 2022

Assigned to: Rules

1

3

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

 $\frac{23}{24}$

25

26

27

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

Removal Act

2	United States Congress - Support for the Francis G. Newlands Memorial

FOR the purpose of affirming the Maryland General Assembly's support for the enactment of the Francis G. Newlands Memorial Removal Act by the United States Congress; and generally relating to the removal of certain items from the Francis G. Newlands Memorial Fountain.

WHEREAS, U.S. Senate Bill S. 3515 and U.S. House of Representatives Bill H.R. 1256 direct the U.S. Department of the Interior to remove a plaque bearing the name "Senator Francis G. Newlands", a projection bearing the name "Francis Griffith Newlands", and a carving with the name "Newlands Memorial Fountain" from the Francis Griffith Newlands Memorial Fountain, and require the Department to offer the items removed to descendants of Francis Griffith Newlands for a certain period and, if the items are not claimed by descendants of Francis Griffith Newlands, to maintain the items as federal property and accession of the items into the Rock Creek Park museum collection; and

WHEREAS, The Francis G. Newlands Memorial is located at Chevy Chase Circle on the border between the State of Maryland and the District of Columbia; and

WHEREAS, Francis Griffith Newlands fervently endorsed white supremacist values, which conflict with the values of diversity, acceptance, and inclusion that make our State great; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Maryland General Assembly affirms its support for the enactment of the Francis G. Newlands Memorial Removal Act as it was introduced in both chambers of the United States Congress; and be it further

RESOLVED, That certified copies of this Joint Resolution be sent by the Secretary of State to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, President of the United States of America, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington, D.C. 20500; the Honorable Kamala Harris, Vice



- 1 President of the United States, President of the United States Senate, Suite
- 2 S-212, United States Capitol Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and the Honorable Deb
- 3 Haaland, United States Secretary of the Interior, 1849 C Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.
- 4 20240; and be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 6 Legislative Services to the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Benjamin L.
- 7 Cardin and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510;
- 8 and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes,
- 9 Anthony G. Brown, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, David J. Trone, Kweisi Mfume, and Jamie
- 10 Raskin, House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515; and be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of
- 12 Legislative Services to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of Maryland; the
- 13 Honorable William C. Ferguson, IV, President of the Senate of Maryland; and the
- 14 Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker of the House of Delegates.