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Anne Arundel County — School Vehicles — Duration of Operation

This bill allows a school vehicle to be operated for 15 years, rather than 12 years, in
Anne Arundel County. The bill takes effect July 1, 2022.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill does not materially affect State finances or operations.

Local Effect: The bill does not materially affect Anne Arundel County Public School
System finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ |}
Analysis

Current Law: Unless it fails to meet applicable school bus and motor vehicle safety
standards, a school vehicle may be operated for 12 years. In certain counties, a school
vehicle may be operated for 15 years (unless it fails to meet applicable school bus and
motor vehicle safety standards). Those counties include Allegany, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil,
Charles, Dorchester, Garrett, Kent, Queen Anne’s, St. Mary’s, Somerset, Talbot,
Wicomico, and Worcester. In those counties, a school vehicle must also meet specified
maintenance standards.

A school vehicle may be operated for additional years if (1) the vehicle is maintained under
a preventative maintenance plan approved by the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA)
and the Maryland State Police that includes an inspection at the end of the twelfth year and
a minimum of two inspections by MV A each year thereafter; (2) any necessary structural



repairs are certified by an independent expert approved by MVA to meet or exceed the
manufacturer’s original manufacturing standards; (3) the school vehicle is equipped with
specified features; and (4) the State Superintendent grants approval.

Additional Comments: The Maryland State Department of Education advises that, except
for the counties allowed under statute to operate school buses for 15 years, all other
counties must annually submit a waiver request to the State Superintendent of Schools
seeking approval to continue operation through year 15.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland State Department of Education; Department of
Legislative Services
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