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Economic Matters   

 

Labor and Employment - Maryland Healthy Working Families Act - Seasonal 

Temporary Workers 
 

   

This emergency bill increases the period, from the first 106 days to the first 120 days of 

employment, during which an employer is not required to allow an employee to use earned 

sick and safe leave under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act (MHWFA). If an 

employee is rehired by an employer within 32 weeks, instead of 37 weeks, after leaving 

employment, the employer must reinstate any unused earned sick and safe leave that was 

not voluntarily paid out. The bill makes a related conforming change. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The State likely experiences minimal cost savings (all funds) beginning in 

FY 2023. Although fewer penalties may be assessed, revenues are not materially affected. 

  

Local Effect:  Local jurisdictions likely experience minimal cost savings annually 

beginning in FY 2023.  

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.  
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  MHWFA requires employers with 15 or more employees to provide paid 

sick and safe leave for certain employees. The Act also requires employers with 14 or fewer 

employees to provide unpaid sick and safe leave for certain employees. The rate of accrual 

must be at least 1 hour per 30 hours worked. The Act does not apply in specified 

circumstances, such as employees who regularly work less than 12 hours a week, specified 

independent contractors, and individuals younger than age 18. 
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An employer is not required to allow an employee to earn or carry over more than 40 hours 

of earned sick and safe leave in a year, use more than 64 hours of earned leave in a year, 

accrue more than 64 hours at any time, or use earned sick and safe leave during the 

first 106 calendar days the employee works for the employer. 

 

An employer that rehires an employee within 37 weeks after leaving employment is 

required to reinstate any unused earned sick and safe leave that had accrued at the time of 

separation unless the employer voluntarily paid out the unused earned sick and safe leave.  

 

For additional information on MHWFA, including further detail on leave accrual, 

exemptions, eligible uses, and enforcement provisions, please see the Appendix – 

Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. 

 

State Expenditures:  The State may realize minimal cost savings (all funds) beginning in  

fiscal 2023 from not being required to allow new State employees who are eligible for 

leave benefits only under MHWFA to use the leave during the first 120 calendar days, 

instead of the first 106 calendar days, that the employee works and from a shorter 

reinstatement of leave period. The Maryland Department of Labor can implement the bill 

with existing resources and changes to State personnel systems can be made with existing 

resources.  

 

Local Expenditures:  Local jurisdictions experience minimal cost savings annually 

beginning in fiscal 2023 from not being required to allow employees to use earned sick and 

safe leave during the first 120 days, instead of the first 106 days, the employee works for 

the employer and from a shorter reinstatement of leave period.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses benefit from not being required to allow 

employees to use paid sick and safe leave (if 15 or more employees) or unpaid sick and 

safe leave (if 14 or fewer employees) during the first 120 days, instead of the first 106 days, 

of employment. Small businesses also benefit from the bill shortening the amount of time, 

from 37 weeks to 32 weeks, that an individual may be separated from an employer for the 

individual to be entitled to leave balance restoration upon reemployment. 

 

These changes will mostly benefit employers that employ seasonal employees. As an 

illustrative example related to summertime workers, the duration between Labor Day of 

one year and the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend the next year is about 37.5 weeks.   
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has been introduced within the last three years. 

See SB 906 of 2020. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 902 (Senator Carozza, et al.) - Rules. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Labor; Judiciary (Administrative Office 

of the Courts); Department of Budget and Management; Maryland Department of 

Transportation; University System of Maryland; Morgan State University; Maryland 

Association of Counties; Maryland Municipal League; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 3, 2023 

 rh/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Stephen M. Ross  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Maryland Healthy Working Families Act 
 

 

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act took effect as Chapter 1 of 2018. Under 

Chapter 1, an “employer” includes the State or local governments and a person who acts 

directly or indirectly in the interest of another employer with an employee. Chapter 1 does 

not apply to employees who regularly work less than 12 hours a week, specified 

independent contractors, specified associate real estate brokers and real estate salespersons, 

individuals younger than age 18 before the beginning of the year, workers in a specified 

agricultural sector, construction workers (not including specified employees) covered in a 

collective bargaining agreement in which the Act’s requirements are clearly waived, 

specified employees who work on an as-needed basis in a health or human services 

industry, or specified employees of a temporary service or employment agency. 

 

Leave Accrual Rates and Use of Leave 

 

Chapter 1 requires an employer with 15 or more employees to have a sick and safe leave 

policy under which an employee earns at least 1 hour of paid sick and safe leave, at the 

same rate of pay as the employee normally earns, for every 30 hours that the employee 

works. An employer with 14 or fewer employees, based on the average monthly number 

of employees during the preceding year, must have a sick and safe leave policy that 

provides an employee with at least 1 hour of unpaid sick and safe leave for every 30 hours 

an employee works. An employer is not required to allow an employee to earn or carry 

over more than 40 hours of earned sick and safe leave in a year, use more than 64 hours of 

earned leave in a year, accrue more than 64 hours at any time, or use earned sick and safe 

leave during the first 106 calendar days the employee works for the employer. An employer 

is not required to carry over unused earned sick and safe leave if the leave is awarded at 

the beginning of each year. 

 

An employer is not required to allow an employee to accrue earned sick and safe leave 

during (1) a two-week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 hours total; 

(2) a one-week pay period if the employee worked fewer than a total of 24 hours in the 

current and immediately preceding pay period; or (3) a pay period in which the employee 

is paid twice a month and the employee worked fewer than 26 hours in the pay period. 

 

An employer must allow an employee to use earned sick and safe leave: 

 

 to care for or treat the employee’s mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 to obtain preventive medical care for the employee or employee’s family member;  

 to care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 

 for maternity or paternity leave; and 
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 for specified circumstances due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking 

committed against the employee or the employee’s family member. 

 

An employer is not required to compensate an employee for unused earned sick and 

safe leave when the employee leaves the employer’s employment. An employer that rehires 

an employee within 37 weeks after leaving employment is required to reinstate any unused 

earned sick and safe leave that had accrued at the time of separation unless the employer 

voluntarily paid out the unused earned sick and safe leave. An employer is not required to 

modify an existing paid leave policy if (1) the terms and conditions are at least equivalent 

to those under the law or (2) the paid leave policy does not reduce employee compensation 

for an absence due to sick or safe leave. An employer is not prevented from establishing a 

policy that allows employees to voluntarily exchange assigned work hours. An employer 

is not prohibited from adopting and enforcing a policy that prohibits the improper use of 

earned sick and safe leave. An employer may deny a request to take earned sick and 

safe leave under specified circumstances related to the disruption of the employer’s 

business or provision of services to an individual with a developmental disability or mental 

illness. 

 

An employer may require an employee who uses earned sick and safe leave for more than 

two consecutive scheduled shifts to provide verification that the leave was used 

appropriately. An employer may also require verification under specified circumstances 

when an employee uses leave during the period between the first 107 and 120 calendar 

days that the employee was employed by the employer. 

 

Required Recordkeeping 

 

An employer must keep relevant records for at least three years, and the Commissioner of 

Labor and Industry may inspect an employer’s records regarding earned sick and 

safe leave. There is a rebuttable presumption that an employer has violated the earned sick 

and safe leave provisions if the employer fails to either keep records or allow the 

commissioner to inspect records. The commissioner may waive a civil penalty if the 

penalty was assessed for a violation that was due to an error caused by a third-party payroll 

service provider with whom the employer in good faith contracted for services. 

 

Enforcement Provisions 

 

If an employee believes that an employer has violated the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act, the employee may file a written complaint with the commissioner. The 

commissioner must conduct an investigation and attempt to resolve the issue informally 

through mediation within 90 days of the written complaint. If the commissioner is unable 

to resolve the issue through mediation and determines that an employer has violated a 

provision of the law, the commissioner must issue an order, subject to the hearing and 
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notice requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act. The order must describe the 

violation and direct the payment of the full monetary value of any unpaid earned sick and 

safe leave and any actual economic damages. The order may, in the commissioner’s 

discretion, direct the payment of an additional amount of up to three times the value of the 

employee’s hourly wage for each violation and assess a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for 

each employee for whom the employer is not in compliance. If an employer does not 

comply with an order within 30 days of the issuance of the order, the commissioner may 

ask the Attorney General to bring an action – either on behalf of the employee (with the 

employee’s written consent) or to enforce the order for the civil penalty – in the county 

where the employer is located. 

 

In addition, within three years of the order, an employee may bring a civil action to enforce 

the order in the county where the employer is located. If an employee prevails in such an 

action to enforce an order, the court may award three times the value of the employee’s 

unpaid earned sick and safe leave, punitive damages in an amount determined by the court, 

reasonable legal fees, injunctive relief if appropriate, and any other appropriate relief. 

 

A person may not interfere with the exercise of, or the attempt to exercise, any right given 

under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act. An employer may not take adverse 

action or discriminate against an employee because the employee exercised in good faith 

the rights granted by the Act. Additionally, an employer may not interfere with, restrain, 

or deny an employee exercising rights provided under the Maryland Healthy Working 

Families Act or apply a specified absence control policy that could lead to adverse action. 

An employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges a violation under the Act is 

protected. An employee may not, in bad faith, file a complaint with the commissioner 

alleging a violation, bring an action, or testify in an action regarding earned sick and 

safe leave. An employee who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and on 

conviction is subject to a maximum $1,000 fine. 
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