HOUSE BILL 284

F14lr1006 CF SB 122 By: Delegate Palakovich Carr Introduced and read first time: January 12, 2024 Assigned to: Ways and Means Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: February 13, 2024 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Education - Provision of Maryland Youth Crisis Hotline Telephone Number -Alteration FOR the purpose of altering the requirement that each county board of education provide certain students with the telephone number of the Maryland Youth Crisis Hotline by instead requiring that each county board of education provide certain students with the telephone number of the 988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline; and generally relating to the provision of crisis telephone numbers to students in public schools. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Education Section 7–431 Annotated Code of Maryland (2022 Replacement Volume and 2023 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article - Education 7-431. Each county board shall provide each student in grades six through twelve with the telephone number of the [Maryland Youth Crisis Hotline] 988 SUICIDE AND CRISIS LIFELINE by:

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19 20

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



 $\begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 2 \end{array}$

and	(1)	Printing the telephone number prominently in the school handbook
if provided.	(2)	Printing the telephone number on a student's school identification card
to reprint or	r reiss	2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That a county board is not required ue school handbooks or student school identification cards in use on the his Act in order to comply with this Act.
SECT 1, 2024.	TION :	3. AND IT BE FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July
Approved:		
		Governor.
		Speaker of the House of Delegates.
		President of the Senate.