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Employment Standards - Firefighters - Payment of Overtime and Payroll 

Information 
 

 

This bill requires a governmental unit that employs a firefighter to pay overtime wages for 

each hour over 168 hours that a firefighter works during a 28-day work period. In 

calculating these hours, the employer must include all regularly scheduled hours, regardless 

of whether earned or accrued leave was used. A county or municipality must provide a 

firefighter (1) at the time of hiring, notice of the firefighter’s rate of pay, the regular pay 

periods, and the firefighter’s overtime wages and (2) for each pay period, a statement of 

the firefighter's gross earnings and deductions. The bill specifies the grievance process if a 

county or municipality fails to provide this information. In specified circumstances, a 

firefighter is entitled to wages and damages as specified. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Special fund expenditures for the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) are likely 

not materially affected, and the Maryland Department of Labor (MDL) can enforce 

overtime claims with existing resources, as discussed below. Revenues are not affected. 
  
Local Effect:  Local government expenditures may increase, potentially significantly in 

some jurisdictions, beginning in FY 2026 to pay additional overtime wages to firefighters 

or hire more firefighters. 
  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Under Maryland’s Wage and Hour Law, an employer is required to pay an 

overtime wage of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly wage for each hour over 40 hours that 
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an employee works during one work week. However, the definition of “employer” in the 

Maryland’s Wage and Hour Law generally does not include units of government except 

for specific provisions, like the minimum wage requirement. Thus, a unit of government is 

not subject to overtime provisions under Maryland’s Wage and Hour Law. For additional 

related information, see the Appendix – Maryland Wage and Hour Law. 

 

Federal Fair Labor Standards Act 

 

Under Section 7(k) of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), employees engaged 

in fire protection or law enforcement may be paid overtime on a “work period” basis. The 

regulations establish the maximum allowable non-overtime hours as 212 hours per 28-day 

period for firefighters. Under certain prescribed conditions, a State or local government 

agency may give compensatory time, at a rate of not less than one and one-half hours for 

each overtime hour worked, in lieu of cash overtime compensation. Employees engaged in 

police and fire protection work may accrue up to 480 hours of compensatory time. When 

the state law differs from the federal FLSA, an employer must comply with the standard 

most protective to employees. 

 

State Expenditures:  The Maryland Aviation Administration (MAA) within the Maryland 

Department of Transportation employs 91 firefighters at the Baltimore/Washington 

International Thurgood Marshall Airport. These firefighters are scheduled to work 

seven 24-hour shifts in a 28-day period, totaling 168 hours in a 28-day period. Since 

firefighters are not scheduled to work more than 168 hours in a 28-day period, the bill has 

no immediate fiscal effect. To the extent that there are unscheduled absences, and 

firefighters are required to work more than 168 hours in a 28-day period, TTF expenditures 

may increase. However, MAA advises that it currently pays overtime when firefighters 

work more than 24 hours in a shift, so the bill does not substantially change existing 

practice. 

 

Under current law, MDL investigates and enforces complaints regarding overtime pay. 

Under the bill, a firefighter employed by a county or municipality, or the firefighter’s 

exclusive representative, may file a grievance under any applicable grievance procedure or 

collective bargaining agreement if the county or municipality does not provide specified 

payroll information. This grievance process enables a firefighter to recover wages from 

failure to pay overtime wages, so some firefighters may opt to file grievances under this 

process instead of having MDL enforce overtime pay. However, to the extent that MDL 

receives additional complaints, MDL can likely investigate those complaints with existing 

resources. 

 

Local Expenditures:  The bill has no effect on local jurisdictions that do not employ 

firefighters, like Harford and Wicomico counties. However, if local jurisdictions employ 

firefighters, depending on how overtime for firefighters is currently calculated, overtime 
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expenditures may increase, potentially significantly, for local jurisdictions to pay overtime 

as specified in the bill for firefighters. Federal law generally requires governments to pay 

firefighters overtime wages after 212 hours are worked in a 28-day period, and under the 

bill, local jurisdictions must pay overtime wages after 168 hours are worked in a 28-day 

period. 

 

A few local jurisdictions, such as Frederick and Montgomery counties, estimate their 

personnel costs increasing by millions of dollars as a result of paying additional overtime 

wages or hiring more firefighters to cover shifts. Expenditures may increase further if 

grievances are filed and damages are awarded. 

 

Additionally, local jurisdictions with firefighters must comply with the bill’s payroll 

reporting requirements. The Maryland Municipal League reports the payroll reporting 

requirement can likely be handled with existing resources for municipalities. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  HB 900 (Delegate Solomon, et al.) - Appropriations. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City; Frederick, Harford, Montgomery, and Wicomico 

counties; Maryland Association of Counties; City of College Park; Maryland Municipal 

League; Maryland Department of Labor; Department of State Police; Maryland 

Department of Transportation; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 29, 2024 

 js/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. MacDonagh  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Maryland Wage and Hour Law 
 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act, which specifies minimum wage and overtime requirements for employers 

and employees in the State. State law specifies that an employee must be paid the greater 

of the federal minimum wage (which is currently $7.25 per hour) or $15.00 per hour. 

However, an employer may pay 85% of the State minimum wage rate to employees 

younger than age 18. 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law and minimum wage requirements do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16; 

salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s immediate family; drive-in 

theater employees; employees training in a special education program in a public school; 

employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for on-premises consumption and 

has an annual gross income of $400,000 or less; employees employed by an employer who 

is engaged in canning, freezing, packing, or first processing of perishable or seasonal fresh 

fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood; certain farm workers; and covered employees under 

the Secure Maryland Wage Act. 

 

Generally, the employer of a tipped employee is allowed a tip credit that can be applied 

against the direct wages paid by the employer. The employee can be paid tipping wages so 

long as the wages plus the tips received equal at least the minimum wage, the employee 

retains all tips, and the employee customarily receives more than $30.00 a month in tips. 

The tip credit is equal to the State minimum wage, less $3.63. Thus, the wage paid by 

employers to tipped employees is $3.63, as long as their wages plus tips equal the minimum 

wage. 

 

Under Maryland’s Wage and Hour Law, an employer is required to pay an overtime wage 

of at least 1.5 times the usual hourly wage for each hour over 40 hours that an employee 

works during one work week. This requirement does not apply to an employer that is 

subject to federal rail laws; a nonprofit concert promoter, legitimate theater, music festival, 

music pavilion, or theatrical show; or specified amusement or recreational establishments. 

It also does not apply to an employee for whom the U.S. Secretary of Transportation sets 

qualifications and maximum hours of service under federal law; a mechanic, parts person, 

or salesperson, under certain conditions; a driver employed by a taxicab operator; or 

specified air carrier employees under certain conditions. Also, specific exemptions apply 

for farm work, bowling establishments, and infirmaries. 
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If an employer pays less than the wages required, the employee may bring an action against 

the employer to recover (1) the difference between the wage paid to the employee and the 

wage required; (2) an additional amount equal to the difference as liquidated damages; and 

(3) legal fees. The court must award these differences in wages, damages, and counsel fees 

if the court determines that an employee is entitled to recovery. However, if an employer 

shows to the satisfaction of the court that the employer acted in good faith and reasonably 

believed that the wages paid to the employee were not less than the required wages, then 

the court must award liquidated damages of an amount less than the difference in wages or 

no liquidated damages. 

 

A person who violates the Maryland Wage and Hour Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and 

on conviction is subject to a fine of up to $1,000. 
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