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State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners - Aiding or Abetting Unauthorized
Practice - Prohibition

This bill prohibits an individual from aiding or abetting the unauthorized practice of
massage therapy in the State. A violator is guilty of a felony and on conviction is subject
to (1) for a first offense, a fine of up to $5,000 or imprisonment for up to one year and
(2) for a subsequent offense, a fine of up to $20,000 per day or imprisonment for up to
five years. A violator must reimburse the State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners for
the direct costs resulting from a prosecution. In addition to criminal penalties, a violator is
subject to a civil fine of up to $10,000 as assessed by the board and payable to the State
Board of Massage Therapy Fund.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The civil/criminal penalty provisions of the bill do not have a material impact
on State finances or operations.

Local Effect: The civil/criminal penalty provisions of the bill do not have a material
impact on local finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Under current law, the board licenses massage therapists and registers
massage therapy practitioners. A registered massage therapy practitioner may not practice
massage therapy in a health care setting. Chapters 705 and 706 of 2022 phase out the
registered massage practitioner credential. Until October 31, 2026, an individual may



practice massage therapy in the State if the individual is either (1) licensed by the board or
(2) registered by the board to practice massage therapy in a non-health care setting.
Beginning November 1, 2026, an individual must be licensed by the board to practice
massage therapy in the State.

Generally, an individual may not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice massage
therapy, massage, myotherapy, or any synonym or derivation of these terms in the State
unless licensed or registered by the Board. Current law provides a six-month grace period
to practice after a license or registration has expired without penalty. Otherwise, a person
who practices or attempts to practice massage therapy without a license or registration is
subject to a misdemeanor. For a first offense, an individual is subject to a fine of up to
$2,000 or imprisonment for up to six months; a subsequent offense is subject to a fine of
up to $6,000 or imprisonment for up to one year. Chapter 706 also subjects a person who
practices massage therapy without a license or registration to a civil fine of up to $10,000.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy;
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Maryland Department of Health;
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