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Criminal Procedure – Incompetency to Stand Trial Dismissal 
 

 

This bill alters the time after which a court is required to dismiss a charge of first-degree 

murder or a crime considered “sexually assaultive behavior” against a defendant found 

incompetent to stand trial (IST) to the lesser of 10 years or the maximum sentence for the 

most serious offense charged. A victim who has filed a specified notification request form 

has the right to petition the court for extraordinary cause to extend the time to dismiss a 

charge against a defendant found IST. The bill takes effect July 1, 2024. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by at least $101,400 in FY 2025 for the 

Office of the Public Defender (OPD), as discussed below. Future year expenditures reflect 

annualization and inflation. General fund expenditures also likely increase for the 

Maryland Department of Health (MDH) for extended commitments and related 

proceedings (not reflected below). The Judiciary can implement the bill with existing 

resources. Revenues are not affected. 

  
(in dollars) FY 2025 FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028 FY 2029 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 101,400 122,900 128,400 134,000 139,900 

Net Effect ($101,400) ($122,900) ($128,400) ($134,000) ($139,900)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 

Local Effect:  The bill may increase workloads for State’s Attorneys. Revenues are not 

affected. 

 

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Dismissal of Charges for a Defendant Found Incompetent to Stand Trial 

 

By statute, a defendant is IST if the defendant is not able to understand the nature or object 

of the proceeding or assist in the defense.  

 

Whether or not the defendant is confined in an MDH facility and unless the State petitions 

the court for extraordinary cause to extend the time, the court must dismiss the charge 

against a defendant found IST (1) after the lesser of the expiration of five years or the 

maximum sentence for the most serious offense charged, if charged with a felony or crime 

of violence or (2) after the lesser of the expiration of three years or the maximum sentence 

for the most serious offense charged, if charged with an offense other than a felony or crime 

of violence. 

 

The court is required to dismiss a charge without prejudice if the court considers that 

resuming the criminal proceeding would be unjust because so much time has passed since 

the defendant was found IST. Before dismissing a charge, the court must provide the 

State’s Attorney and a victim or victim’s representative who has requested notification 

advance notice and an opportunity to be heard. If charges are dismissed, the court must 

notify the victim or representative mentioned above and the Criminal Justice Information 

System. 

 

In 2009, the Maryland Court of Appeals (now the Supreme Court of Maryland) held that 

the dangerousness and restorability of a defendant adjudged IST are not sufficient for an 

extraordinary cause determination under the State’s incompetency statute. Ray v. State of 

Maryland, 410 Md. 384 (2009). While the State may reindict a defendant after the 

defendant’s charges were dismissed under § 3-107(a) of the Criminal Procedure Article 

without a showing that the defendant has become competent, the State must overcome the 

presumption that the defendant is unrestorable before the defendant is placed in 

incompetency commitment. Otherwise, the circuit court must initiate civil commitment 

proceedings in accordance with Section 3-106 of the Criminal Procedure Article. 

State v. Ray, 429 Md. 566 (2012). 

 

Crimes of Violence  

 

Section 14-101(a) of the Criminal Law Article defines a “crime of violence” as 

(1) abduction; (2) arson in the first degree; (3) kidnapping; (4) manslaughter, except 

involuntary manslaughter; (5) mayhem; (6) maiming; (7) murder; (8) rape; (9) robbery; 

(10) carjacking (including armed carjacking); (11) first- and second-degree sexual 
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offenses; (12) use of a firearm in the commission of a felony or other crime of violence, 

except possession with intent to distribute a controlled dangerous substance; (13) child 

abuse in the first degree; (14) sexual abuse of a minor under specified circumstances; 

(15) home invasion; (16) felony sex trafficking and forced marriage; (17) an attempt to 

commit crimes (1) through (16); (18) continuing course of certain sexual conduct with a 

child; (19) assault in the first degree; and (20) assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or 

commit a sexual offense in the first or second degree. 

 

Sexually Assaultive Behavior 

 

“Sexually assaultive behavior” means an act that would constitute a sexual crime under 

Title 3, Subtitle 3 of the Criminal Law Article; sexual abuse of a minor under § 3-602 of 

the Criminal Law Article; sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult under § 3-604 of the Criminal 

Law Article; a violation of 18 U. S. Code Chapter 109A; or a violation of a law of another 

state, the United States, or a foreign country that is equivalent to any of these offenses. 

 

Victim Notification 

 

Under Maryland law, a victim of a crime or delinquent act (or a representative in the event 

the victim is deceased, disabled, or a minor) has a broad range of specific rights during the 

criminal justice process. On first contact with a victim, a law enforcement officer, 

District Court commissioner, or juvenile intake officer must give an identified victim a 

pamphlet that advises the victim of the rights, services, and procedures available in the 

time before and after the filing of a charging document. Also, within 10 days after the filing 

or unsealing of an indictment or information, the prosecuting attorney must provide a 

victim with a pamphlet that describes the rights, services, and procedures available to a 

victim after the indictment or information is filed and a notification request form by which 

a victim may request notice of various proceedings. 

 

Many of the rights afforded a victim of crime depend on a victim completing a notification 

request form or requesting notice by following the Maryland Electronic Courts system 

protocol. 

 

State Expenditures:  Based on existing statute and the classification of and the maximum 

penalties for the offenses subject to the bill (1) most of the defendants affected by the bill 

would have their charges dismissed after 10 years instead of 5 years under existing statute 

and (2) the bill generally does not alter the time before dismissal of charges for the 

remaining defendants. 
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Maryland Department of Health 

 

General fund expenditures for MDH increase if the bill increases the amount of time 

defendants spend committed in MDH facilities. The extent of this increase cannot be 

reliably determined at this time and depends on:   

 

 the number of individuals committed to MDH facilities after being found IST for 

first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive behavior offense; 

 whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive 

behavior offense that is subject to the 5-year limit under existing statute who is 

found IST and not restored to competency within 5 years will be restored to 

competency in 10 years; 

 whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive 

behavior offense who is found IST is also determined to be dangerous; and 

 whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive 

behavior offense who is found IST and has his/her charges dismissed after the time 

limit under existing statute will still be determined to be dangerous and civilly 

committed to an MDH facility. 

 

This analysis assumes that the cost of maintaining an individual in an MDH facility on a 

pending charges basis is equal to the cost of maintaining the same individual on a civil 

commitment basis.  

 

Extended commitments under the bill may reduce the turnover of beds necessary to 

accommodate the need for psychiatric beds within existing facilities. MDH advises that 

while it cannot determine the fiscal impact of the bill at this time, the bill could impact the 

need for MDH to construct additional beds at the Clifton T. Perkins Hospital Center, which 

is already undergoing a major capital improvement project, or the building of additional 

facilities. MDH’s healthcare system operates 1,056 adult psychiatric beds, which are 

operating at almost full capacity. Furthermore, commitments to MDH facilities involve 

extensive proceedings and evaluations. Depending on the bill’s effect on MDH workloads, 

MDH may incur additional expenditures. 

 

Office of the Public Defender 

 

General fund expenditures increase by at least $101,437 in fiscal 2025, which assumes a 

90-day start-up delay from the bill’s July 1, 2024 effective date. This estimate reflects the 

cost of hiring one attorney for the Mental Health Division to assist with legal representation 

generated by the bill. It includes a salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and 

ongoing operating expenses. Additional general fund expenditures are incurred by OPD 

for expert fees ($4,000 per client per year). The magnitude of annual expert fees depends 
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on the number of OPD clients who require experts for their proceedings under the bill, 

which cannot be reliably determined and independently verified at this time. 

 

Position 1.0 

Salary and Fringe Benefits $94,181 

Operating Expenses       7,256 

Minimum FY 2025 OPD Expenditures $101,437 
 

Future year expenditures reflect a full salary with annual increases and employee turnover 

as well as annual increases in ongoing operating expenses. 

 

OPD advises that the bill extends the time required for representation in applicable cases, 

which results in increased costs for staff and experts. For anyone committed for IST, an 

annual court review is required, which generally requires OPD to engage an independent 

expert evaluator. In addition, MDH is required to provide an updated review report to the 

court and counsel every six months. Often courts set hearings upon receipt of those reports, 

in addition to the annual reviews. Thus, the bill could generate two additional court 

hearings per year per defendant. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has been introduced within the last 

three years. See SB 507 of 2023.  

 

Designated Cross File:  HB 1470 (Delegate Cardin) - Rules and Executive Nominations. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the 

Public Defender; Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association; Maryland Department of 

Health; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 8, 2024 

Third Reader - March 29, 2024 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 29, 2024 

 

rh/jkb 

 

Analysis by:  Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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