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Ways and Means   

 

Manufacturing Business Personal Property Tax - Exemption 
 

 

This bill exempts the personal property, including manufacturing inventory, in the 

possession of a person engaged in a manufacturing business that is a small or medium-sized 

enterprise from county and municipal property tax, including any special taxing district 

property tax. The bill takes effect June 1, 2025, and applies to taxable years beginning 

after June 30, 2025.  
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  

  

Local Effect:  County and municipal property tax revenues decrease beginning in 

FY 2026. Based on available data, Worcester County property tax revenues decrease by 

approximately $502,800 and municipal property tax revenues decrease by approximately 

$4.8 million annually. This bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local government.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful. Small manufacturing businesses will pay 

less in personal property taxes.  

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Personal Property Taxation 

 

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and 

collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business property 
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including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies, 

inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide for uniform 

assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is responsible for 

assessing all personal property. Each county or municipal government is responsible for 

issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The tax year begins on July 1 and ends on 

June 30. The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 when the 

State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.  

 

Personal Property Assessment Process 

 

At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include personal 

property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The date of finality is the 

date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes. The 

assessment is calculated using the cost less depreciation method. Once the assessment is 

completed, it is certified to the county or municipality in Maryland. SDAT shares the 

certifications for the current assessment year by July 1 when the jurisdictions can start 

billing. If a business entity wants to appeal the assessment, they have 45 days from the date 

of notice to appeal. All tax returns are currently filed electronically. An annual report fee 

is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee 

is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State.  

 

The operating property of a utility or railroad is assessed by SDAT’s Utility Valuation 

Department using the unit valuation method. The operating property of a utility includes 

all real property and personal property used to operate the utility. SDAT calculates the 

value (operating unit) of the public utility using the required annual return filings, 

regulatory filings (federal and State), and other publicly available information. A portion 

of the company’s operating unit is allocated to Maryland based on the amount of the 

utility’s property located in the State. The allocation to Maryland is then further divided 

into real and personal property values and apportioned to the counties and municipalities 

where the property is located. The Utility Valuation Department also completes the 

personal property assessments of non-utility electric generators and cable companies 

following the procedures set by the business personal property unit and the Code of 

Maryland Regulations.  

 

The assessment process for personal property does not differ for counties and 

municipalities. However, there may be differences in exemptions and/or the taxable nature 

of certain property between jurisdictions that may affect an assessment because counties 

and municipalities may exempt different types of personal property from personal property 

taxes. The certification of assessments and notification to the jurisdictions is the same for 

all counties and municipalities as well as the appeal period.  
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Property Classification for Assessment Purposes 

 

Title 8 of the Tax Property Article establishes the methods of property valuation and 

assessments and lists those classifications of property created by the General Assembly. 

For assessment purposes, property is divided into 2 classes – real property and 

personal property. Real property is divided into 11 subclasses, and personal property is 

divided into 7 subclasses. The State only imposes a property tax on real property, whereas 

county governments impose separate tax rates for real and personal property. Several 

county governments do not impose a personal property tax on business property.  

 

Prior to fiscal 2025, State and county governments were not authorized to set separate 

property tax rates among different subclasses of property. However, Chapter 277 of 2024 

authorized Baltimore City and county governments, beginning July 1, 2024, to establish, 

by law, a subclass of real property consisting of vacant lots or improved property cited as 

vacant and unfit for habitation or other authorized use on a housing or building violation 

notice. Baltimore City and county governments are authorized to set a special property tax 

rate for a vacant lot or improved property cited as vacant and unfit for habitation or other 

authorized use on a housing or building violation notice. An annual reporting requirement 

was included for jurisdictions that enact a special property tax rate.  

 

Unlike the State and county governments, municipalities have broader discretion to impose 

property tax rates on different classes of property. Municipalities may impose property 

taxes on those classes of property that it selects to be subject to the municipal property tax. 

In addition, municipalities retain the authority to classify property for local purposes and 

to impose different tax treatment on those classes. Furthermore, municipalities have the 

express power to exempt classes of property from taxation. Moreover, because 

municipalities may select the classes of property to be taxed and may set special rates for 

any class of property that is subject to the municipal property tax, municipalities retain the 

authority to levy different tax rates on selected classes of property.  

 

Establishing Personal Property Tax Rates 

 

Prior to July 1, 2013, State law required the county personal property tax rate to be set at 

2.5 times the county real property tax rate. Beginning July 1, 2013, the county personal 

property tax rate was decoupled from the county real property tax rate by authorizing 

county governments to set a personal property tax rate at no more than 2.5 times the county 

real property tax rate.  

 

Under Tax-Property Article Section 6-303, municipal governments are granted authority 

to set municipal tax rates. Chapter 80 of 2000 could have been interpreted to require that 

counties and municipalities set personal property tax rates at 2.5 times their rates of 

real property tax, in order to ensure revenue neutrality when the valuation of real property 
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went from 40% to 100%. However, unlike counties, municipalities have historically had 

broader authority to set different tax rates on classes of property. When Section 6-303 was 

amended by Chapter 80, it failed to recognize the ability of municipal governments to set 

different tax rates for different classes of property. Chapter 37 of 2001 clarified that 

municipal governments may set differing tax rates among classes of property that are not 

tied to the real property tax rate.  

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  County and municipal personal property tax revenues decrease by a 

significant amount beginning in fiscal 2026. As shown in Exhibit 1, Worcester County 

could realize a $502,800 annual revenue loss, while municipalities could realize a 

$4.8 million annual revenue loss.  

 

Worcester County Fiscal Impact 

 

Based on data provided by SDAT, Worcester County is the only county that taxes 

manufacturing personal property. For fiscal 2023, the county had a manufacturing personal 

property base of approximately $23.8 million and a personal property tax rate of 

$2.1125 per $100 of assessment. As a result, Worcester County personal property tax 

revenues could decrease by approximately $502,775 beginning in fiscal 2026. This revenue 

loss does not reflect any exemptions that may be granted.  
 

Municipal Fiscal Impact 

 

SDAT reports that for fiscal 2023, 57 municipalities reported business personal property 

for manufacturing equipment with the corresponding personal property base totaling 

approximately $358.6 million. Based on the current municipal personal property tax rates, 

municipal personal property tax revenues could decrease by approximately $4.8 million 

beginning in fiscal 2026. The most significant impact on municipal revenues occurs in the 

Eastern Shore counties of Caroline, Dorchester, and Wicomico, where municipalities in 

those counties could lose over $1.0 million in property tax revenue. To the extent there are 

other municipalities that tax manufacturing personal property, the total municipal revenue 

loss could be greater. The bill does not define a small or medium-sized enterprise, so the 

estimate reflects all manufacturing personal property as reported by SDAT.  
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Exhibit 1 

Potential Fiscal Impact of Personal Property Tax Exemption 

 

County County Revenue Loss Municipal Revenue Loss 

Allegany $0  ($98,724) 

Anne Arundel 0  0  

Baltimore City 0  0  

Baltimore 0  0  

Calvert 0  0  

Caroline 0  (1,069,706) 

Carroll 0  (1,763) 

Cecil 0  (491,937) 

Charles 0  (961) 

Dorchester 0  (1,329,093) 

Frederick 0  (85,720) 

Garrett 0  (15,170) 

Harford 0  (1,648) 

Howard 0  0  

Kent 0  0  

Montgomery 0  (389) 

Prince George’s 0  (343,421) 

Queen Anne’s 0  0 

St. Mary’s 0  0  

Somerset 0  (75,373) 

Talbot 0  0  

Washington 0  (26,664) 

Wicomico 0  (1,050,443) 

Worcester (502,775) (189,065) 

Total ($502,775) ($4,780,078) 

 
Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of Legislative Services 
 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has been introduced within the last 

three years. See HB 1018 of 2024.  
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Designated Cross File:  SB 488 (Senator Jennings) - Budget and Taxation. 

 

Information Source(s):  Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester counties; 

Maryland Municipal League; State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department 

of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 16, 2025 

 rh/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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